We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb - perhaps the best lunch deal in Berlin!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FACIL

FACIL
Potsdamer Strasse 3 | The Mandala Hotel, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Tiergarten)
030 59 005 12 34
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 5,980 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $36 - $144
Cuisines: Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Tiergarten
Description: The FACIL, Berlin's oasis of culinary culture, offers a refreshing combination of elegant lightness and pure luxury, modernity and understatement. The restaurant treats diners to the very best cuisine and it has an easygoing feel. The service is excellent and you have the chance to relax and escape from the stresses and strains of everyday life. The core of the FACIL philosophy is the lightness of being. In culinary terms, the food will melt on your tongue. The restaurant offers a selection of natural cuisine which is both unpretentious and ingenious.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Simply superb - perhaps the best lunch deal in Berlin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Berlin is a wonderful city endowed with many great restaurants.

On this our most recent trip we dined at a number of famous Berlin "institutions" including the two Michellin starred Fischers Fritz and Luttner and Wegner, hands down Facil was the stand out.

Every aspect of our 3 course lunch was outstanding. Each dish was delicious and although complex did not lose their objective- the deserts were breathtaking in presentation and taste.

At 42 euros per person, the meal is a dining bargain (although the wine list as expected does not assist being thrift).

On a quiet wet Tuesday, the restaurant had only one table for two still available and reservations are essential to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    31
    17
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“One Michelin Star Too Many”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have never given a one star restaurant review and have never disliked a restaurant as much as I disliked Facil. I am trying to come up with some redeeming qualities but I can't come up with anything of substance.

The service is pretty good. The decor is nice enough (the flowers are very pretty and very cleverly done). But the food, the reason why you go to a Michelin starred restaurant, was awful.

To put this in context, my husband and I are relatively adventurous diners. We have gone to many Michelin starred and highly rated restaurants and often opt for the digustation menu, putting our trust in the chef to conjure up whatever he/she has determined to be the best and to surprise and challenge our taste buds.

Facil has some unusual ingredients and dinner options, which we were willing to experiment with. The best degustations, especially ones where there are some more adventurous items on the menu, are the ones where the chef begins building a relationship with the diner by offering familiar and tasty first bites and slowly builds trust with the diner by serving properly executed, dishes adding twists to each one. As the diner progresses from one dish to another and becomes confident that what they are being served is going to be good, the leap to veal lungs becomes easier. The problem with Facil, a restaurant that has a number of either adventurous food items or food items that are prepared in adventurous ways, is that it never won our trust.

The amuse bouche, although not confronting, was unimpressive and bland and the food that preceded the more adventurous mains seemed to be raw and not properly executed. It is at this point were we started to lose our confidence in this restaurant and were unsure of everything that was presented to us. "Is it cooked right?" "Is this what it's supposed to taste like?" "Is it supposed to have this consistency?" were the questions my husband and I threw around at each other. We did not say anything and you may ask why? First, we slightly doubted ourselves..."surely a Michelin starred restaurant knows whether the veal they are serving is completely raw and wouldn't serve it right?" and second, it's always hard as a visitor to a country where you don't speak the language, to complain. You don't want to be THAT person. So we left it.


Looking around at other diners, we had to chuckle. There were at least two people at the table next to us who almost seemed pained when putting the food into their mouths--they also did the degustation. We may have been projecting our own disappointment on others, but it was really one of the worst, unappealing, bland and poorly executed meals I have had.

The desert, which at least didn't scare me from a "is this raw and going to make me sick" perspective, was just not that exciting and certainly not exciting enough for such a well regarded restaurant. The petit four were good.

The meal was so memorably bad that in the following 2 weeks of travel and 30+ restaurants we dined at (including some hole-in-the-walls) one or both of us could be heard saying "oh my God, this is just so much better than Facil".

Sorry Facil.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Unusual ingredients, startlingly good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This restaurant, in Berlin's Mandala Hotel, has been shaking up the local fine dining scene with some ingredients you're not likely to find every day such as 'wool pig' (yes, a pig that needs to be shorn) and bison. Opting to order a la carte, there are so many little additions you'll feel like you're easting a full tasting menu. Some exceptional food here from chef Michael Kempf. The restaurant itself is housed in a glass cube on the fifth floor of the hotel, giving it an unusual ambience. Great food, very good service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Superb!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Great dining experience in this beautiful restaurant!

Set in a glass room surrounded by bambus the place emanates zen understated elegance. You feel immediately at ease despite the perfection and well thought place of each decoration element.

The food is cooked to perfection and each dish is a little art piece of its own both in terms of taste and of presentation. The portions were small but, unless one didn't eat for two days, a three course menu will not leave you felling hungry.

Service was professional, very attentive and the food was well introduced.

I will return!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A most amazing and artistic dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was perhaps my most memorable and fascinating dining experience ever! A beautifull orchestrated oeuvre d'art. Such incredible teamwork. It was fascinating watching the well organized servers (very knowledgeable ones at that!) throughout the 5 or 7 course extravaganza. Wines were varied and superb, table settings came and went according to the menu choices. Each serving was a masterpiece of presentation and taste. I was amazed that even with small servings that there was hardly room for desserts...fortunately, there was! They even prepared a small take out box of candies.... If there is a class above First, Facil is the embodiment of it! I have no idea what the dinners cost as we with the delighted guest of a most knowledgeable Berliner!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FACIL also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to FACIL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FACIL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.