We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Efficient Service in Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Peters

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pension Peters to your Saves list
Pension Peters
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Kantstrasse 146 | Charlottenburg, 10623 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 186 Berlin B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Friendly, Efficient Service in Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Having just stayed for 5 nights I was delighted. The location is great as the Savigny Platz area is lovely and has S-Bahn, shopping, bank, grocery, many restaurants all at your doorstep! The staff was wonderful as my plans changed and I had to extend my stay with a second back to back reservation. They were kind enough to adjust the rooms so I didn't have to move mid-stay. The "comfort" room was simple, clean, flat screen TV, windows that open for fresh air! Everything you need and breakfast was ample and changes slightly depending on what is fresh. The one issue for longer then a nights stay is that internet is free for the first hour (of your stay) then it's 1 Euro an hour through a "Hotsplots" company - very easy online to pay. It's certainly moved to the top of my places to stay in Berlin and I've stayed in several!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    74
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
62
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I spent three nights in this charming and personal hotel/pension. The standard is quite simple but everything is very clean and robust. This hotel has a nice breakfast buffet and extremely nice and friendly staff! Also the location is perfect, near S- and U-bahn as well as direct bus to the airport (Tegel) just around the corner. You find lots of nice bars and restaurants in this area. Will stay here again next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bambino96
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

For the past 8 years we have been staying here during the ITB in Berlin. For the price we pay during the worlds largest travel event, we get super value for money. Rooms are spacious and everything inside the room works very well. Free Internet is a winner too. What touches us most is the people who make us welcome all the time. It's like coming home .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Perfect hosts who are extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel public hallways and staircase could do with a little TLC but the rooms, although basic, are very comfortable and clean. My room was huge (room 202) with a double bed and two big sofas. Breakfast was great and location excellent. A simple owner operated hotel (bed and breakfast) that is great value for money.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I spent four nights at Pension Peters in November 2012 and I recommend it.

I arrived at about 7 pm. I was notified that the office is not open after 6 pm and my key will be held at Hefner Bar, in the same building as Pension Peters. That took all of one second. However, I could not find the right door and it was raining lightly. Some guests of the Pension saw me with my bags and guided me inside.

The room was basic but everything worked. I especially appreciated the heated towel rack, for drying clothes. There is no air-conditioning, no phone, no elevator and the clock on the TV was not correct. The internet connection is interrupted frequently. The room door is a double dead bolt. Lighting for in-bed reading is good.

The highlight was definitely the bountiful breakfast. There was four kinds of cold cuts, cheeses, yogurt, excellent bread, scrambled eggs with juices and coffee.

The staff could not have been more helpful. Pension Peters supplies guests with their own map of Berlin which shows Berlin in different scales, the immediate vicinity, the area and the city. They guided me to take Bus 100 and 200 which covers the main tourist spots and can be taken from nearby Zoo Station. Currywurst is the national dish. At Zoo Station 2 sausages, french fries with mayo, 4.7 euro. Beer 1.6 euro.

The area is full of restaurants. Across the street from Peters Pension is Dick Wirtin, an old Berlin pub. The breaded pork chop is huge, with mesh potato underneath, plus a cucumber salad, 11.90 euros. The Konig Pilsner is 3.2 euros for 0.4-liter. Terrific place. There are several 'supermarkets' which is the size of convenience stores in the US.

An S-bahn station is about 150 meters away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in early Sept. 2012. Staff are VERY friendly and helpful. Our room on the second floor was very large with big windows, lots of light and very clean. Breakfast was wonderful and in a bright ground level room looking out on the street. Easy 1 KM walk to the Zoo transportation hub to catch buses and trains. Tons of reasonably priced restaurants within easy walking distance. (a few blocks). The only downside was our room was above the bars, and Berliners like to party until 3:30 A.M. all week long. Yes, you can close the windows, but then the room gets stuffy. Bring ear-plugs and have a good sleep, because this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: You can try asking for a room that doesn't sit over the bars on the street for something a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

As others have written, conveniently located in western Berlin between two train stops. Zoo stop is also end of line for many buses.
Had room #12, a single room facing courtyard. Quiet. Doesn't get sunlight. Basic furniture, small toilet. Poor lighting not conducive for reading. Needs a luggage rack. Had to put suitcase on trash can. The upholstered chair should be replaced with a plastic or wooden chair that can be easily cleaned. Also small rug seemed dirty so I tried to avoid touching it.
Daisy, Uwe and Charlie were so helpful. Good info about the city, even called hotels in other cities for me to book ahead.

Neighborhood nice, safe and pleasant for walking around. Lots of restaurant choices.
Breakfast fine but boring after a couple of days. Needs some variety.

Despite the criticism, I would recommend it especially because of the friendly service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pension Peters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Peters

Address: Kantstrasse 146 | Charlottenburg, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Peters 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel in the very heart of the city, which is managed directly and personally by its proprietor and which appreciates and cultivates the special flair of the genuine "guest house." Pension Peters is a place with a family atmosphere and an unmistakable personal touch, a good-tasting breakfast, huge and bright rooms, comfortable beds and free fast internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pension Peters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Peters Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Peters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.