We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great environment, great food, great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Berio

Cafe Berio
Maassenstr. 7, 10777 Berlin, Germany
+49 30 2161946
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,755 of 5,979 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: 24H Restaurantbetrieb. Das Cafe Berio ist durchgehend geoffnet.
Nijmegen
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great environment, great food, great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This restaurant/cafe has a very nice atmosphere of the late fifties. Combined with well selected music, very friendly staff and a menu which has a very wide offer of different tastes, this is a spot not to be missed. Best breakfast in town.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    24
    9
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxed place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Good place for breakfast, available all day long. Nice terras, good coffee and friendly staff. Gay friendly place and a good spot for watching people.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Not what it used to be!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Staff is not paying attention, takes an hour to get your food and is too expensive for what you get. Used to be better in the past.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food, shame about the service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This place has always been know for its service, or lack of. We arrived hungry on a Saturday afternoon and was immediately barked at by the woman in charge. She mumbled something and then vanished.
We waited for 5 minutes before deciding to go upstairs and find our own table.
Having taken our seats, we waited and waited, before eventually a waiter appeared and deposited some menus in front of us. He then vanished for a good 20 minutes.
We had to track him down. i could see that we weren't the only ones doing this.
When he did eventually take our order, we decided just to get everything ordered then and there, or we could be in for a very long wait.

When the food arrived, which did not take long, it was of excellent quality. I highly recommend the Farmers breakfast and Weiner Schnitzel. All fresh and tasty.

Although the food was good, I doubt we shall return. The service is just too slow and unfriendly. If you are busy, then hire some more staff. Particularly staff who are welcoming and actually want to be there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“a charming place with abysmal service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Cafe Berio is apparently a Berlin institution and has been operating for God knows how long and while the quality of food/drink on offer is quite all-right, the service that comes with it is disgraceful. Our potentially pleasant experience of Berio was ruined by a terrible Italian waiter who was nothing short of arrogant, rude and should have never been allowed to work with paying customers. Based on the service received I would advise anybody who is in the vicinity of Nollendorfplatz to avoid this place and choose a different one on the same street.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Berio also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Berio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Berio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.