We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Berlin

Save Saved
You added Melia Berlin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Melia Berlin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 665 hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersGold level
Hanover, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

On my recent trip to Germany and the Czech Republic stayed here at the beginning of the trip and again at the end of the trip in June 2013. Loved this hotel, was in a super location as many others have stated and right beside the U Subway and S trains, also the Streetcars are available right on the other side of the train station and is one stop from the Main Berlin HBF station.

The rooms are larger and I had expected in Europe based on previous trips, very comfortable and quiet. Room was very clean. Beds are comfortable as well and they have a pillow menu. All of the staff that I came in contact with were very friendly and helpful.

Taxi from the airport to hotel was 18 euro in each direction. The only recommendations I have is if you chose this hotel and like breakfast, make sure it is included in your room rate, otherwise it is 24 euro per person per day. WIFI is also about 14 euro per day which is steep in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,026 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,279
    619
    85
    28
    15
See reviews for
261
993
136
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stopped there for five nights in a standard double room on the 4th floor. We had a view on the river and ernst&young building - very nice. When the windows were closed, we could enjoy the silence during the night and slept well! There were no crazy teenagers or some noisy neighbors with kids. It is also important when you want to relax and enjoy your evening in your room.
Sauna is a place that should be attended for sure. We liked it a lot. The gym is also very nice providing free water. Unfortunately, they don't have a pool, but is not a big problem.
I broke a glass an they didn't ask me to pay for it. It was very nice if them. Usually they charge for the every small thing that is broken (in Milan they did).
Location is really great! You need to walk 5-10 minutes to see most of the places of interest of Berlin.
Beautiful hotel! Next time will stop there again!

Room Tip: Standart rooms that are closer to the Spree have more beautiful view so that you can enjoy river vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your stay at the Melia Berlin and for sharing your experience to other tripadvisor users.
We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in our house and that you had a great holiday. For us it is very important to be a second home for our guests.
We hope that we see you again in Melia Berlin
We wish you a nice day
Best regards
Our Guest Experience Team - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mill valley,ca
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our first trip to Berlin (for 4 days en route to Greek Island in late May)) and we wanted a great hotel with the right location, good rooms, good food/great buffet breakfast, professionsl/friendly/helpful service (no attitude) and fair value for money.
We were familiar with the Melia chain and had stayed in a Melia in Bali years ago.
We booked directly and joined the Melia loyalty program.

The choice of the Melia Berlin was pefect. The location on the Spree, in the Eastern sector and within walking distance of Musuem Isle, Brandenburg gate, etc was perfect.
The quality of service at the front desk was excellent, anxious to please, and up berat.
The buffet breakfast (costs Xtra) was well worth it and a great start to the day (did not need lunch). Our last night dinner in dining room was excellent and reasonably priced.
The room and bathroom was terrific-bed, river view, size of bath tub, condition was excellent.
We had considered staying in a "traditional", "locally owned" hotel, but gave up nothing by staying at a "Spanish owned: chain hotel.
We stayed on a "regular" floor-not "The Level" accomodations, and felt we missed nothing.
The main train station was within 50 yards of the hotel and provided us train service to the Schonefeld airport on our departure(30 minutes). The public bus from Tegel airport on arrival got us within a block of the hotel.(20 minutes)
If we ever return to Berlin, the Melia will again be our choice.

Room Tip: High floor-river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest
First of all thank you for your stay at the Melia Berlin and your review at tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to realize that you have enjoyed your stay in our house and appreciated our service, the bedroom and our great area. Such comments make us happy and show us, that the way we work with the guests, is the right one.
We would like to welcome you back soon in our hotel!
Best regards
Our Guest Experience Team - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent three nights and the Melia during our break to Berlin. The hotel's location is ideal, very well placed for the S and U Bahn linking you to the whole city. There are also a number of bars and cafes very nearby. Check in was fast and efficient. Our room was as expected, spacious with modern decor and spotlessly clean. The bed wasn't a double but two singles pushed together, and there were no tea and coffee making facilities; these were really the only two downsides to the room. Mini bar prices were reasonable. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel so can't comment on the dining. Wifi must be paid for, €5 for 24 hours which wasn't extortionate. Check out was at 12pm however we were able to leave our luggage at reception so we could make the most of our last day in the city.

Overall a very comfortable stay at an ideally located hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying at the Melia Berlin and for sharing your experience to other tripadvisor users.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our services, staff attitude and our location.
We hope that we see you again in our house and wish you a nice day
Best regards
Our Guest Experience Team - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The location is perfect, next to the subway and railway stations, and within walking distance of many attractions like the museum island. Good breakfast selection, with a nice view of the river. Service staff are friendly and speak excellent English. WiFi bills to the telco, and can be accessed from other parts of Berlin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your stay at the Melia Berlin and also for your nice comment.
We would like to welcome you back in our hotel and in berlin as well.
Best regards
Our Guest Experience Team - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Spent 4 nights at this hotel for city break. Excellent location. Easy access to transport and city sites. Hotel itself very clean and staff all very friendly and helpful. Would have liked tea making facilities in the room but otherwise room was very comfortable, clean and spacious. Breakfast was included in our stay and there was plenty of choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your stay at the Melia Berlin and for sharing your experience to the other tripadvisor users.
We are very pleased to realize that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our services and staff attitude.
We trust that you had a nice journey back home and we would to welcome you back soon in berlin.
Best regards and a nice day
Our Guest Experience Team - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

For the price, this is, without a doubt, the best I have stayed in. The location is good, as has been said before, and the hotel itself is immaculate. We had a room on the third floor which had a lovely view of the river ( room 346) . It was spacious and comfortable, and had the cleanest bathroom I've ever seen! Shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, body milk and soap were provided, as well as shower cap, sewing kit, cotton buds, shoe shine, shoe horn, bathrobe and slippers.There was a " pillow menu", allowing you to choose your pillows, but I didn't really bother to find out how this worked, as the pillows on the bed were fine. TV had mainly German channels, but there was BBC World News and CNN. Breakfast was expensive, but the quality and selection made it good value, in my opinion. As well as the usual cereals, breads,pastries, fruit,yoghurt, juices,cheese, and ham, there were boiled and scrambled eggs, bacon,sausages, meatballs,potatoes,tomatoes and baked beans. Fried eggs, pancakes, and churros were being made by a very pleasant young lady.The cold buffet had smoked salmon, Parma ham, pâtés,cream cheeses and salami. Cava was also available, so if you like a good tuck-in of a morning, this gets top marks. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and it was nice when at breakfast the young lady remembered we had had 3 tea and one coffee the previous morning. I would certainly return to this hotel, and would also use a Melia hotel in another city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest
At first thank you very much for your stay at the Melia Berlin as as well for sharing your experience at tripadvisor.
We are very happy about your comment regarding our breakfast, the friendly personal, location and our rooms. The perfect stay for our guests is our daily motivation and we can guarantee that we always do our best.
We would like to welcome you back in our house and in berlin too.
Best regards
Our Guest Experience Team - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berlin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#18 Family Hotel in Berlin
#25 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Berlin next to the River Spree and just a short distance from major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museum Island or Alexanderplatz.Warm colours in all 364 rooms, the exclusivity of the Executive Club “The Level”, highly personalised service, 1.200 sqm conference area with seven meeting rooms , the “Restaurant Café Madrid” and the bar “meliá tapas”. The Meliá Berlin is the perfect choice for your business or leisure trips to the city, thanks to an excellent location, extensive and comfortable facilities, and the quality of its services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Melia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.