We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very Stylish Hotel of Good Quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel OTTO

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel OTTO to your Saves list
Hotel OTTO
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Knesebeckstrasse 10 | 10623 Berlin, 10623 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, UK
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“A very Stylish Hotel of Good Quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

The Hotel Otto is rather stylish and looks like it was formerly an office rather than a hotel. It is located in a quite area although there are many good restaurants, of most nationalities, within walking distance. The hotel is about ten minutes walk from an S-Bahn station. This will get you to central Berlin within 15 minutes, without changing trains.

The reception desk staff all spoke excellent English and were very helpful with regards to directions, restaurant recommendations and travel queries. The lift (which had a recording of birds singing inside) served alternative floors so often left a short flight of stairs to negotiate which could be tricky with very heavy luggage.

Now let me say that I paid a very low rate for a ‘comfort’ double room (bigger than the standard rooms) which was like a mini-suite. I also got free breakfast every day (priced at $13 Euros per head) thanks to Tripadvisor.

The room was one of the biggest that I have had anywhere. It had a very large bed, with memory foam mattress, a walk in wardrobe-room and large bathroom (with wet-room shower). There was a Juliette balcony with full length opening patio-style door. The room was very stylish and very clean. There was a TV and digital safe. Unfortunately, there were no tea and coffee making facilities, or fridge, but free bottled mineral water was provided. There was also a powerful floor-fan. Free wi-fi was also provided.
It is important to note that I stayed in august during a very hot and humid spell. Fortunately my room was at the back of the hotel and out of the sun for much of the day, although it still got very hot. Air conditioning would have been a godsend. I really needed the fan and free water!

Breakfast was served in a room on the top floor of the hotel. It has a small balcony with some outside seating. Breakfast was buffet-style, but of very good quality. All German food is expensive, so I doubt if you could have saved much if you took breakfast outside of the hotel. Once again the room was in desperate need of Air-con and seemed to suffer from a plague of wasps. The breakfast staff were charming.

Tea and cakes are provided free each afternoon which is a nice touch although any self-respecting tourist would be pacing the streets of Berlin and would miss them. I was given free coffee when I arrived early to check in to my room (another nice touch).
The Hotel does not have a bar or restaurant as such.

Nearly all aspects of the hotel and it’s service were excellent, apart from the lack of Air-Con, fridge and a kettle. Of course if it was not the height of summer or you have a high tolerance to heat, these issues would not be a problem.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    220
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
151
247
91
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
178 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
315 helpful votes 315 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This pleasant hotel is in a quiet street of Charlottenburg, a few blocks from commercial KURFURSTENDAMM strasse , not far from transport hub ZOOLOGISHER GARTEN and midway (5 minutes of slow walk) to either beautiful SAVIGNY PLATZ S-Bahn station and soviet charming ERNST REUTER PLATZ U-bahn station. The comfort room we have costs 125 euros in mid august, room only, right from their website. We love this quiet place, we really do.

We like :
1 – Very spacious, plenty of room and smartly German arranged so you can store all your stuffs
2 – The softest bed and linen on earth, with a choice of pillows to be spoiled
3 – Polite and very helpful front desk with reliable and complimentary wifi
4 - The area is packed with restaurant and shops but still very quiet at any time if the day, near almost everything a simple traveler may need

We did not like :
1 – Room not dark enough when the sun is up and even curtains closed. Not really a problem.
2 – No kettle and too small safe box unsuitable to laptops

Tips :
1 – Taxi ride from TEGEL takes less than 30 minutes and costs less than 15
2 – To visit the Reichstag, go quickly reserve on their website, as there is no other way. Show up visit is not allowed anymore

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My daughter, my two grandsons and I stayed at the Hotel Otto for 3 nights in July 2011. We loved the hotel! I even received a room upgrade at no extra charge. The location was great, the breakfast was amazing. I would definitely stay here again. Wonderful hotel and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Great hotel, the 7th Floor terrace with a great choice of drinks, cakes and fresh fruit is lovely to go back to after touring Berlin. The position of the hotel is within a short distance of an S-bahn and a U-bahn station. We purchased a Welcome Card that enables you to use the trains whenever you want so we could return to the hotel for a break and go back out again whenever we wished to. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and friendly. After visiting other parts of the city I think the area is a good area to stay with a good selection of pavement style restaurants

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were traveling on a budget and we couldn't believe that Hotel Otto fit in our budget! we had a beautiful, modern room. We were on the first floor and unfortunatly it felt like we were right on the street, also there was no AC in the room so it made it very stuffy (if we opened the windows we'd be listening to everyone on the street all night.) Hotel Otto is in a high end, beautiful part of Berlin, close to the Ubahn and walking distance to major sites. Every afternoon you can enjoy the roof top of the hotel and have unlimited coffee, cakes and tea. A very nice touch!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I was in Berlin for four days and the Hotel Otto was a great place for a solo female traveler. The standard-sized room was a great size for me and the bathroom was lovely. The decor is very minimalist-modern. It was incredibly quiet even though it was on the first floor near the stairwell and elevator. The staff was friendly and super helpful, printing out directions and maps for me if I needed them. They sell public transportation tickets at the front desk which is more convenient than the Automat at the U-Bahn stations. The breakfast was absolutely lovely, and I even got it free with a voucher from Tripadvisor! Normally it's 13 euros (which is steep, but it's a really nice spread). The neighborhood is on the swankier side, with chic boutiques and restaurants. As a female I felt safe walking around the area. I would totally recommend this hotel for anyone traveling in Berlin, from solo travelers to couples. Oh, and free Wifi!! This is a huge perk in Europe, where free Wifi seems impossible to find.

Room Tip: The standard size worked fine for me since I was by myself; couples and families may want to get a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Hotel Otto is in walking distance of main streets and sightseeing buses, and is in a street with a range of restaurants. . Staff could not be more pleasant. Complimentary coffee and cake on the terrace overlooking the city is really added value. The elevator stops and floor don't align so some carrying of bags is necessary, but that is the only downside.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel OTTO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel OTTO

Address: Knesebeckstrasse 10 | 10623 Berlin, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#10 Family Hotel in Berlin
#10 Business Hotel in Berlin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#44 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel OTTO 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our privately run Hotel OTTO is only minutes away from the famous Kurfurstendamm. Surrounded by theatres, museums, restaurant, bars and boutiques it is the ideal starting point to explore Germany's pulsating capital. For short trips as well as business. 46 Rooms and studios offer you functional design and highest comfort. Greet the day in the breakfast lounge "Etage07" with an extraordinary view over the rooftops of Berlin. Our very favourite place: the sundeck! Our Hotel OTTO is only minutes away by taxi from the Berlin convention centre. The Undergound Station (Ernst-Reuter-Platz), the S-Bahn Station (Savignyplatz) and several busses are only minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel OTTO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otto Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel OTTO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.