We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior service. Large clean room. Perfect location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel OTTO

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel OTTO to your Saves list
Hotel OTTO
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Knesebeckstrasse 10 | 10623 Berlin, 10623 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 668 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Stow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superior service. Large clean room. Perfect location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We also loved the snack bar which can be used free of charge for sweets, coffee, soft drinks, small sandwiches and fruit. This was very good for a late afternoon snack to keep you going until the evening meal. The staff was very helpful in planning details of the rest of our trip after leaving Berlin. This was important because there was flooding in areas where we planned to visit. Staff also gave helpful hints on which metro stations are easiest to navigate with luggage and where to buy train tickets. This hotel is also within very easy walking distance of some of the best restaurants in Berlin. All in all an excellent choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    241
    24
    9
    2
See reviews for
182
281
93
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apeldoorn
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Nice and spacy place with excellent service
The rooms are very spacious, with a walk-inn closet. Unfortunately there was no airco with a temp of 35 degrees.
The service was excellent. Fresh fruit, water, excellent breakfast. Till 9 pm you can acces the restaurant free of charge for fruit, snack, coffee and tea. And nice deck with view

Room Tip: No airco and no good acces for less mobile people. But service is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed for four nights at Hotel Otto. It was such a bargain for what you actually got. A clean tidy and beautifully designed hotel. Only stayed in the standard room but it was just what we needed as we were out sightseeing gorgeous Berlin everyday. Came back to a lovely clean room with brand new towels everyday.

The location is perfect. The U-bahn is right around the corner which is fast and efficient (thank you Germany! A three minute wait is the longest wait you'll have, trust me). The zoo is only one stop away. The road Hotel Otto is situated on has many restaurants (pasta & basta was really nice) and cafes to choose from. We went to both cafes on each corner of the hotel for breakfast which was cheap and tasty (so I can't comment on the hotel breakfast). At the bottom of the road is Savignyplatz for more bars and restaurants. The hotel offers free sandwiches, cakes and drinks on a afternoon (2pm-9pm) which was a nice touch and I enjoyed drinking tea on the rooftop balcony overlooking Berlin.

The only downside is the lack of aircon but they do offer a fan for your room instead. Which was fine with us. Additionally to compensate they provide bottles of water too. Overall it was a lovely experience and I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Good sized, clean and modern rooms in a great location!

The hotel is very close to both a U bahn (Ernst-Reuter-Platz) and S bahn (Savignyplatz). Within 5-10 minutes ride on either, you are right in the centre of Berlin. There is also a direct bus (x9) from Tegel airport that takes 20minutes and costs €2.40 one way, so much cheaper than getting a taxi. The buses pick up and drop off right outside the terminal door.

The hotel is located in a lovely neighbourhood with a good choice of restaurants and bars within walking distance.

The breakfast is expensive (€15 pp) but we found a great coffee shop less than a minute away which we visited each day (left out of the hotel and about 50 metres up the road on the left hand side). The hotel does, however, offer complementary afternoon tea and cake on the 7th floor from 2-9pm, which was great after a long day sightseeing!

We would definitely recommend this hotel to others, but it's not a fancy/romantic hotel, but perfect for a long weekend in a fascinating city steeped in history.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie O, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel OTTO, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for taking your time to review our Hotel.
Our breakfast buffet is offered each morning from 7 a.m. until 12 p.m. with a wide choice of delicacies:
Self-made jam, fresh fruits, self-made cakes, four kinds of yoghurts and curd cheese, a large range of sausages, ham and cheese, six kinds of juice, sparkling wine and constantly changing theme weeks, such as fruit week, Berliner week, asparagus week, etc.
Included in the price for breakfast is also a large selection of coffee specialities. People who prefer tea can help themselves at our large tea station with a generous choice of loose leaf tea.
The entire Hotel OTTO-Team is looking forward to your next stay with us and we are hoping to convince you of our breakfast next time.
Best wishes from Berlin
Annemarie Ohrt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Otto in March 2013 during ITB, only for one night. But this hotel has made more impact than other hotels we stayed in Berlin!

Breakfast with weekly theme of local speciality, and complimentary afternoon tea for guests with wide selections of sandwich, cakes, teas and coffee. The room was simple but tastefully decorated and very comfortable, and big plus for us was that they had fair trade chocolate, soaps and shampoo!

The staff are extremely helpful, my husband and I took our time for breakfast as the staff played and kept our baby boy busy, even received good recommendation to local organic restaurant. The last surprise was that they gave us a whole package of organic tea, when I asked where I could buy them in Berlin (was apparently only sold to businesses) so we are enjoying Hotel Otto tea even at home now.

We did enjoy every bit of the stay! The location is also nice, with small local shops and restaurants nearby, away from the busy big streets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Given the price we paid I was happy with this hotel it is more of an upmarket hostel as it doesn't have a bar or restaurant which I like to have if I'm in a hotel. The room's are modern and clean. I would of give this place 5 stars if they had of responded to my request of a higher floor and we did get some noise from the street being on the first floor. The rooftop area was nice but the cakes and coffee weren't great (yes I know they were free so I'm not marking it down) All in all good choice for a short sightseeing trip and the neighbourhood was so cute with loads of nice restaurants and bars but if you are looking to party your in the wrong part of town

Room Tip: I think we had the cheapest room so that meant first floor we were offered an upgrade at a price we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#8 of 668 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#5 of 668 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#1 of 668 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#22 of 668 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel OTTO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel OTTO

Address: Knesebeckstrasse 10 | 10623 Berlin, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#8 Business Hotel in Berlin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#16 Family Hotel in Berlin
#37 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel OTTO 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our privately run Hotel OTTO is only minutes away from the famous Kurfurstendamm. Surrounded by theatres, museums, restaurant, bars and boutiques it is the ideal starting point to explore Germany's pulsating capital. For short trips as well as business. 46 Rooms and studios offer you functional design and highest comfort. Greet the day in the breakfast lounge "Etage07" with an extraordinary view over the rooftops of Berlin. Our very favourite place: the sundeck! Our Hotel OTTO is only minutes away by taxi from the Berlin convention centre. The Undergound Station (Ernst-Reuter-Platz), the S-Bahn Station (Savignyplatz) and several busses are only minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel OTTO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otto Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel OTTO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.