We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Berlin to your Saves list
Melia Berlin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #24 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this fantastic hotel August 2013, everything about this hotel is good , especially the location, central to almost everything, we walked everywhere.
The rooms were a good size with a massive bed, flat screen tv, air con, safe , mini bar etc . bathroom was nice with bath , shower and heated floor.
Breakfast was nice, buffet style with lots of variety, the bar was very pleasant and the staff very helpful and polite.
We would have no hesitation in staying here again next time we come to Berlin, which we shall because its a brill City !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your stay at Melia Berlin.
We are very happy abour your comment which let us know that you have had a nice stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again in our hotel.
Best regards from Berlin
Your Guest Experience Team - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,576
    804
    126
    32
    19
See reviews for
338
1,256
146
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed for five nights and was not disappointed. Caught a cab from Tegel airport which took less than twenty minutes. Check-in was fast, we were offered breakfast at a reduced rate, excellent and offered the choice of a room facing the street or the court yard. We opted for street view,on the fifth floor. The room was modern and spotless with a good selection of toiletries. You will hear some noise from trams and trains ( the station is a stone's throw away), so if you are a light sleeper, choose a room at back. Berlin is easily walkable, with the odd tram or train to help with tired feet. Non of the major sight's to far away and all the boat trip operators on the river are just over the road. Breakfast has huge selection plus there are ample eating and option on the doorstep. Just book the Melia, you wont be sorry.

Room Tip: Don't pre book breakfast, you should get a reduced rate. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest
First of all thank you for your stay at Melia Berlin and as well for your nice comment.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and that you have had a perfect holiday.
We trust that you had a good journey back home and would like to welcome you back in berlin soon.
Best regards
Our Guest Experience Team - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at the Melia Berlin for five nights. Hotel was modern, clean, lovely. We stayed on the Level floor and had access to the Level lounge. The rooms were very nice, clean comfortable and a really nice size. The bathrooms were also clean and modern. A little more light in the bathrooms would have been helpful.

The offerings in the Level lounge were very nice. We had breakfast there a few times and afternoon cocktails. We had internet access in the level lounge which was great, but we really would have appreciated having the free internet access in our rooms as well, after all we were paying extra to stay on the Level floors. Breakfast in the main dining area was also very nice.

The lobby renovations were almost complete and it was quite attractive. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your stay and as well for sharing your comment at tripadvisor.
We are pleased to realize that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our service, staff attitude and the new design of our lobby.
Best regards
The Guest Experience Team - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was my third time at this hotel over the past several months and must say, this time it was excellent.
Everything was prepared beforehand through the Guest Experience Manager and as a platinum member I was acompanied by a receptionist to the Level lounge on the 7th floor where I was checked in by a very nice, professional and well trained young man. I was assigned a corner king size bed room on the same floor, overlooking inside atrium, with a large bathroom which had a separate shower and bathtub. It was large with a lot of natural light. The rooms are not very modern, but still the furniture and the design is very nice, well mantained and functional.

There was a welcome gift waiting in my room, which was a bottle of Cava on the rocks. Very nice indeed.

All the rest was just perfect!!! All the staff involved were very friendly, professional and willing to make my stay as pleasant as possible. I must say that the improvement was made every time I visited the hotel.

The lounge was great, and everything was as expected.

The lobby is under renovation, and will look very fancy when terminated.
I was happy whith everything what the hotel offered, but was missing a spa, so that's why I don't think the hotel deserves truly 5 stars.

I checked other hotels in the area, and must say Melia was one of the most expensive properties (even more expensive than Waldor Astoria or Intercontinental) but finally, I decided for this hotel, due to earning and burning Melia points and some extra benefits because of my status.

I would like to thank Miss Romero (Guest Experience Manager) for her care and help throughout the past months and finally Mr. Wannmacher for his excellency in every aspect of my stay.

This hotel is really my second home away from home!

Room Tip: Go for inner rooms, for better sleeping quality and less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest
First of all we thank you for your stay at the Melia Berlin and for your great review.
Every day we do our best to satisfy and give them a good feeling and provide them a wonderful stay in our hotel. Your words are good motivation for our team.
We hope we will see us back soon in berlin and we wish you a nice day.
Best regards
Your Experience Team - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights, the room was of an excellent standard and although the lobby was undergoing some renovation work this did not detract from our enjoyable stay.

The hotel is superbly located and the staff are so helpful and amazing, 1st class customer service. Before leaving the UK I emailed the concierge for help in securing a football ticket for me as I couldn't navigate the German website and he ordered and collected my ticket for me, nothing was too much trouble.

If I ever return to Berlin which I hope I will, I will be rebooking to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your stay at Melia Berlin as well as for sharing your nice experience.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again in our hotel.
Berlin is worth coming back!
Best regards
The Experience Team - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stay: 3 nights
Room: 402

Pro:
+ Friendly staff at reception and restaurant
+ Clean room
+ Very central of Berlin (less than 15 minutes walk to Brandenburger Tor, 2 minutes walk to Friedrichstadtpalast, etc.)
+ Good public transport connection from airport to hotel
+ Very quite room (especially for such a central location of a capitol). You could only hear the subway sometimes.

Con:
- No free Internet - just Telekom HotSpot Pass. This is in a new and modern hotel in the year 2013 actually a very bad service.

Conclusion:
I can absolutely recommend this hotel. Value-for-money ratio is very good. I would book the hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your comment at tripadvisor as well as for staying in our Hotel.
We would like to welcome you soon!
Best regards
Our Guest Experience Team - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have been traveling in Europe for 4 weeks and I have to say this hotel is by far the nicest we have stayed in. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful, the bell boy is extremely amiable and the room, well the bed is wonderful. Most hotels have a breakfast included, this moe you do have to pay if you want to include it for your entire stay and it is 15€ per person but it is well worth it. There is also large bathroom with a tub which is rare for Europe.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the courtyard as there is a tram and train station, if you are up hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your stay at the Melia Berlin and for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.
It is very nice to read, that we do a good job.
Best regards and come back soon again
The Guest Experience Team - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Berlin
#18 Family Hotel in Berlin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#37 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Berlin next to the River Spree and just a short distance from major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museum Island or Alexanderplatz.Warm colours in all 364 rooms, the exclusivity of the Executive Club “The Level”, highly personalised service, 1.200 sqm conference area with seven meeting rooms , the “Restaurant Café Madrid” and the bar “meliá tapas”. The Meliá Berlin is the perfect choice for your business or leisure trips to the city, thanks to an excellent location, extensive and comfortable facilities, and the quality of its services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Melia, Splendia and Agoda so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.