We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but Minimal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pension Elegia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pension Elegia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pension Elegia
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Niebuhrstrasse 74, 10629 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 178 Berlin B&B and Inns
West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean but Minimal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

Hotel Pension Elegia is very minimal -- but a good value if you don't care about the extras. It's in a great location (Savignyplatz), just around the corner from Ku'Dam and good local dining. The room was clean but spare. Breakfast is two doors down at a Greek restaurant, but it is good and the staff are friendly.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — spare, barren room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
10
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2007

I stayed in a single room of the Hotel Pension Elegia from December 05 to December 11 2007. The Hotel Elegia is a very small hotel/pension on the first floor of a house which also contains private apartments.

Positive:
+ Good location, 2 minutes from S-Bahn-station Savignyplatz and 3 minutes from Kurfürstendamm.
+ Friendly staff.
+ Breakfast is brought to room from 8 am to 10 am (you can tell the time at the arrival).

Negative:
- Noisy rooms: You can hear everything from the corridor and from the street, but it is a street with not much traffic and pedestrians. You can also hear TVs, rooms being locked and stuff from your neighbour rooms.
- (Some of?) the (single?) rooms are not equipped with an own bathroom, although promised, but the bathroom is close to the rooms. The hotel staff asked me if I wanted me to be the only user of the bathroom and at first wanted to charge EUR 7.- per night for that. When I insisted that the room price on hotel.de was including the bathroom, they apologized and gave it to me for free.
- The promised safe was missing, but I did not have valuable things left in my room, so I did not care. There was also no hairdryer as promised.
- A lot of keys (1 x front door, 2 x hotel floor, 1 x hotel room) which you have to carry around because the reception is closed from 9 pm until 8 am
- The room key also fitted the bathroom door lock (which is understandable), BUT the toilet key from the toilet lock also fitted the room door lock!!! So that seems to mean that everybody having access to the bathroom also has access to your hotel room!?! I noticed this 1 day before leaving, so I did not mention it.
- The towels were changed only once during my stay of 6 nights (after the 2nd night). When I threw them at the floor to have them changed again after some other nights, I found the same towels hanging in the bathroom again (containing the same spots as the ones I had thrown on the floor), so they had just been picked up and not been changed.
- There was only 1 toilet paper roll and no spare roll which resulted in buying spare rolls by myself at the drugstore.
- The cleanliness all in all was ok, there is nothing to really complain about, but I would not have eaten from the floor either. This probably also has to do because the house and the rooms are not really new.

All in all not bad for the price of EUR 44.- per night and single room, but I would not honestly recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

The hotel is near Savignyplatz train station, the excellent Bleibtreu cafe and bar and for a late night drink check out the Zwiebelfisch bar. The hotel is really a bed and breakfast. It's a small family run affair with friendly staff. The rooms are basic but clean, warm and quiet. The area is quiet and safe at all hours of the day and night. There is no dining area and breakfast is served in the bedroom. It lies just about 5 minutes walk from the long and busy Kurfürstendamm. If you're looking for something cheap, cheerful and comfortable then this place ticks all the boxes.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Lack of dining room / bar.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2007

this is basically a pension or a bed and breakfast rather than a hotel
+great location next to Dam
+3 stops on the train to exhibition
+station only 4 min away
+wifi : you pay €5 and they give you a code with unlimited use
+friednly staff
+they bring you breakfast in room

-Terribly overpriced during exhibition times (but this a berlin issue)
- €100 for a basic room !!!
- some rooms do not have toilet
- reception closes at 2100
- no telephones in rooms
-basic decor

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pension Elegia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Elegia

Address: Niebuhrstrasse 74, 10629 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pension Elegia 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Pension Elegia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pension Elegia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.