We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian in Berlin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bocca di Bacco

Bocca di Bacco
Friedrichstrasse 167/168, Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
030-2067-2828
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 5,978 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mitte
Texas
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian in Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Business dinner with a colleague and a supplier. The business side didn't go so well but the food, wine and service were excellent. We had no reservation but were graciously allowed to dine - as long as vacated table by 2100 hrs, which actually turned into 2200 hrs before we were politely reminded. The appetizers were excellent - Bresaola exactly as it should be, as were my colleague's anchovies. Not sure what the supplier had other than a bad case of the grumpies...anyway. Mains also excellent - wide variety of choices. Duck breast perfectly cooked. Colleague's swordfish also very good. Excellent wine list with a huge variety inclduing some lesser known, and thus still good value, Sicilian wines. Try the Nero d'Avolo...excellent.

Service polite, unobtrusive and well aware of the intensity of the discussion at the table and acted appropriately by not interrupting at inopportune moments.

Woth a stop. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    194
    76
    34
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Montclair, New Jersey
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best meal in Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Outstanding Italian food Excellent service. Walking distance to most hotels in the Financial District.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Marvelous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

All the people that Works in the restaurant are from Itally. So, they can speak German or English or Itallian. As I come from an itallian family, my husband, my daughter and I enjoyed the experience to speak a little of the three languages. The food was really wonderfull as well as the service

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Started great the slow so slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Went on Hotel's recommendation. Seated promptly. Great wine! Starters came & we very tasty. Then everything stopped. No wine, water, nada. 2 for the main course. They were full, but not crowded. Plenty of staff. When the food came it was very good, but we were tired of sitting. ( ok we're Americans and don't linger, but 2 hours....). Price was not too high, not cheap either.

Slow - good food. Maybe if I was in a softer chair.

Won't go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech Republic
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Maybe too self-confident”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

It was my second visit.
Yes, they are good and they know that they are good.
But considering the competition and value for money value I would hesitate to return.
Food is very good - not more, just very good. Wine list is very interesting but prices almost disgusting.
I am rating 3 = average, however it doesn't mean that its an average restaurant. Its simply result of value comparison - very high price for something what I might experience for a half price somewhere not far away from this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bocca di Bacco also viewed

 

Been to Bocca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bocca di Bacco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.