We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Berlin

Save Saved
You added Melia Berlin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Berlin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 664 hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersGold level
US
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Melia was a perfect location for our second trip to Berlin. It is on the river and a block from the trains at Friedrichstrasse and only a 20 minute taxi ride to Tegel Airport (at 5 am). There are many restaurants to choose from in the area. Breakfast was good with great local breads. The rooms were large and clean and non-allergenic pillows are available. It would have been nice, however, to have coffee available in the room. WiFi is not included and there was no business center open to print boarding passes. Minor construction was loud in the lobby the days we were there. The staff at the desk speak English well, and other than dealing with a rude night clerk at checkout at 4:30 am, they were helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,463
    665
    90
    31
    16
See reviews for
252
976
135
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Melia Berlin is centrally located. Checking in/out was no problem. We stayed 3 nights and were given a room overlooking the courtyard (not a scenic looking courtyard but it was nice and quiet on this side). The beds were very comfy and shower/bathroom was fine. We didn't have breakfast included during our stay but there are places to eat nearby. No tea/coffee facility in the room which would have been good if available. For anyone who likes to watch television, very limited channels in English (i.e. BBC world service and CNN).

All in all, I would stay here again if I come back to visit Berlin!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and was only two minutes walk from the station and just under a 30 minute direct train ride from Schonefeld airport (catch RE7 or RB14 train)
Had a room at the back of the hotel on the 6th floor and it was so quiet you could hear a pin drop, the bed was very comfoftable with a pillow menue and there was a mini bar (€5 for a small beer) flat screen TV, safe and a very nice and clean bathroom.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice that kept you going for the whole day.
Wifi was included in my room rate for some reason but normaly costs €4.95 a day but the signal was very strong and it also worked at T-Mobile hot spots around Berlin.
The hotel is right next to the river and there are plenty of bars, shops, restaurants and boat trips within a couple of minutes walk.
I would recommend joining the "Melia Rewards" program and booking direct with the hotel as I got €15 a day credit and free wifi (I think)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Melia is a great place to be based for a trip to Berlin. It has a central location on Freidrichstrasse with the station and a tram stop are a couple of minutes walk away. It is right on the bridge crossing the river with many bars and restaurants within easy walking distance across the other side. It is also a great location to get and about to explore the many sights of Berlin.

The receptionists speak very good English and we found them all to be extremely helpful. Our room was big and the beds comfortable. You automatically get feather pillows and duvets which we had to change due to allergies. A decent bathroom. We would definitely stay there again if in Berlin.

Room Tip: Take one of the many walking tours - we used original Berlin walks starting from Hackescher Markt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We have visited for new year for last four years and had vowed not to stay anywhere else if visiting again but we have just booked for new year and have booked somewhere else.

You cannot fault the location or breakfast but we have stayed on level on each occasion and the last time felt the service had declined. We never felt we had value for money on the canapés etc as we wouldn't choose to spend time in a Spanish hotel chain compared to local German bars but we liked the exclusive areas available. However on a four night stay we were twice asked to take breakfast in the main dining room as the level was too busy. We pay for exclusivity We expect to be able to benefit from it.

If you want free drinks and canapés in the price of the room it works very well. If you want to be treated as a bit special the popularity of the level means you can't.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Melia is located on central Friedrichstrasse on the River Spree
You are near plenty of public transport, the Museum Island, Brandenburg Gate, Reich Stag etc.
Our room for 3 was very spacious and so comfortable with nice quality furnishings. Our window opened into a central courtyard area. The best feature was the lovely bathroom with a good size bath & a great big roundish shower 'enclosure'- no chance of a cold, wet shower curtain here!
Only problem was a foul smell that seemed to come up through the drains. The staff to their credit dealt with this situation promptly.
There are plenty of great eating places nearby. One was Die Berliner Republik, which was described as a 'Beer Exchange', which had a great atmosphere and terrific choice of beer as well as authentic Berlin fare.
We also had breakfast each morning over the river at Friedrichs 106 which had a great selection.
Many great eateries can be found in Georgenstrasse, including Deponie.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Reasonably priced, I didn't find fault with this very centrally located hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean and appear newly-renovated. The aircon worked fine during a particularly hot few days in Berlin. The beds are super comfy and rooms are well sound-proofed. Plenty of places outside to eat breakfast at. If it had had free or reasonably priced wifi (at least in the lobby in this day and age) I would have given it 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berlin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#18 Family Hotel in Berlin
#25 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Berlin next to the River Spree and just a short distance from major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museum Island or Alexanderplatz.Warm colours in all 364 rooms, the exclusivity of the Executive Club “The Level”, highly personalised service, 1.200 sqm conference area with seven meeting rooms , the “Restaurant Café Madrid” and the bar “meliá tapas”. The Meliá Berlin is the perfect choice for your business or leisure trips to the city, thanks to an excellent location, extensive and comfortable facilities, and the quality of its services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Melia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.