We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderul base for sight seeing trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Berlin, Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Berlin, Berlin to your Saves list
Hotel Berlin, Berlin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Luetzowplatz 17, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lancs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderul base for sight seeing trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 day trip to Berlin.This is a great hotel to base yourself at for a sightseeing trip in Berlin. It is situated on the edge of the diplomatic area and the area in general feels very safe to walk around at night. It is a large hotel but still manages to feel friendly and personal. As other reviewers commented, the breakfasts are fantastic - fill yourself up at breakfast time and no need for lunch! Staff were all friendly and helpful - we ordered extra pillows and they were in place in no time. Beds were large and comfortable and the TV/entertainment system in the room was really easy to use. All staff we came in contact with spoke english. The hotel is well placed near the Tiergarten and also near the main shopping area and Ka De Wa is only a couple of minutes walk away. We found an Argentian steak house 2 mins walk away that offered fantastic value - steaks, drinks etc - total bill was 35E! It is easy to find your way around from the hotel especially if you use the Tiergarten as your geographical centre point - although we walked to many of the sights would recommend you join one of the hop on hop off bus tours that being at the Kaiser Wilhem church - for 10E you can enjoy a trip around all the sights of Berlin and get off the bus at various points, joining the tour again when you are ready - the buses come along every 20 mins or so - great value. Would definitely stay at this hotel again on our next trip to Berlin which I hope will not be too far away!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBerlinBerlin, Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear MrsBLancs,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and we appreciate your time and effort to validate our hotel. We are very happy to welcome you again at Hotel Berlin, Berlin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    773
    235
    61
    46
See reviews for
196
523
92
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weil am Rhein
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed here several times already. The hotel is quite modern with extremely friendly staff. The room was basic but clean. The wellness area was really clean and well-kept. However, it closed a bit too early. Breakfast was way too expensive 21 Euro?? I would recommend book a hotel room with breakfast included. It was also close to the Ubahn so you will get around easily.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBerlinBerlin, Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear NatureGuyDECH,

Thank you very much for your very positive feedback and your time spent for doing it.
Alternatively to our breakfast buffet, we also offer a „Quick Breakfast“at the Bar Berlin, Berlin. It is served daily from 8am to 10am and you can order à la carte. Wwe wishing you an excellent day and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

There are many hotels in Berlin, many of them good and not oversexpensive. The Berlin Berlin ins one of them. Location is good but not great. It is large, and tourist groups seem to be a large par tof its business, usually not a very good sign. But my room was large, and very well appointed and decorated. A large bed, a huge HD TV. Food was par for the course, as was service. For the price, definitely a good deal. I will be back...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBerlinBerlin, Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear philber78,

Thank you for your response and for taking the time to post your impressions on TripAdvisor. Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback is highly valuable for all of us. We wishing you an excellent day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I just returned from a 4 night stay at Hotel Berlin Berlin. Lovely Hotel, clean, bus line and Hop on Hop off bus stop just across the street. Easy walking to KaDaWe, and shopping.
The restaurant Julius was wonderful, overseen by Heir Diez. His attentiveness and professionalism is to be commended. Food was excellent, and there is also a nice outdoor area for more casual dining.
Only complaint was the front desk agent Farok G., who seemed annoyed and bothered while booking a tour to Potsdam for us...and actually began chatting with some young men he seemed to know, behind us during our transaction. He made us feel unwelcome.
I would recommend Hotel Berlin Berlin to friends and would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBerlinBerlin, Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Lynn H,

Thank you very much for your review and for taking the time to post your impressiones about our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We were pleased to learn that you were mostly happy with our staff. Nevertheless, we are very sorry there were issues with our front office staff that did not make you happy. We look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Berlin, Berlin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We were fortunate enough to get time off just before Christmas and decided to visit Berlin for a short 4 day visit. We had booked another Hotel but after looking at Google Maps, decided it was way too far out of Berlin to be practical. We were able to change to the Hotel Berlin, which is right downtown and in the middle of all kinds of public transportation. We were so happy when we checked in and got some rest after a terrible flight. The hotel was great. Reception was very friendly and helpful, and the food was deliciously prepared, buffet style. It wasnt included in the quoted price of 70 Euro a night, but we gladly paid the additional funds.

Room Tip: The room was very nice... Had a window overviewing the plaza in front of the hotel, but it was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBerlinBerlin, Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear BobPortillo,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and we appreciate your time and effort to validate our hotel. We were very happy to welcoming you again at Hotel Berlin, Berlin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NYC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Very good hotel but kind of out of the way of city historic areas. There is a bus stop right down the road. Bus line 100 will take you wherever you have to go. Do breakfast in the morning was very good. There is free wifi but you must call for a new password everyday. The bar area is pretty good and they will show any big sporting events on big projections on the wall.

There seems to be a lot of conference is going on during the week. The consierge helped us a lot everyday.

For the right price this hotel is a winner.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBerlinBerlin, Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear prezzgreg,

Thank you very much for your review and for taking the time to post your impressiones about our Hotel on TripAdvisor. It is highly appreciated and we thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Hotel Berlin is situated in an excellent location within close walking distance to Berlin Zoo, Tiergarten and other major attractions.The hotel is large and grand, very modern and very clean. The hotel bar was reasonably priced and also the room service. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to experience Berlin staying at a top hotel at a bargain price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBerlinBerlin, Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear LukeUK_12,

Thank you for your response and for taking the time to post your impressions on TripAdvisor. Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback is highly valuable for all of us. We wishing you an excellent day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Berlin, Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berlin, Berlin

Address: Luetzowplatz 17, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in Berlin
#112 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#115 Business Hotel in Berlin
#135 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Berlin, Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 701
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Berlin, Berlin is the place to stay in Berlin's city centre! Its central location in City West, nearby Kurfuerstendamm, Berlin Zoo and Potsdamer Platz is ideal for every kind of travel. Our accommodations are the perfect blend of traditional and contemporary designs, in the heart of the city centre. Authentic German architecture melds into a modern ambience, letting you feel the heartbeat and spirit of our city, from its glamour and elegance, to its flashy and adventurous side. We offer our guests at Hotel Berlin, Berlin 701 rooms in six categories, all with free WiFi, suitable for a short stay-great getaway weekend in Berlin, perfect tourist accommodations while in Berlin, or Berlin's ultimate business accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Berlin, Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Berlin, Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.