We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40th birthday stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Berlin

Save Saved
You added Melia Berlin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Melia Berlin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 663 hotels in Berlin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“40th birthday stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous stay at the melia , very welcoming front desk , let us check in early at 12 , bottle of cava in room for my friends birthday and balconys as requested , stayed on the level rooms , the lounge is amazing , the range of drinks and snacks fantastic , plus the 60 euro for each room credit , we spent it in tapas restaurant , had such a lovely evening there staff very attentive , would not hesitate to recommend this hotel , great location for all sights .

Room Tip: Defiantly worth upgrading to the level
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing the Melia Berlin for such a special ocasion ( 40th Birthday and friendstrip) and for recomending us to future guests. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the Level!
we are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Best regards for you and your friends,

Your Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,376
    620
    86
    29
    15
See reviews for
227
910
131
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I would highly recommend the Melia Hotel. We had a wonderful stay here back in February over Valentines and it was our first visit to Berlin and what a stunning city - why did we take so long to visit!?

We took a bus journey from airport into Berlin and walked a short journey to Melia. Most would grab a cab but we use this option to see some of the city and help get our bearings.

Melia gave us a warm welcome, room were comfortable, well appointed, very relaxing and we had a beautiful view over river Spree. Upon arriving in our room we had a bottle of sparkling wine which was a lovely gesture and a great start to our romantic trip!

Location is great for exploring Brandenburg Gate, Museum Island and Alexanderplatz, which we did. Hotel reception were always really helpful in providing maps, answering questions. Excellent customer service.

Breakfast was without doubt one of the best breakfast we've experienced, the choice is endless, quality fantastic and loved the coffees and choice of sparkling wines!! but also importantly and can be overlooked is the layout, service and beautiful view resulted in breakfast time being relaxed and enjoyable. This is what Melia do well - customer service and tailored to the traveler. This is quite an achievement and other top hotels can learn a lot from Melia.

Other Hotels that have their customer service tailored towards a business client this can feel to a tourist rushed, hectic and quite clinical, and can lack ambience and we've experienced this in 4/5 star hotels on our travels.

We ensured we sat my the window at breakfast and had a view of the river Spree which at this time of year was romantic as it had a early morning mist and ice on the river.

From this fantastic experience we came back to Berlin for our anniversary that year to explore the other side of the city - my only regret is that I didn't book Melia. I know for sure, if you experience a good hotel and your re-visiting the City it sometimes not possible to experience the same high quality. It's hard to beat.

Thank you Melia, sorry we didn't visit you the second time - our mistake and we won't do it again :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your stay exactly one year ago. it has been a pleasure to read you and to know that you still remember us.
We would like to welcome you soon again for your 3rd. visit to the german capital and make it unforgettable!

Best regards,

Your Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Overall good experience!
Location:
- The hotel It's 50mts away from the Friedrichstrasse U/S Bahn/RB station. If you take the train from the airport, you should get down in this station and the hotel is right next to the station!
- 10min walk to Reichstag/Branderburg gate and Postdamer Platz. Alexander Platz is a 20min walk. For KaDeWe and Ku'damm you should take the metro.
Rooms:
Spacious, clean, bathroom with bathtub, comfy bed, nice decoration
Hotel:
-There isn't free WiFi, we had to pay 5E for 1hour
-Basic gym with sauna and lockers to put your things
-The bar is nice, we had a couple of drinks what were very good

One useful thing for tourists (that would have been nice to know in advanced): you have to book an hour to visit the Reichstag. You can either do it online or on the street, right next to the Reichstag.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for posting a comment and for your stay at the Meliá Berlin.
For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact our concierge or front office to help you making a booking at the Reichtag as we will be glad to assist you.
If the visit to the Reichtag is pending we would be gratefull to be you host during your next visit in Berlin, and if it is not, Berlin is worth revisiting!
best regards!

Your Guest Experience Manager -Meliá Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montichiari, Italy
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We did not stay on "The Level" so this is our experience as guests staying in a normal room.

It is exactly what you expect from a hotel--a clean room, plenty of toiletries, competent staff. The bed was actually quite large and the concierge is helpful, but this alone does not justify its expensive price tag, though. So if you are not enjoying the sights or if you are trying to save money, I would not recommend this hotel.

If you are sightseeing, Melia Berlin's location is unbeatable. It is no more than a 20 minute walk from everything (Brandenburg Gate, Museum Island, Reichstag, Check Point Charlie, Topography of Terror) and for everything else the metro station is LITERALLY outside the door.

Its biggest drawback: expensive WiFi. I thought that we would be able to go without WiFi, but that proved difficult--the need to look up directions, sights, restaurants, opening times, etc. made the lack of WiFi painful.

Have the money? Splurge on the hotel. Trying to save a buck? Try to find another hotel with a great location because this isn't the only one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay in our Melia Guest Room and also for your open words.

We would like to welcome you and your partner back soon!

Best regards,


Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was fantastic! The room was super! Large, with modern decor, a fantastic bed and a great bathroom. The tapas restaurant was terrific as were the waitstaff. The breakfast buffet at the main hotel restaurant was money well spent.What a range of delicious food!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We "love it" as you love the hotel.

We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay throughtout the different outlets and we would like to welcome you back soon in Meliá Berlin.

Once again we thank you very much!

Best regards,

Your Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Excellent service e.g. concierge. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast excellent.
Many main attractions of Berlin in walking distance: Brandenburger Tot, Checpoint Charlie, Museum Isle. Metro Station was under construction, but Friedrichstrasse train station nearby and easy to use e,g. to main shopping streets and department stores. Thank You!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

it is on us to thank you for choosing the Meliá Berlin for your Christmas break.

As it is a very cold season we are glad to know that our location helped you to enjoy the city easily.

Now, we would like to welcome you back in a warmer period which you would be able to enjoy differently for example on a boat tour, enjoying the great parks in the city and the "bier garten"

we wish to welcome you back soon at the Meliá Berlin.

Your Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

AWESOME!!!!!! We spent christmas at the Melia and it was wonderful. From the attentive service to the fabulous rooms to the excellent breakfasts to a very special Christmas lunch. Location was spot on, short walking distance to train station, Reichstag, Brandenburg gate and checkpoint charlie. Some great restaurants near by.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

AWESOME!

thank you very much for you stay and for the nice words you have written about us.

We are all very proud to know that you have enjoyed our Hotel and services.
We can assure that this is a great motivation for all of us.

we would like you to visit us soon again!

Best regards from Berlin to Australia!

Your Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia
Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#25 Family Hotel in Berlin
#28 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Berlin next to the River Spree and just a short distance from major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museum Island or Alexanderplatz.Warm colours in all 364 rooms, the exclusivity of the Executive Club “The Level”, highly personalised service, 1.200 sqm conference area with seven meeting rooms , the “Restaurant Café Madrid” and the bar “meliá tapas”. The Meliá Berlin is the perfect choice for your business or leisure trips to the city, thanks to an excellent location, extensive and comfortable facilities, and the quality of its services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Melia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.