We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality hotel - excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Berlin to your Saves list
Melia Berlin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersGold level
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“quality hotel - excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Excellent location close to the Friedrichstrasse station (includes underground), close to 'Unter den Linden ' en Museuminsel.
Nice spacious room, well equipped bathroom
Wonderful breakfast buffet with sparkling wine, smoked salmon, ...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,432
    719
    108
    30
    17
See reviews for
303
1,130
141
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

The Melia has an excellent location overlooking the river and a 2 minute walk to the S (trains) and the U (underground) in Zone 1. It is a pleasant 10 minute walk to the Reichstag. The hotel is confortable and well laid out. Some bad things were no porter to help with suitcases and the elevator is through the restaurant which is rather bizzare. Alos WIFI access is very expensive. You should get a Melia card through the internet as you get breakfast at half price (11 EUR rather than 22EUR) and we upgraded our room for just 15Eur per night which was great. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Stayed in the Melia, Berlin for 3 nights. The hotel is ideally situated on Friedrichstrasse in the Mitte district of central Berlin. It's just across the road from the railway station which is served by trains from the airport. The hotel is a large new building in the old eastern part of the city and is very upmarket. The reception desk is manned 24 hours by polite, helpful, English speaking staff and the rooms are clean, modern and well equipped. It's ideally stuated for the bars and clubs in Mitte and the tourist attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Riechstag and Checkpoint Charlie are all within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

I stayed in this hotel in January 2010, for 4 nights. After getting a good deal online, I was really pleased with the room, which was pretty large, with a very big bed, nice modern bathroom and TV with English channels in the mix. In terms of cleanliness, the hotel is immaculate.

There's wireless internet, but it's not free -- although I could access emails/Twitter on my iPhone without paying. If you want to do work on a laptop, you'll have to pay.

We had a pretty high room, with views over the river ... nothing special to look at, but I have no complaints. The hotel is in a great location on Friedrichstrasse, very close to the train/subway station. You're no more than 12-15 minutes walk away from the Reichstag, University and Brandenburg Gate.

At the Melia, you're also not too far from the bus stop from the airport -- get off the bus at Unter Den Linden, which crosses with Friedrichstrasse, the road on which the hotel is located (but if you have a lot of luggage, you might not want the extra 5 minute walk to the hotel).

The Melia staff were polite and helpful. I didn't use the restaurants or room service -- it looked okay, maybe a little expensive for what it was, but I'd always choose to eat outside of my hotel when travelling anyway. There's so many good places to eat in Berlin; just check your guide book.

There was some complimentary drinking water in the room, then the rest of the minibar had a charge -- a bit pricey, but not the crazy prices you might expect, though.

I'd definitely consider staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed at the melia berlin for a weekend break and paid extra to stay on the Level. The service was excellent & staff really friendly and helpfull. The room was immaculate with a brilliant view over the river spree. The most comfortable bed ever with an amazing array of pillows our bed was even made ready again at bedtime with a bag of sleepy sheep left on the pillows. Staying on the level gives extra benefits of being able to have coffee anytime in the breakfast room & in the evening alcholic drinks were also available plus nibbles also a smoking lounge if needed all included in price. The location is perfect for visiting all berlins highlights and station nearby which was very easy to use. We loved the whole experience of staying on the level and would definately stay again there wasn't anything we didn't enjoy about our stay the hotel made it perfect.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Stayed here with my wife whilst undergoing an operation in Berlin. As we were going to be using the room quite a bit whilst recovering we opted for 'The Level'. The rooms were spacious and modern and beautifully decorated. They supply five or six different types of pillow and the bed was extremely comfortable. I cannot praise the hotel enough, not only meeting but exceeding my expectations. The staff were extremely efficient and friendly. The food consisted of a European style buffet with eggs cooked to order and snacks were available throughout the day. We only saw four or five others in the private eating area in our time there and added to an exclusive feeling. Next to the eating area is a relaxation lounge where you can smoke. This has air conditioning so it always feels fresh and not smokey. Room service, whilst not cheap, is reasonable and I had one of the best steaks in my life. We also had an evening meal at the main restaurant overlooking the river and was blown away with the food and service. The hotel is well situated for all of the major attractions within a 10-20 minute walk, taxis are plentiful and reasonable. Berlin has a lot to offer but in my naivety and if it wasn't for the operation I wouldn't have chosen Berlin as a destination. Now I can't wait to go again, and I would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Loved the Melia.
Excellent staff, room was large, very nicely decorated, great bathroom, lovely balconette.

Room service a joy after a tiring trip there.

Hotel spotless and in a great location.

Choose the Melia- you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Berlin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#19 Family Hotel in Berlin
#20 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Berlin next to the River Spree and just a short distance from major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museum Island or Alexanderplatz.Warm colours in all 364 rooms, the exclusivity of the Executive Club “The Level”, highly personalised service, 1.200 sqm conference area with seven meeting rooms , the “Restaurant Café Madrid” and the bar “meliá tapas”. The Meliá Berlin is the perfect choice for your business or leisure trips to the city, thanks to an excellent location, extensive and comfortable facilities, and the quality of its services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.