We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room and centrally located for independent travellers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miniloft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berlin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miniloft
Hessische Strasse 5, 10115 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 314 Specialty lodging in Berlin
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent room and centrally located for independent travellers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The location of the Miniloft was perfect - close to all forms of transport, U and S Bahns, Hauptbanhof, not far from Tegel etc. The Classic Room I stayed in is excellent and really spacious and I found it private, secure and quiet - they give you the key and leave you alone. Great little kitchennette and bathroom plus a huge dining table, good for eating and to set out work, and great heating (visited in December during a very cold snap!). A bonus to have free wi-fi and cheap laundry facilities in the basement. It's not the most glamorous location in Berlin but I could get to any tourist destination I wanted within 15-30mins and there are plenty of food options nearby including 2 supermarkets. I'd stay there again definitely, and the only reason I give it 4 instead of 5 stars was the little old box TV which didn't reflect the contemporary design of the room and the relatively hard bed (though I believe you can ask for extra mattress padding!).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    29
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
53
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Miniloft provides a home away from home. A modern apartment with high quality furnishings rented by the night like a hotel room, but much better than any hotel room. Plus excellent location with a very complete practical guide provided with the loft. If I return to Berlin, I know where I'm staying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very low-key/no-hassle accommodation in a great location. Stayed in unit 24. The guidebook is an excellent resource. Having laundry machine on site is a great help, especially for the loft-apt style accommodations. Definitely my place to stay when travelling to Berlin. If you're an independent traveler type, this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We spent hours browsing through apartment rental sites where nothing seemed right and then we found Miniloft, highly recommended by NY Times readers. We're so glad! We spent 2 weeks in a classic Miniloft. We chose the classic because it seemed quieter but the street being a small, not too busy one, it should not be a criteria. It's great to rent an apartment where you have access to the owners (discreet yet available), their architecture office is located in the building and they also live there. It makes you feel safe and connected to locals. They even wrote a fantastic Berlin guide which you can download on their website. So when you get there, you know where everything convenient and interesting is (from groceries and attractions to English-speaking doctors and restaurants). It's all these kind gestures that make you feel at home: coffee, tea, oil, vinegar, fruit juice, beer, shower soap are provided. The space was perfect for us. It is extremely well designed and even though it is a loft, living spaces like dining area, bed and living room feel distinct. And the location is perfect. We walked to most of the major attractions. We will go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I spent a week in the Extrovert apartment at the Miniloft. It was a perfect place to explore Berlin from (and pretend we were residents rather than tourists). The street was quiet, but it was near transportation, stores, and restaurants. The guidebook provided by the owners was wonderfully designed and exceptionally helpful. They were also available to answer questions. Our loft space was clean, comfortable and "cool."

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I have visited Berlin 5x in 12 years but this is the first time we stayed in what had been the Eastern sector of Berlin in the Minilofts. The Minilofts pleased us enormously--we liked the studio design, big windows that opened to provide fresh air and light, spacious bath, kitchenette facilities including coffee maker for that first cup of Joe in the AM, proximity to the Ubahn and groceries, free wi-fi, very knowledgeable and helpful staff, quiet courtyard, etc. The only small negative was getting up and down from the low bed and sofa--it challenged our arthritic knees.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Comfortable room, with minimalist decoration.
Very suitable for independent travelers.
Free wi-fi and close to a subway station, hauptbanhof and supermarket.

Taxi from Tegel Airport takes 20 min and costs 18 euro. Otherwise, easy to reach with public transport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Miniloft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miniloft

Address: Hessische Strasse 5, 10115 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 314 Specialty lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"These modestly priced lofts give guests the kudos of living in a real architectural highlight only ten minutes away from the Reichstag - priceless." -- From Mind Bender, published in Wallpaper *, 2005-05 Miniloftmitte's downtown urban studio apartments are an affordable and comfortable alternative to a hotel room. All minilofts are equipped with modern amenities, and the generous floor plans allow you to indulge in the modern luxury of pure space, a rarity unparalleled in normal hotels. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miniloft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Miniloft to your Saves list