We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AZIMUT Hotel Berlin City South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added AZIMUT Hotel Berlin City South to your Saves list
AZIMUT Hotel Berlin City South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rudower Strasse 90-94, 12351 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Euro Hotel Berlin Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #441 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Arras, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Very nice Hotel, ok i was lucky, i booked a standard room but get a business room because of overbooking ! Pleasant staff, helpful, it is said parking 9euros , but you can park in the street, for free !! bus station 30 seconds , but 2.40€ , on foot the nearest metro station is at about 20minutes, the hotel is next to a mcdonald, the rooms are totally new,and very clean, i recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    33
    19
    18
    9
See reviews for
15
28
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Just had 4 nights in this hotel. It was very clean, though the room was a bit hot and the air con didn't seem to work, so we had the windows open all the time. similar to a travelodge but a bit better. Very helpful staff and very comprehensive breakfast. We couldn't get hold of the email or phone number to pre book the shuttle and as arrived lat, about midnight we got a taxi. After that we bought a 72 hour travel ticket from the hotel. This allows you on buses, underground and trains and also took us to the airport from the hotel on the 171 bus. It is about 40mins out of the city, but easy traveling on bus and Ubahn. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Stopped at the Azimut whilst on a 4 day break in Berlin - was a bit worried at first as it seemed a bit out of the centre. This however is not the case and the fantastic transport system enables easy travel. On arrival at the airport there is a bus that stops right outside the hotel on the other side and leaves from right outside the terminal literally 2 minutes walk from arrivals. The stop is Storchenweg ( every stop is advertised on a display inside the bus ). It is about 17 stops from the airport and took us about 20 mins. The bus number is 171. I would recommend buying a welcome/travelcard before travel as this makes it so easy on arrival!!!! you can order and have it delivered to UK, this then only needs validating on arrival and is something you do need for travel on any public transport!

The hotel itself in my opinion was clean and the staff very helpful, the rooms are clean and very much to the standard of a Travelodge. We booked bed and breakfast. The breakfast has a decent selection – cereal, yoghurts,fruit,plenty of cheeses and cooked meat, a decent selection of breads.Hot food wise its limited to sausage,mini type burgers,beans and scrambled egg but I found it very adequate before a day out and about. Never went into the bar but it has free wi-fi, pool table and Sky. I believe free wi-fi is provided on level 2&3.The hotel is literally 1 minutes walk from a McDonalds and a couple of minutes from an Aldi.To the other side is a pizza and pasta restaurant but did not try it. I found the surrounding area to be decent.

It will take about 15 mins to walk to the nearest U-Bahn station which is Johannisthaler Chausee, this is right next to a big shopping centre. The other option is catch a bus and get off at another U-Bahn but I didnt do this. The walk is all on the main road and while the area near the station may seem dodgy I dont believe this to be the case. It takes about 30-40 mins to get into the centre obviously depending where you are going. I can recommend the Berlin Subway I-phone app which is a great help.

We found a few good restaurants in the Hackescher Market area selling German fare. Make sure you try a currywurst at some point!!! We also went to watch Hertha BSC v Bayern Munich and if you are a football fan its well worth the visit!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights and had a very pleasant experience. I share some details here:

- Transportation:
Bus 171 leaves every 10-20 minutes or so depending on the weekday and time of the day. The station is about 100-200 meters from the hotel, across the street. You get off at any of the metro stations along the route (Grenzallee, Neukolln, Hermannplatz). It takes about 40 minutes to get to the center, but if you'll be out of the hotel for the whole day, it doesn't hurt to be that far way.
There're a metro station like 20 minutes away, but I never tried it.

- Iron/ironing board: they won't provide one in your room, but the have an ironing room close to the reception.

- Wi-fi: I used it once, it worked prefectly, although only in the lobby. Price was fair: 2€ for 30 minutes, 3€ for 1 hour and I think 7,50€ for a day.

- Airport Shuttle: I had to call and email the hotel a couple of times to arrange our shuttle, but they finally confirmed a couple of days before my flight. I was worried they wouldn't provide it, since our flight arrive almost at midnight. The driver was there on-time, he was very nice and helpful, and speaks perfect english. It was a short ride to the hotel.

- Neighborhood: it seems to be a residential area, but the street is quite commercial (in a good way). McDonalds is next door, so we had breakfast there everyday. If you have a german phone #, you can use their wi-fi for free (you receive the network password via SMS).
There's also plenty of restaurants around, and from others reviews I read, they seem to be pretty good.

- Bedoom:
Bedroom was small, but had everything one could need: small closet, huge mirror (besides the one in the bathroom), desk, chair, small sofa, a place to put your lugagge... I'd say it was "smart-small" :P. Bathroom was really clean.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

i stayed here a year ago, and i really liked it, i felt the price was good, and the room was very nice. if you can go to the one in Kurfuerstendamm which is in the center of Berlin. Because you have to take a bus to go to the train station in order to go to the city, which used to take about 30 to 40 minutes each way. Anyways, if you still stay there, when you take the bus to Neukölln, there are several small stores to get things like vegetables and fruits.. there is also an aldi near the hotel, and guess what, there is a mcdonalds right next to it, which i went a few times when i was very hungry late at night. :) The hotel has no breakfast, and you have to buy a wifi internet card. They have a safe box at the desk for your money and documents. All the drinks they have in their small room refrigerator you have to pay for, if you open one. I removed them from the refrigerator and place my own things there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Beware of the smoking area, it really stinks. The hotel claimed they are 4 stars, I give it a three star at best.
The hotel does not have a kitchen and the breakfast had to be shipped from somewhere, selection was mediocre and limited.
We were supposed to stay at Mercure Hotel close to the airport but they mixed up our reservation and did not have any room. Instead, the (rude) lady night manager at Mercure sent us to this Azimuth Hotel.

Room Tip: Beware of the smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

This hotel has a very bad service. It is bad organised: at the arrival of the group of tourists, they were on panic. To have the dinner the group waited more than 1 hour and than to have something to drink during the dinner, well, thet arrived after finished to eat. If the hotel would improve the service, maybe could be a decent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AZIMUT Hotel Berlin City South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AZIMUT Hotel Berlin City South

Address: Rudower Strasse 90-94, 12351 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Euro Hotel Berlin Airport)
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #441 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AZIMUT Hotel Berlin City South 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your AZIMUT Hotel Berlin City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AZIMUT Hotel Berlin City South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.