We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Apartment for very affordable prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schoenhouse Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Schoenhouse Apartments to your Saves list
Schoenhouse Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Schoenhauser Allee 185, 10119 Berlin, Germany (Prenzlauer Berg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartment for very affordable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in this apartment for a few days in Sept - there were 6 of us, 4 adults and 2 toddlers. Brilliant location, 10 mins walk from Alexanderplatz and a few mins walk from the U-bahn. We went to the Hofbrahaus in Berlin, which is about a 10 min walk away and after a big meal and steins of beer, walked home. The apartment itself is nice, modern, clean and the kitchen was completely stocked with pots, pans, cutlery & crockery. the apartment we stayed in was off the side street and although it was on the ground floor, it was really quiet in the nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    131
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
132
92
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

What a shame that this well-priced home from home right in the centre of Mitte doesn't allow its guests to check in before 3pm. We were already half way through our city break weekend before we were able to unpack, although we could store our bags safely on arrival. The second pain was having to get the hotel bikes back by 3.30 on the Sunday as they close early! Most of its guests would, like us, have been going back on an easyjet flight at around 9pm, which meant lugging our bags around for another 3 hours before heading to the airport. Nice as the rooms and the courtyard are, we'll go for a proper hotel next time.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlooking the courtyard are fine but you want more for your 99e.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrin L, Manager at Schoenhouse Apartments, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Gilly,

we are very sorry for the inconvenience you had.
The reception close at 4 p.m. on the weekend. Therefore we can´t store the luggage after 4 p.m.on Saturday and Sunday. But we always try to improve our services and we will think about the possibility to change our business-hours.
Once again please excuse this circumstance.

Best regards,
Katrin Lüders
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

On our day of arrival, we could not get into the room until 3.30pm. That is unacceptable.
The reception closed at 4pm which meant that we could not leave the area to explore the city and had to rush back to the apartments to collect our key before the receptionist left.
On our day of departure, we had to leave our room at 11am. That meant we had our room for less than 24 hours.
In addition, we could not leave our bags there and so had to carry them round with us. Again, this was not very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

You´ll like this hotel as my family liked. Everything works and the price is fair. A huge room with kitchen. A few steps from metro, supermarket, laundry, Museum Island. For those who like the nightlife no problem - nice places near too. I do recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you are looking for an apartment in a citycenter and near to Public transports and main city attractions including the peaceful and lively stay, Schoenhouse is the complete package.
If you are lucky and get a chance to stay within their hotel building, ambience and facilities are very good. Although, apartments acquired by them are maintained nicely and perfectly suitable to make you comfortable. Best thing is you are staying very near to Alexanderplatz (one stop from Rosa Luxembourg) where you can find Berlin TV Tower, Base jumping at Park inn, KFC and many other attraction points.

Apartment had a very nice kitchen with all important utensils, oven, fridge and rooms with wireless internet, TV etc.

I am sure once you live there you wish to have apartment like that.

Room Tip: I found apartments very nice but I am not sure of rooms within Schoenhouse building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Québec
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed 5 days at the Schoenhousen apartment in May 2012. The location is excellent, just next to the subway. There are good restaurants and groceries close by. The decoration and furniture are Ikea-zen style, but that is OK with us. They have a safe system for recuperating the key after business hours in case of late arrival. The apartment is at a walking distance from Alexander Platz and the Museum Island. We would return any time!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere on the gulf
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were pleased to find ourselves in such a lively funky neighbourhood -- between Mitte and Prenzlauer Berg. We could walk out and explore by foot, or use the Rosa Luxembourg U-Bahn station, a few minutes away, for treks further afield. Alexanderplatz was close by and since we had a small kitchen, we took advantage of the food court at the Galleria dept. store on Alexanderplatz for great take-out food, wine and beer. The balcony made for pleasant outdoor dining. And if you are in the area on Saturday, there is a lively market on Kathe Kollowitzstrasse, just a few minutes walk.

Unfortunately, we arrived during a hot time of year, and there is no air-conditioning. We had only one fan for two bedrooms, so sleeping was difficult. Several of our nights were aggravated by the noise coming from the White Trash Fast Food club across the street. But this would hardly be a concern at a cooler time of year.

Another problem was the internet connection which did not work well in our particular unit, a brand new one. We occasionally had to use the internet café a few doors down the street--which was annoying. We had some minor work matters to tend to, and had counted on having internet access.

Also, there is no elevator, so we were lucky that staff carried our suitcases up to the top floor of the five-story building where we stayed. It's a trek going up and down, so if someone in your party is old or disabled, this could present a problem.

The bathroom is spacious with a lovely skylight. When we were there, they did not have a shower curtain or barrier to keep water from flooding the floor during a shower, but that's a minor problem that I'm sure will be fixed soon, if it hasn't already.

Staff were helpful in supplying an iron when needed, and they will also do process laundry for you, by the load--very handy if you stay for a week or longer. The dry-cleaner next door is handy, but expensive.

In conclusion, if you arrive during a cooler time of year when the temperature is below 28 degrees C.; and if you do not need an internet connection; and you're okay with climbing up four long flights of stairs, then this apartment is quite wonderful.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, request a room away from the street and the noise that comes from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schoenhouse Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoenhouse Apartments

Address: Schoenhauser Allee 185, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Schoenhouse Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like having a cup of coffee whenever you like? Want to work in privacy?Fancy having dinner without dressing up? Would you prefer havingyour own home away from home rather than justanother anonymous hotel room?The SCHOENHOUSE APARTMENTS offer lots of space and all expectedamenities in an attractive atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Schoenhouse Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoenhouse Apartments Berlin
Schoenhouse Apartments Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schoenhouse Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.