We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Rome

Save Saved
You added Hotel de Rome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Rome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Behrenstrasse 37, 10117 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 664 Hotels in Berlin
Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

If you're thinking of staying here, don't hesitate! The hotel was an old bank building, turned into a hotel. The location is fabulous - just a 5 minute walk from museum island, in the heart of Berlin. Our room was beautiful - spacious, modern, yet very comfortable. The bathroom was great, soaking tub, large shower,wonderful.

The hotel is definitely happening and lively at night, and very quiet during the day. The staff is amazingly well trained. We will definitely stay at the Hotel de Rome on our next visit Berlin! The attention to details is fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, Executive Office at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Joshmom,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your excellent experiences at Hotel de Rome.

We are delighted to read that you had a good time in Berlin and that you enjoyed our services and facilities.

We look forward welcoming you soon again at Hotel de Rome and remain at your full disposal for anything you may require in the future.

With best regards,
Hotel de Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    87
    17
    9
    1
See reviews for
47
161
36
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The staff were fantastic and Concierge went out of their way to help with directions, umbrellas, hotel bikes and taxis - while throwing in some typical Berliner dry humour. The room was superbly comfortable, the food was delicious, and it was easy to doze off on a lounge by the underground pool. And yes, it was a good location - and possibly a wonderful reason for first-timers to Berlin. These were the best attributes about the hotel. Design-wise, I found the hotel somewhat impersonal. I could've been anywhere in the world. The rooftop bar was windy (at the time) and seemed barren and vulnerable to the elements. The outdoor patio of the restaurant was, however, the only place with some 'warmth', fenced with flowers. I lived and worked in Berlin for a year and returned a couple of times so I know the city quite well and for some reason, this hotel does not capture the essence of Berlin's charm. No character. No soul. Well, it was formerly a bank. My friend was a first-timer to Berlin and had none of this experience to compare it too and loved the hotel, loved the location and the place. But for me, I would've found something else. If you do stay at the Hotel de Rome, ensure you rent a hotel bike and ride down the Under den Linden and cruise through the glorious sun-dappled Tiergarten. At least that way you will capture some of Berlin's beauty and soul as a guest of the Hotel de Rome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, Executive Office at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Carolineeeeee,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write so extensively about your stay at Hotel de Rome.

We are delighted to read about your satisfaction; in special with our service, our staff and with our concierge team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again Hotel de Rome and remain at your full disposal for anything you may require.

Best regards from Berlin,
Hotel de Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Couldn't be happier with my stay at Hotel de Rome. The location was perfect because you could walk everywhere from the hotel. Rooms are beautifully decorated in hushed tones of grey with great views of historic buildings adjacent to the hotel. They have a lavish spread for breakfast and fab spa at the lower level perfect for unwinding at the end of the day and Katja the concierge is amazing!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, Executive Office at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear RafeNewYork,

We hope you had a safe trip back home!

We are delighted to read that you have been pleased with our services and facilities and thank you for highlighting our concierge Katja.

We look forward welcoming you again to Hotel de Rome and remain

with kind regards,
Hotel de Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights at the end of September. The Hotel is lovely and located close to many sights and museums. Service was very efficient and the concierge was extremely helpful with restaurants and train tickets. My room was clean and spacious. Make certain to try the upstairs rooftop bar. Views are stunning. My only gripe is the charge for internet. More and more hotels are including complementary internet and I really resent paying for it when rooms are costly. Overall I would stay here again without question.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the plaza in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Beautiful hotel, huge bedrooms and a stunning banqueting hall, modern but with lots of the traditional features of the old building. Fabulous roof top terrace. Good gym by European standards and a very nice pool too. The service was great, food lovely, room decor fresh and classy. My only criticism is that I think they only seem to have one Doorman on duty at a time so at busy times we were ignored...

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Magnificent entrance lobby, but generally not my cup of tea. Very pompous buidling, but rooms are dark and the hotel makes a generally very unpersonal impression. Staff are not too friendly, food is nothing special. Not really a business hotel, even though they try to cater for business functions too. Just a bit too pretentious for my taste.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coffs harbour Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent 3 great nights in Berlin in Mid September 2012 on holidays with a group of friends. The hotel was fantastic - central location, short walk to Brandenburg gate and Museum Island and city shops, restaurants. The rooms were fantastic - King Size beds , huge bedroom, seperate bathroom with bath and seperate shower/heated floor, high ceilings,walk in double wardrobe.The staff (in fact everything) were 5 star, from doormen,porters, reception staff and housekeeping and the concierge was exceptional. We had breakfast , lunch and a dinner (3 different days) at the hotel restaurant and this was terrific as well. The roof top bar is also worth a visit on a sunny afternoon - a beautiful terrace to share a drink and view of the city. I would highly recommend this hotel. We stayed at a range of hotels on our 3 week tour of Europe and this was in a league of its own. We could not find anything that we would suggest to improve - our only tip is book in advance and you will find rates that make this hotel a bargain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Rome

Address: Behrenstrasse 37, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#13 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Rome 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Rome is located on Bebelplatz, off Unter den Linden. It is a conversion of an existing building constructed in 1889 by architect Ludwig Heim (appointed master builder of the government), which housed the head office of Dresdner Bank until 1945. This is one of the few luxury hotels in Berlin located in an original building making use of its full architectural splendour and thereby offering guests an authentic Berlin experience.The ornate and classical design of the original building has been given a contemporary twist by designer Tommaso Ziffer, who also designed the Hotel de Russie in Rome. Tommaso Ziffer has been assisted by architects Aukett + Heese with Olga Polizzi and her design team at Rocco Forte Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rome Hotel
De Rome Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.