We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need to travel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel to your Saves list
baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Ziegelstrasse 28, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 325 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Everything you need to travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is on the upper end for amenities. Bar, restaurant, social areas and key cards are all part of the stay. I stayed in a 4 person room which had 1 bunk bed and two twins. I had a shower/sink in the room but the toilet was the very next door outside of the room (had to use a key card and only my room could use it). Wi-Fi was great thought the building. Staff were helpful but the good thing is that the hostel had many scheduled events (both pay and free) that were a lot of fun. 3 minutes to the metro or 20 minute walk to some of the historic sites.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    114
    34
    12
    14
See reviews for
16
52
62
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Baxpax downtown is a friendly mix between a real hotel and a backpacker's hostel. The walls are in bright and shiny colours, and so are the room. We booked one that came with a little kitchen, which seemed to be a little overpriced given the fact that the kitchen hardly had any kitchen supplies likes spoons and stuff.
The rooms are clean and come with large windows. I can't say anything about their breakfast offer as we prefered to enjoy ourselfs in one of the many cafe places outside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were in Berlin for New Year's, so I expected a bit of craziness. My roommates did come in really late, but otherwise the hostel is quiet so you do sleep well. Good location within walking distance of everything we wanted to do and see. It was very clean with comfortable beds.
It's pretty institutional and huge. I don't really enjoy this because I like the smaller, cozier hostels, but that's not really a flaw, just a personal preference. The all you can eat Breakfast is super expensive, so I wouldn't recommend it. Just order eggs or something and supplement with food from the grocery store. I didn't think their lunch and dinner options were that good compared to other hostels I have stayed at.
I did not find the reception staff to be friendly at all and always felt like I was interrupting their private conversations when I needed to ask a question.
Bar was somewhat lively at night, but just played a lot of loud tecno-ish music. If that's what you're into than you will probably enjoy it more than I did.
On site laundry was nice.

Basically, it was not my style, but there is nothing really wrong or gross about it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at the Baxpax with 4 other friends in a private room in July 2011. Its a really clean hostel and has a large bar and outdoor area which seemed to be busy every night we were there.

Also the food at the Baxpax was surprisingly good and really cheap. We ended up eating there most lunch and dinner's which was actually a shame because we should have seen more of Berlin!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Baxpax Downtown Berlin is good, solid hostel. Location wise it's perfect as you're very close to Friedrich Strasse Banhof and all the other transport links that go through there. It's clean, the staff are very friendly, helpful and all in all it has a nice atmosphere.

I just think people coming here have to realise that it's more of a "party" hostel than the ones I'm used to. I happily accepted the free shot I was given on arrival because the queue for checking in was so long but that is indicative of the experience. No kitchen facilities so you can't self-cater, the social areas all have music playing in and although it's sensitive to the time of day there didn't seem to be a quiet seating area. This doesn't ruin the atmosphere, they do have a bar/cafe attached and I guess with the whole of Berlin on your doorstep it's hard to compete. I just think people need to be aware that it's a 4* party hostel but only a 2* for backpackers doing a lot of travel on a budget.

I'll finish on a positive. The staff were all really good, fun, friendly and helpful, even on the 1st of January when my room key was no longer working.

I'd go back here again.

Room Tip: The cheapest room, a 32 bed dorm, was clean, quiet and with an emphasis on being for sleep, far bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

"+":
-wifi
-close to train station
-close to city center
-good atmosphere


nothing to add.nothing to add.nothing to add.nothing to add.nothing to add.bothing to add.nothing to add.nothing to add.nothing to add.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Baxpax has new stuff and lots of fun! It is just in the center of Berlin and near a street with lots of restaurants, bars.. well, nightlife!
With very polite staff, they recommend good atractions (a walking tour which was also the best I have ever taken).
I recommended BaxPax Downton to other friends who really liked it.

Room Tip: I took a studio with 2 other friends, very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel

Address: Ziegelstrasse 28, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 325 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baxpax Downtown Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.