We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Berlin to your Saves list
Melia Berlin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersGold level
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights during a recent short city break. Couldnt really fault the hotel at all. Good staff, good location, easy to get to it and good sized room with a big comfortable bed. Attached tapas bar is also good and reasonably priced.

No swimming pool is probably the only negative

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,437
    720
    109
    30
    17
See reviews for
304
1,133
141
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Perfect location. Walking distance from most major attractions. Great room. Very large. Good service and excellent value. I bought a 3 day pass for public transport. Used just one. The other 2 days we did everything walking. They offer great sleepers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Close to metro, very friendly hotel reception. Clean and beautiful hotel. Close to main attractions of Berlin - all within walkable distance (for a young person!). The bed was HUGE and comfortable to sleep in. Overall would stay here again. Only downside was no free wifi.. but the hotel staff do give you a free map of Berlin (if you go to tourist info centre and get a map, it costs 1 euro LOL). My window view of hotel overlooked the river so it was quite nice. The hotel is quiet as well and overall would definately stay here again. Definately a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a clean and beautiful hotel!! Staff is helpfull and nice. The tapas bar is really good. Location is the best, you can walk to the main attractions in Berlin. Room is comfortable, big, beautiful and clean. Room service was great! I would recommend this hotel in Berlin to all my friends. My room had a great view. I love this place. Great experience to stay here! Typical Melia hotel. As always, it is a pleasure to stay in these hotels. In my opinion, this is a FIVE star hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed four summer nights here recently as a couple. The location is amazing, there is a grocery store and pharmacy down the street, and plenty of great restaurants, bars and bakeries around the hotel. It is also very close to public transportation. The rooms are modern and spacious and the air conditioning worked very well.

The room we were in at first was very quiet, and we were on the second floor, just above the street level, overlooking a busy intersection and the river. The windows are basically soundproof and it was so quiet in the room I was not sure that anyone was staying on either side of us! However, we were forced to move to the room next door to ours when our air conditioning had a leak. This room must have had the underground train path running under it, as we felt and heard the train whenever it passed. We are not light sleepers, so this was ok, but if you are, I would try to stay a few levels up and off this path. We would have requested a move if we had not already had to undergo one. As a side note, we had to move rooms after having unpacked and settled in, etc, which is a hassle, and they seemed to take this for granted. I would have thought they would have at least upgraded us rooms for the problem, or even at least offered a free drink or something for the hassle.

Cons:
The service is very hit or miss depending who is working the front desk. We encountered amazing employees and subpar ones. Some spoke little English. Also, this hotel is not for you if you want somewhere romantic. The beds are double beds pushed together with a crack down the middle. The shower has an open layout so you would flood the bathroom if you tried to get two people in.

Overall a great place to stay, especially for the value.

Room Tip: Try to make sure you cannot hear or feel the subway from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Melia is a modern hotel, we stayed for three nights on room only basis. Location is excellent for Reichstag and other main sights. Our room was at the rear of the hotel overlooked the courtyard - quiet, it was spacious with a large comfortable bed and a good sized bathroom. The receptiont staff were pleasant and efficient.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Perhaps the most delightful hotel we have ever stayed in, and perfect for those seriously interested in the historic and cultural highlights of Berlin. Perfect location: a few feet from a main railway, light rail and subway station, walking distance to Museum Island, the cathedrals, the old University, a 3-minute light rail ride to the Reichstag, Brandenburg Gate, Holocaust Memorial, etc. A magnificent, elegant modern hotel with helpful staff. It is well worth it to pay extra for the amenities of "The Level"--the premier floor with private cocktail hour, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Berlin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#19 Family Hotel in Berlin
#20 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#37 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Berlin next to the River Spree and just a short distance from major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museum Island or Alexanderplatz.Warm colours in all 364 rooms, the exclusivity of the Executive Club “The Level”, highly personalised service, 1.200 sqm conference area with seven meeting rooms , the “Restaurant Café Madrid” and the bar “meliá tapas”. The Meliá Berlin is the perfect choice for your business or leisure trips to the city, thanks to an excellent location, extensive and comfortable facilities, and the quality of its services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.