We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Rome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Rome to your Saves list
Hotel de Rome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Behrenstrasse 37, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 666 Hotels in Berlin
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Super!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Did not sleep here, but enjoyed drinks at the bar and went for a great high-tea the next day. Grandeur is the right word, but still intimate. Luxurious, stylish, great atmosphere. Fantastic central location. Visit the strongroom in the Spa!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, Executive Office at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Diederick_G,

vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback auf Tripadvisor und dafür dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, Ihre Eindrücke öffentlich kundzugeben.

Wir freuen uns sehr, dass Ihnen unsere Bebel Bar und das Hotel de Rome gefallen haben, und freuen uns schon heute, Sie bald wieder bei uns willkommen heissen zu dürfen.

Herzliche Grüße aus dem Bebelplatz,
Hotel de Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    112
    20
    11
    1
See reviews for
65
201
38
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

You cannot get much better than this stunning hotel in the centre of historic Berlin. It is luxurious, elegant, spacious. The service is warm and attentive, the staff well informed and discreet. Breakfast is a delicious spread of homemade breads, cheeses, hams, homemade jams, excellent capuccino, fruit juices and smoothies. The fresh scrambled eggs with smoked salmon is particularly good. We had room 308 which has a great view over the Humboldt University square across to Museum Island, with the quirky Soviet TV tower in the distance. The top shopping street of Friedrichstrasse is five minutes walk and the funky new area of Hackescher Markt ten minutes. We will definitely go again.

Room Tip: 308 for historic city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, Executive Office at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear James B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Hotel de Rome.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time in Berlin and that you have been pleased with our service and facilities, especially with our staff and the breakfast.

We look forward welcoming you soon back to Berlin and remain at your full disposal for anything you may require.

Kind regards,
Hotel de Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have stayed in many of the best hotels in Berlin but nothing matches the Hotel de Rome. Great service, comfortable rooms, nice bar and very good restaurant. If you include the wonderful location, it is hard to come up with a better alternative. The Adlon is showing its age and it is frightfully expensive for even the smallest request. The Regent has a fine location and super restaurant but is also a bit tired after a decade plus in service. All in all, I would opt for the Hotel de Rome if you want a luxury hotel with high end amenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, Executive Office at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear RCK52,

Thank you very much for considering Hotel de Rome for your recent stay in Berlin. We hope you had a safe trip back home.

Your nice comments have been much appreciated and we are delighted to read about your great satisfaction about Hotel de Rome services and facilities.

We very much look forward welcoming you back to Berlin in the not too distant future and remain at your full diposal for anything you may require.

Best regards from Bebelplatz,
Hotel de Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

If you're thinking of staying here, don't hesitate! The hotel was an old bank building, turned into a hotel. The location is fabulous - just a 5 minute walk from museum island, in the heart of Berlin. Our room was beautiful - spacious, modern, yet very comfortable. The bathroom was great, soaking tub, large shower,wonderful.

The hotel is definitely happening and lively at night, and very quiet during the day. The staff is amazingly well trained. We will definitely stay at the Hotel de Rome on our next visit Berlin! The attention to details is fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, Executive Office at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Joshmom,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your excellent experiences at Hotel de Rome.

We are delighted to read that you had a good time in Berlin and that you enjoyed our services and facilities.

We look forward welcoming you soon again at Hotel de Rome and remain at your full disposal for anything you may require in the future.

With best regards,
Hotel de Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The staff were fantastic and Concierge went out of their way to help with directions, umbrellas, hotel bikes and taxis - while throwing in some typical Berliner dry humour. The room was superbly comfortable, the food was delicious, and it was easy to doze off on a lounge by the underground pool. And yes, it was a good location - and possibly a wonderful reason for first-timers to Berlin. These were the best attributes about the hotel. Design-wise, I found the hotel somewhat impersonal. I could've been anywhere in the world. The rooftop bar was windy (at the time) and seemed barren and vulnerable to the elements. The outdoor patio of the restaurant was, however, the only place with some 'warmth', fenced with flowers. I lived and worked in Berlin for a year and returned a couple of times so I know the city quite well and for some reason, this hotel does not capture the essence of Berlin's charm. No character. No soul. Well, it was formerly a bank. My friend was a first-timer to Berlin and had none of this experience to compare it too and loved the hotel, loved the location and the place. But for me, I would've found something else. If you do stay at the Hotel de Rome, ensure you rent a hotel bike and ride down the Under den Linden and cruise through the glorious sun-dappled Tiergarten. At least that way you will capture some of Berlin's beauty and soul as a guest of the Hotel de Rome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, Executive Office at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Carolineeeeee,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write so extensively about your stay at Hotel de Rome.

We are delighted to read about your satisfaction; in special with our service, our staff and with our concierge team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again Hotel de Rome and remain at your full disposal for anything you may require.

Best regards from Berlin,
Hotel de Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Couldn't be happier with my stay at Hotel de Rome. The location was perfect because you could walk everywhere from the hotel. Rooms are beautifully decorated in hushed tones of grey with great views of historic buildings adjacent to the hotel. They have a lavish spread for breakfast and fab spa at the lower level perfect for unwinding at the end of the day and Katja the concierge is amazing!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, Executive Office at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear RafeNewYork,

We hope you had a safe trip back home!

We are delighted to read that you have been pleased with our services and facilities and thank you for highlighting our concierge Katja.

We look forward welcoming you again to Hotel de Rome and remain

with kind regards,
Hotel de Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights at the end of September. The Hotel is lovely and located close to many sights and museums. Service was very efficient and the concierge was extremely helpful with restaurants and train tickets. My room was clean and spacious. Make certain to try the upstairs rooftop bar. Views are stunning. My only gripe is the charge for internet. More and more hotels are including complementary internet and I really resent paying for it when rooms are costly. Overall I would stay here again without question.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the plaza in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel de Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Rome

Address: Behrenstrasse 37, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Berlin
#4 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#19 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Rome is located on Bebelplatz, off Unter den Linden. It is a conversion of an existing building constructed in 1889 by architect Ludwig Heim (appointed master builder of the government), which housed the head office of Dresdner Bank until 1945. This is one of the few luxury hotels in Berlin located in an original building making use of its full architectural splendour and thereby offering guests an authentic Berlin experience.The ornate and classical design of the original building has been given a contemporary twist by designer Tommaso Ziffer, who also designed the Hotel de Russie in Rome. Tommaso Ziffer has been assisted by architects Aukett + Heese with Olga Polizzi and her design team at Rocco Forte Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Splendia, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel de Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rome Hotel
De Rome Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.