We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar near Gendamarkt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newton Bar

Newton Bar
Charlottenstrasse 57 | Mitte, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
030 20 61 29 99
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 482 Nightlife in Berlin
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Attraction details
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great bar near Gendamarkt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We were staying nearby at the Hilton and this was the best bar around. Great selection of drinks, friendly staff an reasonable prices for cocktails.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    43
    17
    4
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the money...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Usually when i walk in a cocktail bar i ask for a cocktail that i make myself at home and it is my favourite but most of them, they say that they cannot do cocktails off menu. When i asked here they asked me for the recipe and not only they did for me they said that my "recipe" was very interesting and they will consider putting in menu. I was so glad for our choice being there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youghal, Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good bar for posh or wanna be's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice all around bar in a great location close to various hotels. Great choice of cocktails but a little overpriced. People drinking in the bar are usually ones that want to be seen and noticed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkeston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We visited this bar one tea time & straight away was disappointed with the reception from the bar staff, we probably don't fit their business person's demographic. The drinks were the most expensive we found in Berlin & served by an unsmiling barman, with a superiority complex. He was obviously finishing his shift, as he came round to collect monies from those he served, now he was chatty & smiley with the others as he was angling for a tip. We did not tip him as we were genuinely upset with the service, this did not stop him standing over us in the vain hope of getting one. The other staff were miserable looking too. A shame really as the decor in the bar was very unusual but appealing & it would be lovely to sit outside people watching in the summer.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
540 helpful votes 540 helpful votes
“Berlin Conference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We finished our Dinner at the Grand Hyatt Hotel and we asked the concierge to recommend a good local bar.He directed us to the Newton. We were not disappointed.The DJ liked British music and he played all our requests.The beer and cocktails flowed and we were made very welcome. We all had a great night.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newton Bar also viewed

 

Been to Newton Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newton Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.