We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but expensive...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Rome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Rome to your Saves list
Hotel de Rome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Behrenstrasse 37, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 666 Hotels in Berlin
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent but expensive...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The service is very good, the room was luxurious, bathroom was BIG with a shower so large you could lay down in there AND a bathtub. You can take the elevator directly to the spa and pool area. The pool is actually nice for a good excercise! The steam room; I didn`t like - it`s like many spa in Berlin for both women and men in the same room. The bar is a large plus. Elegant and they make really nice cocktails - and a killer Club Sandwich!! The breakfast was lovely but dinner I found was not value for money. Better to go outside and find a nice restaurant where locals go. Also try Newton bar two blocks away from the hotel. I loved staying at this hotel, but the price could be better. Think it`s the only hotel in Berlin that doesn`t ever have an special offer. The hotel is part of the Rocco Forte hotel chain. This is the second one of them I`ve stayed at and it`s all in all been a very nice stay. Minus for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear 839Natalie,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences here on TripAdvisor. I am very glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in near future.

Best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    108
    20
    10
    1
See reviews for
61
196
37
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My usual Berlin abode - the Hilton in the Gendarmenmarkt - was booked forcing me to forage for another hotel. I wanted to be in the same area - close to Unter Den Linden and the Brandenburg Gate. My travel consultant suggested the Hotel de Rome and at first I was concerned - not close enough and next door to the Deustche Oper which is undergoing a huge renovation (noise and dust). But I did make the reservation and very glad I did. The property (part of the Rocco Forte group) is impeccably maintained, decorated in a style that is modern and clean but far from sterile and cold. The rooms themselves are good sized and have very high ceilings. Everything works and is laid out logically. (History - the building used to be a bank and the conversion was completed two years ago.) The bathrooms have tub and separate shower and enough counter space (a major failing of many hotels). The staff is warm and polite to a fault - I asked for a late check-out. Usually I get a cringe and a refusal. From the de Rome, it was "of course, sir - how late do you want to stay?" After departure, I received a thank-you email. Class Act. Oh, the proximity to the Brandenburg Gate thing? Still pretty close - 15 minutes walk. Deustche Oper under renovation? Never would have known it was happening if I had not stepped outside.

Room Tip: I think they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear John K,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your first stay at Hotel de Rome. It was a pleasure to read about your comments here on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to perceive, that overall you enjoyed your stay and considered our staff warm and polite and the property in the sense of style modern and claen.

We really look forward welcoming you back to Berlin and perhaps back to the Hotel de Rome!

Kind regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager


I do hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is probably one of my favourite hotels in the world. From the stunning location (viewing distance of the book burning memorial) to the dramatic building and the classy decoration accompanied with exquisite attention to detail from all staff members - the Hotel de Rome offers an unequivocal hotel experience. The grand doors leading to the entrance hall with a stunning chandelier let you know you are in one classy establishment. Our family was actually upgraded to a suite which was suitably stylish while keeping in touch with grandeur. The services including the gym and pool were excellent and the food was outstanding. With a huge range of breakfast items on offer and a delicious dinner menu the Hotel de Rome definitely ticked all the boxes. Thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear hannahrose44,

Thank you very much for your recommendation and your kind comments on TripAdvisor which have been gratefully received.

I am delighted to read, that overall you enjoyed your stay with your family at Hotel de Rome considered our staff friendly and efficient and our services to be excellent.

We look forward welcoming you soon back to Berlin!

Regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel is recently renovated in an old bank in central Berlin, a typical Rocco Forte establishment, great spa, everthing works and comfortable. If you want to stay at a nice central Berlin Hotel this would be a good otpion.

My only gripe was housekeeping, nosy and somewhat intrusive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Howard H,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel here on TripAdvisor. I very much hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in near future.

Best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a renovated 5 star Grand Hotel in the old tradition, in an excellent location, with a sensational breakfast, large rooms, well trained staff, a spacious gym with weights and a 20 meter lap pool for those who like to swim. I stayed with 2 daughters aged 16 and12 and they were well looked after. A true Leading Hotel of the World

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear FamilyS27,

First of all we hope you and your doughters had a save journey back home. Thank you very much for your kind and detailed comment on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay at Hotel de Rome and considered the staff to be well trained and the gym to be spacious.

We do hope to welcome you and your family again at Hotel de Rome.

Best regrads,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Discretely located just behind the famous StadtOpera (under extensive reconstruction) and next to the Catholic Cathedral, and stones throw from The Museum Island and The Berliner Dom. This hotel caters to many well known personalities and the Corps Diplomatic, . I personally do not like the somber rooms and corridors in a specific and distinctive modern style. The service is outstanding and the top floor bar is simply a gorgeous spot to enjoy and expensive drink.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Geomeller,

Thank you very much for taking the time to discribe Hotel the Rome and it surroundings. We do hope to welcome you again this summer at our lovley rooftop terrace to spend an evening.

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

In the former Dresner bank, sleeping in the former offices of the directors wirh high ceilings is an experience in itself. Staff is very serviced minded but luckely not into your face; call it professional friendliness with a personal touch!!

Had breakfast, lunch and diner. It is fine but not surprisingly of taste. Wines were better! Coffee was excellent.

Swimmingpool is 20m on a 3 meter wide spot. So if you want to do your laps make it 50 and be earlier so you do not have to share the lane with someone else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Marc V,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments here on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay at Hotel de Rome and considered the staff to be very service orientated and friendly. Thank you very much for this observation!

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel de Rome.

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Rome

Address: Behrenstrasse 37, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Berlin
#4 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#13 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Rome is located on Bebelplatz, off Unter den Linden. It is a conversion of an existing building constructed in 1889 by architect Ludwig Heim (appointed master builder of the government), which housed the head office of Dresdner Bank until 1945. This is one of the few luxury hotels in Berlin located in an original building making use of its full architectural splendour and thereby offering guests an authentic Berlin experience.The ornate and classical design of the original building has been given a contemporary twist by designer Tommaso Ziffer, who also designed the Hotel de Russie in Rome. Tommaso Ziffer has been assisted by architects Aukett + Heese with Olga Polizzi and her design team at Rocco Forte Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel de Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rome Hotel
De Rome Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.