We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and drinks at a beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe am Neuen See

Cafe am Neuen See
Lichtensteinallee 2, 10787 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
+49 30 2544930
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,750 of 5,949 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mitte
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and drinks at a beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This has a large outdoor area, so if the weather is good, you must come here and drink a coffe at least.
The food is mostly quite delicious.
The main attraction of this place is the atmosphere, very nice outdoor place facing a little pond, in the middle of the woods of the Tiergarten.
It's very unique in Berlin, i don't know so many other restaurants in the city that score so high for scenery and athmospere. Sitting inside is also very nice, beautiful interior, stylish, not too much.

The weak point is service, they can get very lost with your order, mostly the waiters/waitresses are students, with very few experience. Had some stories of lost orders and coming a bit too late.
What compensates is the view and this sweet athmosphere. It's the best on a sunny day for a longer time to spend with friends or beloved.
You may want to make a reservation, especially on weekends

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    111
    45
    27
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Coast, Ooh, Ess, Ahh
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice spot for pizza and beer in the park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We happened upon this spot on a walk through the Tiergarten. It has a large outdoor biergarten which unfortunately for us was closed due to rain that evening. The placed was full and the energy was lively. It was a place for couples, business people and families alike. We enjoyed it and hopefully we'll have beers outside next time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Far from the madding crowd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This café-restaurant-biergarten near to the zoological garden offers different meal options: you can sit outside on the benches in front of the lake and help yourself at the kiosks or choose to be served at the restaurant. Inside there is a tipical country-style room with wooden furniture and a nice and more romantic veranda. The restaurant tables outside have candle lights and let you enjoy a rural landscape just in the middle of the city.
The food is simple but it is well cooked, we had a salad, chicken and a mango dessert. Biers were excellent.
The weak point is the toilet: the venue was crowded and the restrooms were basic and not so clean, but this was partly due to the incivility of some clients, as I saw the staff passing by for a check many times during the evening.
Finally, the bill: I spent € 48 for my meal, water (why it is always so expensive?) and biers.
Go there, you will spend a lovely evening.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, inexpensive good food. But, crowded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

While walking to the zoo, I walked past this place and sat for awhile, people watching but not buying anything. I enjoyed the atmosphere so much that I made a mental note to return later for dinner. I did that, but it was significantly more crowded at dinner time than during lunch time.

Oddly enough, this cafe has 2 parts: The first zone is a huge outdoor and self service area, somewhat IKEA style, where you order what you want at each station, and you pay before walking out of the food area and you carry whatever you bought to your seats. The second zone is a proper restaurant with waiters. Both together make up Cafe am Neuen See, although I am ONLY reviewing the first zone.

I ordered a mozarella and tomato pizza (€8.90), a heineken, cabbage salad, potato salad, liver-cheese?? (direct translation from their german menu) and a slice of apricot pastry. The salads were priced per 100grams and the total bill was €22.97

Pizza crust was slightly burned at the bottom, and was thin and crispy. The burned parts were ignored, but the rest of it was delicious. And that could be said of everything I ordered. The beer was good, salads was tangy and the pastry was well done. And we got to enjoy them by an idyllic river with little boats. There was a sandy area for kids to play with, and you will get to people watch alot.

Note that this place is rather difficult to find. You have to walk down a footpath called Fasanerieallee from the Victory Column (Großer Stern) at Tiergarten. You will see the Spanish Embassy. To the right is the well-hidden Cafe am Neuen See

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and a great escape from the bustle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

I was here on a hot day and it was a beautiful setting to chil out with friends and the food is surprisingly good! Service is cafeteria style and you order take your tray and pay. See photos

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe am Neuen See also viewed

 

Been to Cafe am Neuen See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe am Neuen See, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.