We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Holocaust Memorial - Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe
Near the Brandenburg Gate | Information Center: Cora-Berliner-Straße 1, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
49 30 26 39 43 36
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$14*
and up
Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour
Ranked #11 of 999 things to do in Berlin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Silence speaks volumes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was one of the points that the Sandemans tour of Berlin stops off at. Not far from Brandenburg gates but a little quiet & reflective place. Our own tour guide had said not to walk on top of them as a mark of respect. Please be respectful and dont walk on the monuments which really irritated me when I saw people doing it. if you wouldn't walk on someones grave then don't do it here. Even though it's open to interpretation what you think they are I still think it should be treated with respect and solemn consideration when there. Definitely worth going to see.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,520
    2,259
    650
    164
    97
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Allow plenty of time to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A harrowing place to visit, the stories of families being torn apart made it an emotional place. Well presented and thoughtfully laid out.
We were there for it opening and by the time we left (3 hours later) it was pretty busy. I had no idea there was so much to see downstairs. Allow plenty of time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must see. Make sure you have time to go underground to exhibition.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very striking memorial and interesting well presented stories underneath in exhibition. The stories are very moving.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allentown, pa
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Haunting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The 2711 concrete slabs are a haunting reminder of the past. Unfortunately, we were not able to go inside the museum because the waiting time was over 30 minutes, and it was a very hot and sunny day. I didn't expect to have to wait to get inside, not sure if there were alot of groups that day, or if that is normal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Emotive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We took the tube to go and see this and I'm really glad we managed to get there. It was very emotive and was somewhere I could have spent hours.

What I liked about it was that it isn't a sombre memorial, there are countless people and families, groups and couples all using the maze to have fun. It is a fantastic way to remember lost family and souls. You can find a quite space if you want to or you can have fun and enjoy the architecture.

A must see in Berlin

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Holocaust Memorial - Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe also viewed

 

Been to The Holocaust Memorial - Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holocaust Memorial - Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.