We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and cheap hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amadeus Hostel Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amadeus Hostel Berlin to your Saves list
Amadeus Hostel Berlin
Brunnenstrasse 70-71 | Mitte, 13355 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good and cheap hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Our room was clean, big enough. We had a indoor bathroom for us alone. Reception was nice and helpful. And it´s very central in Berlin. The bad things or not so nice things was: No telephone in our room, breakfast for 6,50 Euro per person each day. And you havn`t a hostel - parkingarea there, You get a Parkingticket for 10 Euro and must find a Parkingspot on your own ( it´s inpossible in berlin =
The Hostel is not right for families because there is a Porn or aduld - cinema next to Hostel ( next door ) and a very big Erotic - Store at the other streetside.
But i would go again there because it´s cheap, clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    14
    10
    37
See reviews for
3
12
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Well, where do I start.... After 4 nights at the excellent Baxx Paxx hostel in Mitte, we unfortunately had to look for accomodation elsewhere upon deciding to spend an extra night in Berlin. Amadeus was one of the first (and cheapest) hostels we found. We arrived at the specified check in time (mid-day) to be told that our room wouldn't be ready until 3pm, so we went for a stroll around the city and arrived back at 3pm. By this time, the hostelreception was queued out of the door with confused angry people wondering what the hell was going on and wanting to check in. Meanwhile the man behind reception stood faffing around with bits of paper, looking for his glasses and not really doing anything at all to try and de-crease the size of the queue that had formed around him.

When it was eventually our turn to check in about 2 hours later, the man stood there for about ten minutes rummaging through his papers looking for our details. We had to point out to him that in fact, they were in his hand the entire time. He then told us to go and sit down and have some coffee and that he would deal with us in 5 minutes...

About half an hour later, after a lot of nagging, we finally managed to get our check in details and a code for the door of our room, and off we went.
We walked down a long unlit corridor and punched in the code for our room, which consisted of about 10 beds, NONE of which had mattresses on. The matresses were dumped in the corner of the room in a large pile, and a load of dirty sheets on top of one them. We then went and asked reception for some clean sheets, so the man asked to see our room and then dissapeared. Clean sheets were bought along early the next morning, as we were checking out.

Also the shower room on our floor was full of junk. We had to walk through to the next block to have a shower, and the showers were dirty and flooded after about 5 minutes.
This may sound like an enormous exageration, but this hostel genuinely was that bad!!! for the same price (12 euros per night) you could stay in baxx paxx, a nicer hostel in a better location!

Do yourself a favour and go elsewhere, it honestly is that bad. Whoever gave the place a good review needs to have a big think!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

it was a very nice place to spend nights not so far from the city center and it is very cheap. at the desk they are very friendly and helpful. there is a big lounge with internet and whee you can have also breakfast paying something. i would higly reccomand to the young people that want spend few money but they get a good quality

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taarnby, Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

A perfect hostel if you just want to see the city and club life.
Nothing fancy but still fine and best of all, very cheap.. :)

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Nice hostel. One of the cheapest (in price) in Berlin, so we didn't have great expectations, but hadn\\\'t experienced any real disappointments either. We got an 8-bed private room for the five of us, which was pretty clean, with free bedsheats. The room was a bit shabby but for the price (16 Euros/person) it was really worth it.
There is only a small parking lot, but its free of charge.

We had shared toilets, which were OK but the shared and coeducated showers could have been cleaner, the locks on most of the shower doors did not work...
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Internet and wifi was free.
The location was good, about 30 seconds to the nearest metro station, and only 4 stops from Alexander Platz. A lot of shops and cofee houses nearby. We didn't try the breakfast buffet, but it costs 4 Euros.

I recommend it for student travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

The bedroom we stayed in smelled terribly of damp, the carpet was very stained and the one of the panes of the double glazed window had a big hole in it where the glass had been broken. The mattresses were the most uncomfortable we've ever slept in. The toilets were clean as were the showers (but the plugholes of the womens showers were very blocked with hair so the water didn't drain out.) The location is good as its right next to a U-ground station. The free internet is good although the computers are flaky. Some of the staff were very nice. (Not all though). The breakfast is good value. However next time we'd pay a little bit more and stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

To put it simple: that building is the scariest place I've ever been in!!! It literally looks like someone is gonna get in your room any time now and take your organs!!! It's horrible! It looks like some kind of a warehouse, many weird looking hallways and doors you have no idea where lead. The girls bathroom was clean though and the room was not too bad. And the location was just fine since there are just a few stations, I think 3, to the Alexanderplatz! The showers weren't so clean! Anyway, wouldn't recommend it to girls travelling alone especially! Really scary! It's cheap, but for maybe 10 more euros, you can find a very nice place to stay. Of course I didn't know it at the time;)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amadeus Hostel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amadeus Hostel Berlin

Address: Brunnenstrasse 70-71 | Mitte, 13355 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amadeus Hostel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amadeus Hostel Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.