We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Berlin

Save Saved
You added Melia Berlin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melia Berlin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 664 hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersGold level
Chatham, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loved It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was fantastic! The room was super! Large, with modern decor, a fantastic bed and a great bathroom. The tapas restaurant was terrific as were the waitstaff. The breakfast buffet at the main hotel restaurant was money well spent.What a range of delicious food!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We "love it" as you love the hotel.

We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay throughtout the different outlets and we would like to welcome you back soon in Meliá Berlin.

Once again we thank you very much!

Best regards,

Your Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,082 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,313
    638
    87
    28
    16
See reviews for
275
1023
137
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Excellent service e.g. concierge. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast excellent.
Many main attractions of Berlin in walking distance: Brandenburger Tot, Checpoint Charlie, Museum Isle. Metro Station was under construction, but Friedrichstrasse train station nearby and easy to use e,g. to main shopping streets and department stores. Thank You!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

it is on us to thank you for choosing the Meliá Berlin for your Christmas break.

As it is a very cold season we are glad to know that our location helped you to enjoy the city easily.

Now, we would like to welcome you back in a warmer period which you would be able to enjoy differently for example on a boat tour, enjoying the great parks in the city and the "bier garten"

we wish to welcome you back soon at the Meliá Berlin.

Your Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

AWESOME!!!!!! We spent christmas at the Melia and it was wonderful. From the attentive service to the fabulous rooms to the excellent breakfasts to a very special Christmas lunch. Location was spot on, short walking distance to train station, Reichstag, Brandenburg gate and checkpoint charlie. Some great restaurants near by.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

AWESOME!

thank you very much for you stay and for the nice words you have written about us.

We are all very proud to know that you have enjoyed our Hotel and services.
We can assure that this is a great motivation for all of us.

we would like you to visit us soon again!

Best regards from Berlin to Australia!

Your Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a lovely weekend in Berlin where we enjoyed staying at this very nice, new hotel. Spacious rooms, great bathrooms, wonderful bed!
Very nice breakfast buffet with bubbles if you wish! The restaurant also served lovely food and there is a Tapas bar with outside servings as well. The service provided was great, but best of all:
Location, location, location!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for spending your Berlin weekend at the Meliá Berlin.

We are glad that the good location helped you to visit the city in your weekend break.

Though we hope you still have sights to visit and and you will come back!

Best Regards,

Your Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I managed to book this holiday through last minute.com. Upon arrival we were greeted but told that only one room had gone through on our booking opposed to two. However, after a little deliberation between staff the error was sorted and both rooms were upgraded to doubles with breakfast.

The hotel is centrally located along what I'd consider one of the main roads in West Berlin. It's a short walk to both the Reichstag and Brandenburg gate. It is surrounded by restaurants and is 100 yards from a train station. So, location wise it's excellent.

The hotel rooms are excellent. Very clean and spacious and all the amenities you'd expect. The only thing it didn't have was a kettle! That's my only complaint about the whole hotel! The room has a variety of different cushions and the bathrooms have under floor heating - two plus points.

Every member of the hotel staff spoke very good English and were all very helpful.

The breakfasts had a wide variety - cold meats, cooked meats, fruit, cheeses, yogurts etc. We tried both of the hotels restaurants, both of which were superb. The upstairs restaurant - Madrid, was pricey but worth every penny. I like good food and that was certainly of the best steaks I've ever tasted.

Overall, id recommend the hotel to any type of guest - traveller, tourist or worker. Faultless.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your stay with us as well as for recomending our Hotel to the world.

It is a great pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Meliá Berlin.

Regarding the Kettle, please do not hesitate to contact our Front office team during your next stay as we can bring one to your room.
We can also recomend you to upgrade your stay to our The Level categorie where you will find coffee making facilities in the room among many other benefits and access to the Executive Lounge.

We are looking forward to welcome you back and make you forget about your only complaint about us.

Best regards,

Your Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My partner & I have just returned from a 3night stay at the Melia. This is our second visit (stayed in December 2011).

The hotel is about a 15 minute drive from the airport – we paid just under 20 euros each way in a cab.

I booked the room with Melia directly & joined to become a member. By doing this, we saved about £90 and also received 30 euro credit (per night) for the hotel which we were able to use as we wished throughout our stay. This also gave us late checkout of 2pm free of charge.

We selected a room on the 7th floor which is also ‘The Level’.

As we had the level, we did struggle a little with the 90 euros we had to spend – we decided to spend this on a meal in the Tapas restaurant (very nice) and also on cocktails in the lobby bar which had a great atmosphere.

The hotel is in great location, and if I return to Berlin again, I will be returning here – again on the level. Not the cheapest of places to stay, but still worth it. The staff are also very friendly & helpful throughout the whole of the hotel.

The Level:
The Level has a lounge where you can have breakfast (included in the price – but you could also have breakfast in the downstairs restaurant, also included). As well as breakfast, you could stop off at any time of the day (between 7am and 10pm) and have hot & soft drinks and also beer. You help yourself to this as well as packets of crisps. Between 6 and 10pm there is a selection of sprits, sparkling & red/white wine that you can help yourself too. They also bought out warm snacks. This time round we found the lounge very quiet – probably as we went at an odd time of the month but it was nice to go and help yourself to as many drinks as you wish before going out for the night. There was also two computers in there that you could use free of charge – handy for checking in for flights & printing boarding passes.

Airport: we flew with BA retuning to Heathrow and the terminal once through security is awful. There is a small duty free shop & a café – do not rush there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your great review.

It is a pleasure to read that you and your partner have enjoyed your stay at The Level for the second time and that you will come back to the Meliá Berlin on your future visits the German Capital.

We are looking forward to your next visit at your home in Berlin!

Best regards,

Your Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed in Berlin for a few days after Christmas 2012. The Melia Berlin is in a good location, is clean, friendly and the service and food are excellent. This is an ideal hotel for any type of stay in Berlin and I would go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

If the next time you have to "ask for more" we would be very pleased to assist you!

we are glad to know that you were satisfied with our Meliá Berlin and thank you for your stay.

See you soon,

Your Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berlin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#20 Family Hotel in Berlin
#28 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Berlin next to the River Spree and just a short distance from major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museum Island or Alexanderplatz.Warm colours in all 364 rooms, the exclusivity of the Executive Club “The Level”, highly personalised service, 1.200 sqm conference area with seven meeting rooms , the “Restaurant Café Madrid” and the bar “meliá tapas”. The Meliá Berlin is the perfect choice for your business or leisure trips to the city, thanks to an excellent location, extensive and comfortable facilities, and the quality of its services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Splendia, Melia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.