We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little odd but transport is easy!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adele Designhotel Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adele Designhotel Berlin to your Saves list
Adele Designhotel Berlin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Greifswalder Strasse 227, 10405 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #407 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little odd but transport is easy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Although the location is a little stark, this is an interesting area in former East Berlin and closer to everywhere than you might think. The hotel is opposite a tram line which is a bonus not a disadvantage as access to everywhere is easy and it's a quick hop into the centre of Berlin.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the room was clean and contemporary. We booked a 3 bed family room as our 19 year old daughter was travelling with us and 2 rooms in any city is an expensive option! We've done this before in other cities but this layout was a little strange as the shower is open plan, between the bedroom and sitting area - just obscure glass separating you from the rest of your family. Not ideal and not really appropriate in a family room. The loo was a little cupboard next to the wardrobe so not as private as it could have been.
Our room was accessible from the street so we could come and go as we pleased which was helpful as the hotel is not open in the evening - a real shame as it would have been nice to pop into the bar in the evening. There is a number to call if you need assistance outside of opening hours.
Although not as expensive as the larger hotels, this wasn't cheap either and we feel we paid a little more than the hotel facilities deserved.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
5
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my 2 teeagers in a 3 person room. A lot of space, nice design decoration, entrance to the room directly from the quiet side street (not through lobby). Excellent breakfast. Free wifi. Near to many nice neighbourhood restaurants but a bit far by foot from the main sightseeing areas.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have two rooms, are ok, nicely decorated, not much storage space, small tv's.
There is no lobby, free wifi, owner take care of everything. Breakfast included, ok. I would come back, it is a good deal overall.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We came to Berlin for the florence +machine concert and decided to make it girls weekend
- the hotel is located in prenzlauerberg, a hip neighbourhood of berlin, but is located about 10-15 minutes walk form a u-bahn station. But it is a nice and peaceful neighborhood. And it's a nice place to explore and Berlin isn't that big so it's not that big of a deal.
- we had a seperate appartment for 3 which was located outside the hotel and had a bit of strange design, the shower was in the living room and there were no doors. If you're travelling with colleagues this would be embarassing, but for us it was fine. The hotel owners are very friendly and helpful.
- great breakfast !
- nice restaurants and bars in the proximity.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We recently stayed at the Adele Hotel in Berlin. If you worry about the location then lets be clear - you are in the former east - on the Prenzlauer Berg - which is now one of the most sought after areas of Belin. Just around the corner is the Kollwitz Platz which is an area of excellent and colourful Restaurants and Bars (the place that Clinton and Schroeder went to...). Its not fancy and posh - but full of character and charm. Around the corner you will find lots of boutiques and small independent shops - its not the bland and dull Armani and Gucci and H&M you will find on every street in every city in uniformed and predictable ways - but instead its small places which offer unique clothing, furniture and art works. If you want to stock up on some D&G clothing or Prada shoes then go to Kurfürstendamm - if you want small boutiques then you are in the best spot!
The Hotel itself - very big rooms, stylish and modern. very clean, LOVED the bed and slept like a stone. The staff were EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. They called us at 1230 (breakfast is till 11 I think) and asked if we still wanted to come for some food - which we did and they kept everything out for us - no fuss - easy, relaxed. Its got the feel of a family run place - not the corporate sleek. If you like that sort of thing you will love the hotel no doubt. AND lets not forget - the place is super cheap on top of all of that. You will find decor that is more authentic and a touch more trendy - and you will pay around double of tripple for the room. Really loved it and felt comelled to leave my first review to share that.

Room Tip: If you take the cheapest rooms you are facing the road which is busy during the week but very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Expensive, not well located and with a bad service.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Adele over a 3 day period spanning a weekend. Overall I left with mixed feelings. It would be a decent hotel for some but probably not all tourists. Probably not a good choice for business people unless working nearby.

Adele is in the Prenz lauerberg section of Mitte in Berlin. I read the website and expected Adele to be small but somewhat buzzy hotel with personality. In reality it was a struggling place and a bit out of the way. Not necessarily the most convenient or pretty section of Pren Lauerberg either. It's on a main road with some amount of car traffic. So one had to take a taxi or 5 minute tram ride or 10 minute walk down to Alexanderplatz for main transportation and shopping.

The hotel advertised that it had a bar and cafe downstairs with live entertainment on weekends. However on arriving the receptionist told me that they cafe and bar were closed at nights because business was poor. You could get breakfast still but no evening or weekend entertainment. The hotel reception was closed at night, so I was given a key and I suppose good luck if I ran into trouble at night.

The room was decent, newly decorated with a modern shower and toilet. It overflowed on the first day, but in all fairness they fixed it the same day, which probably wasnt easy on a weekend in small scale hotel with little staff.

The hotel had pretty steep stairs to the second floor where most of the rooms were, and no elevator. So not recommended for the aged or infirm, or those with kids or heavy shopping, heavy luggage etc,

The receptionist was quite nice, but if you needed something after about 4pm or so the reception was closed and lined forwarded to a live 3rd party answering service. Which wasnt the greatest.

Despite all these little hassles, the Adele wasnt really cheap. I ended up paying the same price that I had on a previous trip at at the admittedly soul-less, but rather much more convenient Park Inn hotel right in Alexanderplatz or say the Circus Inn further up in the other side of Mitte.

I dont mind paying a bit more for the personal touch, but at Hotel Adele it felt like that touch was lacking, despite the small size. Given some of the small disadvantages they have, its hard to see the real value in this hotel. It has some potential, but it will require more hands on and more drive from the owners for this own to be a place that I would recommend to anyone who didnt have a burning need to be in this exact spot in Prenz lauerberg,

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adele Designhotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adele Designhotel Berlin

Address: Greifswalder Strasse 227, 10405 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #407 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Adele Designhotel Berlin 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're warmly welcome: Our Adele Design Hotel Berlin is a small, exclusive hotel with charm in the heart of Berlin, in the trendy Prenzlauer Berg district. Only 5 minutes from the shopping and transport hub Alexanderplatz, our neighborhood offers charming cafes, restaurants and shops, theaters, cinemas, small and large parks such as the 50-acre public park Friedrichshain. Feel like at home, we are there to make your stay in Berlin as pleasant as possible. Elegant forms, exclusive materials, strong, bright colors and a touch of modern sensibility: Our 16 rooms have been designed by the Berlin interior designer Thomas Herrendorf in the Art-Deco style, whoms philosophy just fits perfectly to ours. Cosmopolitan, timeless and with a great amount of passion for service and chic interior design for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Adele Designhotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adele Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adele Designhotel Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.