We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Rome

Save Saved
You added Hotel de Rome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de Rome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Behrenstrasse 37, 10117 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Offer Inc Brkfst
Ranked #4 of 665 hotels in Berlin
westchester county, ny
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Not too big.not too small...concierge service is impeccable!!!! Staff is super friendly and helpful.. Hotel common spaces are fun, not stuffy, rooms are modern yet warm and inviting. Perfect location to all sights. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Top floors are exceptionally quiet. Great bar!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, PA to GM at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear 24yaya,

Thank you very much for your kind comments! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel de Rome! It is also a pleasure to read that you loved our concierge team and the other members of our staff and consider the hotel to be excellent...

It is true we are located in a fabulous place in Berlin. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Best regards from Berlin,

The Hotel de Rome Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    85
    16
    9
    1
See reviews for
44
148
35
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Did not sleep here, but enjoyed drinks at the bar and went for a great high-tea the next day. Grandeur is the right word, but still intimate. Luxurious, stylish, great atmosphere. Fantastic central location. Visit the strongroom in the Spa!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, Executive Office at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Diederick_G,

vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback auf Tripadvisor und dafür dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, Ihre Eindrücke öffentlich kundzugeben.

Wir freuen uns sehr, dass Ihnen unsere Bebel Bar und das Hotel de Rome gefallen haben, und freuen uns schon heute, Sie bald wieder bei uns willkommen heissen zu dürfen.

Herzliche Grüße aus dem Bebelplatz,
Hotel de Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

You cannot get much better than this stunning hotel in the centre of historic Berlin. It is luxurious, elegant, spacious. The service is warm and attentive, the staff well informed and discreet. Breakfast is a delicious spread of homemade breads, cheeses, hams, homemade jams, excellent capuccino, fruit juices and smoothies. The fresh scrambled eggs with smoked salmon is particularly good. We had room 308 which has a great view over the Humboldt University square across to Museum Island, with the quirky Soviet TV tower in the distance. The top shopping street of Friedrichstrasse is five minutes walk and the funky new area of Hackescher Markt ten minutes. We will definitely go again.

Room Tip: 308 for historic city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, Executive Office at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear James B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Hotel de Rome.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time in Berlin and that you have been pleased with our service and facilities, especially with our staff and the breakfast.

We look forward welcoming you soon back to Berlin and remain at your full disposal for anything you may require.

Kind regards,
Hotel de Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have stayed in many of the best hotels in Berlin but nothing matches the Hotel de Rome. Great service, comfortable rooms, nice bar and very good restaurant. If you include the wonderful location, it is hard to come up with a better alternative. The Adlon is showing its age and it is frightfully expensive for even the smallest request. The Regent has a fine location and super restaurant but is also a bit tired after a decade plus in service. All in all, I would opt for the Hotel de Rome if you want a luxury hotel with high end amenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, Executive Office at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear RCK52,

Thank you very much for considering Hotel de Rome for your recent stay in Berlin. We hope you had a safe trip back home.

Your nice comments have been much appreciated and we are delighted to read about your great satisfaction about Hotel de Rome services and facilities.

We very much look forward welcoming you back to Berlin in the not too distant future and remain at your full diposal for anything you may require.

Best regards from Bebelplatz,
Hotel de Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

If you're thinking of staying here, don't hesitate! The hotel was an old bank building, turned into a hotel. The location is fabulous - just a 5 minute walk from museum island, in the heart of Berlin. Our room was beautiful - spacious, modern, yet very comfortable. The bathroom was great, soaking tub, large shower,wonderful.

The hotel is definitely happening and lively at night, and very quiet during the day. The staff is amazingly well trained. We will definitely stay at the Hotel de Rome on our next visit Berlin! The attention to details is fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, Executive Office at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Joshmom,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your excellent experiences at Hotel de Rome.

We are delighted to read that you had a good time in Berlin and that you enjoyed our services and facilities.

We look forward welcoming you soon again at Hotel de Rome and remain at your full disposal for anything you may require in the future.

With best regards,
Hotel de Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The staff were fantastic and Concierge went out of their way to help with directions, umbrellas, hotel bikes and taxis - while throwing in some typical Berliner dry humour. The room was superbly comfortable, the food was delicious, and it was easy to doze off on a lounge by the underground pool. And yes, it was a good location - and possibly a wonderful reason for first-timers to Berlin. These were the best attributes about the hotel. Design-wise, I found the hotel somewhat impersonal. I could've been anywhere in the world. The rooftop bar was windy (at the time) and seemed barren and vulnerable to the elements. The outdoor patio of the restaurant was, however, the only place with some 'warmth', fenced with flowers. I lived and worked in Berlin for a year and returned a couple of times so I know the city quite well and for some reason, this hotel does not capture the essence of Berlin's charm. No character. No soul. Well, it was formerly a bank. My friend was a first-timer to Berlin and had none of this experience to compare it too and loved the hotel, loved the location and the place. But for me, I would've found something else. If you do stay at the Hotel de Rome, ensure you rent a hotel bike and ride down the Under den Linden and cruise through the glorious sun-dappled Tiergarten. At least that way you will capture some of Berlin's beauty and soul as a guest of the Hotel de Rome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, Executive Office at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Carolineeeeee,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write so extensively about your stay at Hotel de Rome.

We are delighted to read about your satisfaction; in special with our service, our staff and with our concierge team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again Hotel de Rome and remain at your full disposal for anything you may require.

Best regards from Berlin,
Hotel de Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Couldn't be happier with my stay at Hotel de Rome. The location was perfect because you could walk everywhere from the hotel. Rooms are beautifully decorated in hushed tones of grey with great views of historic buildings adjacent to the hotel. They have a lavish spread for breakfast and fab spa at the lower level perfect for unwinding at the end of the day and Katja the concierge is amazing!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, Executive Office at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear RafeNewYork,

We hope you had a safe trip back home!

We are delighted to read that you have been pleased with our services and facilities and thank you for highlighting our concierge Katja.

We look forward welcoming you again to Hotel de Rome and remain

with kind regards,
Hotel de Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Rome

Address: Behrenstrasse 37, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#10 Business Hotel in Berlin
#11 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Rome 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Rome is located on Bebelplatz, off Unter den Linden. It is a conversion of an existing building constructed in 1889 by architect Ludwig Heim (appointed master builder of the government), which housed the head office of Dresdner Bank until 1945. This is one of the few luxury hotels in Berlin located in an original building making use of its full architectural splendour and thereby offering guests an authentic Berlin experience.The ornate and classical design of the original building has been given a contemporary twist by designer Tommaso Ziffer, who also designed the Hotel de Russie in Rome. Tommaso Ziffer has been assisted by architects Aukett + Heese with Olga Polizzi and her design team at Rocco Forte Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rome Hotel
De Rome Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.