We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Elefant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pension Elefant to your Saves list
Pension Elefant
Welserstrasse 27, 10777 Berlin, Germany (Schöneberg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 182 Berlin B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Huge room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here earlier this year as it was recommended by a colleague. We were amazed when we saw our room ... it was huge!! The room was bright and clean, had a television, tea and coffee making facilities and we were welcomed with little packets of Gummi Bears on the bed (very cute!). Although we shared the bathroom, it was no problem at all as there never seemed to be a queue and it was kept extremely clean.
The owners and staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. We looked forward to breakfast every morning as the little breakfast room was quite sociable and the owners bake their own bread.
The hotel itself is only a few minutes walk from the U-Bahn station, post office and lots of shops. There are restaurants, bars and a convenience store just outside the front door (but it's not noisey).
We absolutely loved our stay here and look forward to returning one day!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    30
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
64
46
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The room was clean, comfortable, with a nice breakfast, and the owners are pleasant and eager to help out. I had a late flight out, and they were more than happy to let me stay much later than normal. The location is perfect, only a few blocks from the U-Bahn, and quiet at night (if you're actually sleeping at night in Berlin.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I would have no hesitation in staying here agaun. There are a variety of rooms but within the main pension and separate apartments around the corner. All are large and very central in a beautiful historic street. The owners are always on hand to assist with any queries and offer advice and the breakfast is a lovely, personal touch to what was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hosts were on holidays when we arrived, however, they did have their friend show us to the apartment. We booked an apartment instead of a bnb because we wanted to have a kitchen so we could cook and eat in. The apartment was modern and beautiful. Located about 5 minutes away from a metro station, it was easy to find. There was also a grocery store near the metro station. The neighbourhood itself was quiet and felt safe.

The bed in the suite was actually a sofa bed, but it was surprisingly comfortable. There is a murphy (hideaway)bed as well. The kitchen is adequate, and had a small dining table which worked well for the two of us. There was also a washing machine in the kitchen, but no dryer. However, there was a drying rack for clothes that worked well enough. There was even a small balcony, but we didn't make use of it.

Overall, this apartment exceeded expectations, especially when it came to the price. It was super clean, and it felt like a home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imagination
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hosts went out of their way to make the stay as pleasant as possible. The room was just literally great, clean and low priced. I had some business in town and did not really come for relaxation, but I won't search for any other place when I return to Berlin for a vacation. Free Wifi, nice breakfast offered by kind people who read your thoughts to please and you can have a nice chat about the city or the place, but you can also be left quietly if you prefer. You get your own pair of keys so you can go to your room whenever you like. Some people might argue that the place does not have the flair of a big professional hotel, but that is exactly what makes it so special, it felt like coming home to your own flat that you happen to share with other people. I can unconditionally recommend this pension to everyone. Finally, just if you happen to be concerned with these matters, yes it is a gay pension which of course welcomed me and other straight couples, which happened to stay at the same time as I did, dearly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have been to this pension three times now,, think that says it all. Its a great location close to transport and easy to get to from either airport. The hosts are perfect , helpful and friendly without being intrusive. Rooms large and clean. Wifi perfect, breakfast good and friendly . If they can help thy will , umbrella's bicycles and late check out if there is not reservations coming in.
Did I say location,,, good area quiet yet lots of places to see and eat in area.

Keep up the good work guys,,, and will see you again on next visit.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms on the right side of the floor ( not the breakfast room side,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I spent a couple of days in Berlin with my two teenager children. We really enjoyed our stay at Elephant. It was very cosy and perfect for us. The room was vert big with high ceiling, the beds were perfect and the breakfast excellent. Rainer was a very nice host and we will definitely stay there again if we go back to Berlin.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Elefant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Elefant

Address: Welserstrasse 27, 10777 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Schöneberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Elefant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Elefant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.