We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Peters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pension Peters to your Saves list
Pension Peters
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Kantstrasse 146 | Charlottenburg, 10623 Berlin, Germany   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 182 Berlin B&B and Inns
bambino96
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Simply great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

For the past 8 years we have been staying here during the ITB in Berlin. For the price we pay during the worlds largest travel event, we get super value for money. Rooms are spacious and everything inside the room works very well. Free Internet is a winner too. What touches us most is the people who make us welcome all the time. It's like coming home .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    66
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
39
57
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Perfect hosts who are extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel public hallways and staircase could do with a little TLC but the rooms, although basic, are very comfortable and clean. My room was huge (room 202) with a double bed and two big sofas. Breakfast was great and location excellent. A simple owner operated hotel (bed and breakfast) that is great value for money.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I spent four nights at Pension Peters in November 2012 and I recommend it.

I arrived at about 7 pm. I was notified that the office is not open after 6 pm and my key will be held at Hefner Bar, in the same building as Pension Peters. That took all of one second. However, I could not find the right door and it was raining lightly. Some guests of the Pension saw me with my bags and guided me inside.

The room was basic but everything worked. I especially appreciated the heated towel rack, for drying clothes. There is no air-conditioning, no phone, no elevator and the clock on the TV was not correct. The internet connection is interrupted frequently. The room door is a double dead bolt. Lighting for in-bed reading is good.

The highlight was definitely the bountiful breakfast. There was four kinds of cold cuts, cheeses, yogurt, excellent bread, scrambled eggs with juices and coffee.

The staff could not have been more helpful. Pension Peters supplies guests with their own map of Berlin which shows Berlin in different scales, the immediate vicinity, the area and the city. They guided me to take Bus 100 and 200 which covers the main tourist spots and can be taken from nearby Zoo Station. Currywurst is the national dish. At Zoo Station 2 sausages, french fries with mayo, 4.7 euro. Beer 1.6 euro.

The area is full of restaurants. Across the street from Peters Pension is Dick Wirtin, an old Berlin pub. The breaded pork chop is huge, with mesh potato underneath, plus a cucumber salad, 11.90 euros. The Konig Pilsner is 3.2 euros for 0.4-liter. Terrific place. There are several 'supermarkets' which is the size of convenience stores in the US.

An S-bahn station is about 150 meters away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in early Sept. 2012. Staff are VERY friendly and helpful. Our room on the second floor was very large with big windows, lots of light and very clean. Breakfast was wonderful and in a bright ground level room looking out on the street. Easy 1 KM walk to the Zoo transportation hub to catch buses and trains. Tons of reasonably priced restaurants within easy walking distance. (a few blocks). The only downside was our room was above the bars, and Berliners like to party until 3:30 A.M. all week long. Yes, you can close the windows, but then the room gets stuffy. Bring ear-plugs and have a good sleep, because this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: You can try asking for a room that doesn't sit over the bars on the street for something a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

As others have written, conveniently located in western Berlin between two train stops. Zoo stop is also end of line for many buses.
Had room #12, a single room facing courtyard. Quiet. Doesn't get sunlight. Basic furniture, small toilet. Poor lighting not conducive for reading. Needs a luggage rack. Had to put suitcase on trash can. The upholstered chair should be replaced with a plastic or wooden chair that can be easily cleaned. Also small rug seemed dirty so I tried to avoid touching it.
Daisy, Uwe and Charlie were so helpful. Good info about the city, even called hotels in other cities for me to book ahead.

Neighborhood nice, safe and pleasant for walking around. Lots of restaurant choices.
Breakfast fine but boring after a couple of days. Needs some variety.

Despite the criticism, I would recommend it especially because of the friendly service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at Pension Peters for four nights during the weekend of 28 September to 1 October (Berlin Marathon). The rooms are spotlessly clean and tidy as are the beds and the excellent shower. The hotel itself is situated in the prestigious SavignyPlatz and is close to a large number of cafes and restaurants and the S Bahn. Pension Peters represents excellent value for money and I recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

While I was initially a bit worried about our room based on the condition and cleanliness of the hallways, I was pleasantly relieved when we entered our room. Our room was clean and spare but completely sufficient for our needs. The free wifi was a bit tricky at times, but overall didn't prevent us from doing what we needed to do online. Breakfast was the same everyday, but there was enough variety for me, and it was all good. It's conveniently located to both an S-Bahn and U-Bahn station, and the bus from the airport dropped us off just a few blocks away. A good value option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Peters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Peters

Address: Kantstrasse 146 | Charlottenburg, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Peters 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel in the very heart of the city, which is managed directly and personally by its proprietor and which appreciates and cultivates the special flair of the genuine "guest house." Pension Peters is a place with a family atmosphere and an unmistakable personal touch, a good-tasting breakfast, huge and bright rooms, comfortable beds and free fast internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pension Peters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Peters Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Peters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.