We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need to travel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel to your Saves list
baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Ziegelstrasse 28, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 349 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Everything you need to travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is on the upper end for amenities. Bar, restaurant, social areas and key cards are all part of the stay. I stayed in a 4 person room which had 1 bunk bed and two twins. I had a shower/sink in the room but the toilet was the very next door outside of the room (had to use a key card and only my room could use it). Wi-Fi was great thought the building. Staff were helpful but the good thing is that the hostel had many scheduled events (both pay and free) that were a lot of fun. 3 minutes to the metro or 20 minute walk to some of the historic sites.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattchilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Baxpax downtown is a friendly mix between a real hotel and a backpacker's hostel. The walls are in bright and shiny colours, and so are the room. We booked one that came with a little kitchen, which seemed to be a little overpriced given the fact that the kitchen hardly had any kitchen supplies likes spoons and stuff.
The rooms are clean and come with large windows. I can't say anything about their breakfast offer as we prefered to enjoy ourselfs in one of the many cafe places outside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xavier h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were in Berlin for New Year's, so I expected a bit of craziness. My roommates did come in really late, but otherwise the hostel is quiet so you do sleep well. Good location within walking distance of everything we wanted to do and see. It was very clean with comfortable beds.
It's pretty institutional and huge. I don't really enjoy this because I like the smaller, cozier hostels, but that's not really a flaw, just a personal preference. The all you can eat Breakfast is super expensive, so I wouldn't recommend it. Just order eggs or something and supplement with food from the grocery store. I didn't think their lunch and dinner options were that good compared to other hostels I have stayed at.
I did not find the reception staff to be friendly at all and always felt like I was interrupting their private conversations when I needed to ask a question.
Bar was somewhat lively at night, but just played a lot of loud tecno-ish music. If that's what you're into than you will probably enjoy it more than I did.
On site laundry was nice.

Basically, it was not my style, but there is nothing really wrong or gross about it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed at the Baxpax with 4 other friends in a private room in July 2011. Its a really clean hostel and has a large bar and outdoor area which seemed to be busy every night we were there.

Also the food at the Baxpax was surprisingly good and really cheap. We ended up eating there most lunch and dinner's which was actually a shame because we should have seen more of Berlin!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheoSkrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Baxpax Downtown Berlin is good, solid hostel. Location wise it's perfect as you're very close to Friedrich Strasse Banhof and all the other transport links that go through there. It's clean, the staff are very friendly, helpful and all in all it has a nice atmosphere.

I just think people coming here have to realise that it's more of a "party" hostel than the ones I'm used to. I happily accepted the free shot I was given on arrival because the queue for checking in was so long but that is indicative of the experience. No kitchen facilities so you can't self-cater, the social areas all have music playing in and although it's sensitive to the time of day there didn't seem to be a quiet seating area. This doesn't ruin the atmosphere, they do have a bar/cafe attached and I guess with the whole of Berlin on your doorstep it's hard to compete. I just think people need to be aware that it's a 4* party hostel but only a 2* for backpackers doing a lot of travel on a budget.

I'll finish on a positive. The staff were all really good, fun, friendly and helpful, even on the 1st of January when my room key was no longer working.

I'd go back here again.

Room Tip: The cheapest room, a 32 bed dorm, was clean, quiet and with an emphasis on being for sleep, far bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zippy4star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

"+":
-wifi
-close to train station
-close to city center
-good atmosphere


nothing to add.nothing to add.nothing to add.nothing to add.nothing to add.bothing to add.nothing to add.nothing to add.nothing to add.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evgeny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Baxpax has new stuff and lots of fun! It is just in the center of Berlin and near a street with lots of restaurants, bars.. well, nightlife!
With very polite staff, they recommend good atractions (a walking tour which was also the best I have ever taken).
I recommended BaxPax Downton to other friends who really liked it.

Room Tip: I took a studio with 2 other friends, very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inforzato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#46 of 349 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Mitte
Citystay Mitte
Citystay Mitte
#84 of 349 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#8 of 349 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#57 of 349 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Mitte
Generator Berlin Mitte
Generator Berlin Mitte
#31 of 349 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel

Address: Ziegelstrasse 28, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 349 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baxpax Downtown Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing