We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you want in a hostel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 3 Little Pigs Hostel

Save Saved
You added 3 Little Pigs Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
3 Little Pigs Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Stresemanstrasse 66, 10963 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 314 Specialty lodging in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Everything you want in a hostel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great location.
Massive kitchen (on top floor) that allows a number of groups to cook and eat at the same time (very sociably) and there is a well stocked average priced supermarket around the corner.
Very 'cool' communal area and bar.
Good security in the rooms but the bar and outdoor seating area is open to public so be careful
Lovely staff, very chatty and full of great advice.
Breakfast is about E5 but given the kitchen not sure its worth it.

Only real downside was the many stairs! There is a lift but it can take about three people...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    152
    42
    14
    7
See reviews for
20
54
105
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Me and my friends stayed only for one night in Berlin and it was really worth it coming to this hostel. The rooms are very clean, the staff is excellent and very helpful. And of course, the location of the hostel is perfect, you can see all the attractions without taking buses or trams, because the hostel is 10-20 mins away from all the attractions such as the raich-stag, the berlin wall, ect.
In one word: perfect!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

What a fantastic place. I had high expectations given the reviews and I wasn't disappointed. Really nice people at the reception and they're up 24hrs a day. We slept there on a Friday night, didn't book for the Saturday as we were going to party all night but we were able to leave our bags there for free (£5 deposit for the lock) which was great. We came back on the Sunday morning to pick up the bags and they happily let us stay in the common room and I just paid £5 for breakfast. The rooms were clean and tidy and the shower worked great, which isn't always the case in cheap youth hostels. Very good atmosphere overall, we stayed in the common room quite late on the Friday night as we could buy beers and play pools. Perfectly located as you can go pretty much everywhere from there, especially Kreuzberg, Potzdamer Platz, and Mitte. I would definitely go back there on my next trip to Berlin.

Room Tip: Rooms with bathroom are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed in a double room last week, the room itself had a great standard of general cleanliness and presentation. Furthermore the room included a private bathroom for a very reasonable price of around £120 for the two of us for the three days we stayed there, again the bathrooms cleanliness and state of repair was exemplary. The hostel itself was lovely, located inside an old nunnery it was spacious and had a real air of history about the place, I particularly like the oak paneled walls of the communal area! The location of the hostel within Berlin couldn't have been better, just off a busy street (but somehow immune from the noise) in Kreuzberg, its about 650m or 5 mins from Potsdamer Platz and all the attractions that offers. There's also a u-bahn station with good links to the rest of the city virtually outside the front door. I didn't sample the breakfast unfortunately (we were up far too late each day), but from my contact with the staff everyone was very friendly and willing to help with anything we needed. In fact my only complaint was the policy of no self catering where alcohol was concerned but this is perfectly understandable and hardly worth a mention. All things considered I would recommend the three little pigs to absolutely anyone, be that families, couples, backpapers or groups on the Berlin party hype, all were present in something resembling harmony during our stay. I hope to be back in spring 2013 to explore Berlin and party, cheers three little pigs!

Room Tip: room 104's a peach ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had a double room which was a good size and a private bathroom which was good and very clean. Rooms were quiet away from main hostel common room. Good common room with booths and pool table. About 20 min walk from the kruezberg cafes and bars but bus goes from right outside. Breakfast was ok, can get better for the 5 euros down the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The time in the Three littlte pigs hostel, is very funny. I spend one week,here. A short germany trip with 2 good friends. We have a nice time here. The position in the middle of Kreuzberg is a good origin. Here you have many shops, a good traffic- connection and many bars and restaurants. The people here came from all over the world. The house of the hostel is totally interesting, its an old monastery.
In the Inside its modern, our rooms are real good, for this price.And the beds are so cosy:)

Tomorrow we flight back home. a real pity!

Room Tip: The outlook from the rooms on the last floor, are the best.;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We just got back from our stay in 3 Little Pigs hostel and we really loved it. It was in a great area, and my boyfriend and I stayed in a double private room with an ensuite, which was gorgeous. The building used to be an old nunnery so it's got big rooms, great high ceilings and old-fashioned windows and facade, but it was so warm and cosy as well. The ensuite bathroom was really nice too. Only slight issue (reason it didn't get 5 stars) was that our double bed was actually two twins pushed together. Didn't make any difference to us really but was a bit surprising. We really liked the decor, the wifi worked well and the breakfast buffet was really nice and great value - lots of cold meats, eggs, cheese and breads, also yogurt and spreads, juices coffee cereals etc. Loads of healthy options which is quite rare and which I loved. The big common room is comfortable, and there were lots of other families and couples staying at the hostel, which made it a bit more comfortable than being a noisy backpackers hostel. Our corridor was really quiet, though I suppose the dorms corridor might be a bit more noisy at night at some times of year (though we went in October half term, still v quiet). Overall, cheap and nice. Great experience and we'll be back.

Room Tip: The private rooms are really nice, and come with an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 3 Little Pigs Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Little Pigs Hostel

Address: Stresemanstrasse 66, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 314 Specialty lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 3 Little Pigs Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Backpacker Youth Hostel in Berlin-Mitte, next to Potsdamer Platz. Located central at city centre, cheap and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your 3 Little Pigs Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Little Pigs Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 Little Pigs Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.