We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Die Berliner Republik

Die Berliner Republik
Schiffbauerdamm 8, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
030 / 30 87 22 93
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,739 of 5,975 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mitte
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Food was amazing (I recommend the Proud Heinrich, or something along those lines) the staff were lovely and even gave us a free shot when we told them it was our last night in Berlin and we were going out to party. Atmosphere is nice and friendly, a very spirited place. It was too cold at this time of year for us to sit out and have our meal but I can imagine, with a location like this, that it would be a lovely view and atmosphere outside too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    164
    80
    43
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Der Gast Der König aber nicht für Sie.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

I would like to give a shout out to one of your waitdressers as she just kicked us out by shoutting as harder as she could. She didn.t even allow us to reach the table for 8 persons we asked for. Definetely the worst and most despreciable service I ever had. Me as a Tourism worker would NEVER ever recommend this Restaurant to someone who looks for quallity service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Beer stock - exchange market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I really enjoyed both my two visits here . The atmosphere is great, the music loud enough to have fun but have a conversation, too, and the variety of beers more than satisfactory. Check the exchange board, to see which beer-price goes up or down and have a good deal for a long beer-night at the best price.
I didn't eat there so, read through some other reviews, too.
The location is fantastic , too, as it's next to Friedrich strasse and by the river Spree.
We didn't have any problem to find a table (or better bar space) but it was rather busy (especially with local people)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Traditional German cuisine and beer. Opposite our hotel Melia Berlin, it is always very busy so book early to avoid waiting especially if there are more than 2 of you. The food was cooked well and was of good value. It cost us 27 euros, for 2 main meals and 2 drinks each, which is very good value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Service could be lot better - brokers` beer market a bit of a scam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Went here for a few glasses of German beer and a light meal after seeing the website and being instantly interested in the 'beer market' stock-exchange concept. Please don't get me wrong, the place is lovely inside and out and has a great location but on our visit it was let down by the service. The place was very busy on a Friday evening but there seemed to be hardly anyone behind the bar and getting served was a challenge. When I did manage to get the attention of one young man behind the bar, he took my order but then seemed to do little in the way of actually getting our drinks - I then saw this occur with other customers and then realised that a lot of the people behind the bar were just washing glasses. Eventually one of the 'washers' would grab another man carrying an ipad who would come over and re-take our order. When it eventually arrived the food was nice and beer tasy but it was a bit of a frustrating experience that I could tell was shared by many others. The beer market concept is one I like but it just didn't seem to work because of the service - in effect, by the time you'd ordered the beer you fancy, the price had gone back up again!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Die Berliner Republik also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Die Berliner Republik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Berliner Republik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.