We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel X Berger

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel X Berger to your Saves list
Hostel X Berger
Schlesischestrasse 22, 10997 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #478 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Acapulco, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheap and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Well I was staying in that hostel around 3 weeks, the hostel is clean, all days someone is cleaning, you've free coffee and tea, you have kitchen, free wifi,all the basic stuffs that you need for enjoy your stay, in my own opinion all the guys working there are so friendly (no exceptions) the best holidays had ever had!! Is not a palace but is enough that you need eh thanks xberger hostel! Totally recommended

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    7
    7
    5
See reviews for
1
6
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

First of all,it's not cheap at all.They advertise bed from 9 euros but the cheapest you can get in august is 14 euros or so,and it's a 12 beds mixed dorm!You can get a much better room with 2 extra euros at any her hostels!
Secondly, the wifi usually doesn't freaking work. I can only connect my ipod to the network but my laptop never managed-same happened to some other guests.

And the rooms didn't even have a lock,so everybody can come straight in and take your stuff-they even put up those notes warning you about the thefts in the hostels-I guess that's either a strategy to sell you padlocks or perhaps the the thieves work with them.

Most importantly, the toilets were disgusting and always occupided. Don't even want to use shower. It's definitely the most disgusting place I've ever stayed in.

Avoid it at all cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The location was really good, and we got free coffee in the morning, but the rest sucked. The room could not be locked and the lockers were too small to put our backpack in. The shower also could not be locked and had cold water. The rooms were right next to a busy street so that you could hear what people said when they walked by and the curtains were so thin that light easily came through. I guess its okay if you will party all night, because you won't really get any sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Worst hostel ive stayed at on my trip in europe. Untidy, cramped, bunkbeds were a H&S issue for sure person above me was prctically ontop of me. This is the only hostel that i would never ever ever go back too.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The location is brilliant, right in the heart of Berlin's counter culture quarter. Nice and clean (cleaner was present every day), friendly staff, internet, kitchen, free tea and coffee. Fairly quiet but with just enough socializing opportunity so you can make friends and exchange local knowledge and ideas.

Room Tip: We stayed as a couple and got a dorm room. I'm not sure if that was the only mixed dorm, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

A friend and I stayed here on our eurotrip, and while it was relatively cheap, the place itself was dated and somewhat strange. We booked a 6 bed dorm, and luckily there was only one other person in the room with us. I say luckily because the room was so small I am wondering how they expect 6 people to fit in such a tiny room! The WIFI was only accessible in the common area, and the common area was just a few couches and tables, nothing fancy or nice at all really. There was a small kitchen where we were able to do a little cooking, and there was free tea and coffee. We had no problems with the staff, but they were not exactly friendly or forthcoming with any sort of information about the city. The showers went off every 15 seconds so you had to keep pushing it back on, and the lights were on a timer, so in the middle of my shower the lights went off! Not exactly ideal.
The one positive was the location. Walking distance to lots of cute bars and eateries, close to all sorts of transportation that can take you anywhere in under 20 minutes, and it was very close to the East Side Gallery, which was a huge plus. It was also a bus stop away from the train that takes you to/from the airport, and it was about a 20 minute walk from that station to the hostel.
Overall, I would save this place as a last resort of if you are on a serious budget. I have a feeling you can find something around the same price that is a little bit nicer though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Location brilliant, amenities perfect for our stag weekend and staff friendly. For the cost you pay per night what does everyone expect??

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel X Berger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel X Berger

Address: Schlesischestrasse 22, 10997 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #478 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel X Berger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel X Berger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.