We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Augsburger Strasse 41, 10789 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Concorde Berlin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #17 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hotel Concorde is a very modern and comfortable hotel. The staff are efficient and polite. I mentioned that it was my birthday when they asked if I was staying for business or leisure. To my surprise and delight, they sent me a birthday card and a cake to my room on my birthday, such a lovely touch.

The deluxe room we stayed in was very spacious and clean, particularly the bathroom which had a separate bath and shower, segregated toilet and two wash basins with a massive mirror. Certainly good value for money in that department. The bed was very comfortable and firm and as we were on the 6th floor, the room was quiet and so we slept very well. Wifi worked splendidly.

The best thing about our stay was the tremendous buffet breakfast. Although the hotel has many guests and very busy, the staff were very efficient and replenished the buffet very frequently as the guests devoured the vast array of food on offer. There are cold meats, fish, cheese, cereal, breads, fruits, juices, sausages, pancakes, waffles, eggs and lots more to choose from. Everything was top quality. Simply one of the best breakfasts I've ever eaten at a hotel anywhere in the world.

The hotel restaurant is French and of a very high standard. The food is exquisite if you are a foodie and the service is very good if a tad slow at times. We had two 3 course meals with champagne and tea after which came to 160 euros.... so not cheap but worthwhile if you want top quality.

The only minor points I would point out is that if you are used to having a kettle in your room (as a British guest, I am used to making a cup of tea in my own room!), you will be disappointed. There are no hot drink making facilities in the room and you will have to order room service, we were shocked that two teas for room service were charged at 18 euros!

Overall I would definitely recommend the hotel for either business or leisure. It is located in Charlottenburg which is a safe, middle class area of West Berlin within a stones throw if the U-bahn, so very easy to travel to other parts of Berlin from here.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor for views and quietness. Our room faced the back away from the Main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    905
    292
    51
    18
    12
See reviews for
128
529
105
264
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Hotel is nice, situated in one of the best neighborhood, where you can go for shopping and spend several hours. It is good connected with U-Bahn, one of the public transport of Berlin.
I ate so much and pretty good, from breakfast to dinner. The experiences in the Hotel's Restaurant for dinner were all the time good. Fresh dishes and good quality.
I had only problems with the room. And really, for a 5 stars Hotel, I find unacceptable. The cleanliness of the bedroom was dubious. The bathroom was worse. Neither in the morning, nor in the evening, several days the towels and the staffs were not changed, the used and wet towels were only turned. The housekeeping managers seemed, every time I bumped into them, unfulfilled and pissed off or with fake smiles, especially the women! I'm almost sure to understand why the rooms are not so cleaned: in revenge!
So, enjoy the handsome busboys and porters! And don't make my mistake, don't care so much, like I did.

Room Tip: Choose high levels (from 8 for sure), you'll have a breathtaking panorama!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear MaraPalma,

Thank your for your detailed review. I am pleased to read that you liked
the location of the hotel.

Regarding your comments about the cleanliness of the room I am shocked
to find out about the issues. In general we change linen and towels on guest
request. When towels are put on the floor they will be changed daily. Please accept
my sincere apologies for this and be ensured that we already discussed this with
the housekeeping staff.

I would appreciate if you could reconsider your decision not to visit us again and give
us a second chance to show that we can do better.

Kindest regards

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have stayed her for the second time this year and I liked it even better than the first time. Reception spoiled me by upgrading me into a very nice junior suite with a panoramic view on Berlin, fantastic. Large bathroom, enormous choice at the breakfast buffet, great location of the hotel. Particular thanks to Katrin, Adil, Lina, Karolina who were really very nice and professional and of course many others where I do not remember the name

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Walter K,

Thank you so much for your positive comments about you stay.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your second stay with us.
Thanks especially for your compliments about the Club Lounge
staff - we are very happy about your positive review.

Hope you'll find your way back to Berlin for a third stay!

Kindest regards

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was booked based on Tripadvisor Review Comments...and I am very satisfied. It was just one block off of the main street for restaurants, shopping, etc....tour departures too. It is probably more for business travelers, but I thought it was great and I loved the huge room and the good services.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear TexasCindy2013,

I am pleased to read that you had a good time with us.
Thanks for your compliments.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to the
Hôtel Concorde Berlin

Best wishes

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

It is a real 4 star hotel, A bellboy takes care of your luggage, a nice lobby and attentive reception help you do a quick check in.
Location is very good. Vapiano is in 10 meters, department stores are across the street, a few minutes walk to the zoo , Berlin city tour station is also close by.
Rooms are nicely done. Well spaced and designed.
Breakfast is nice , a cook does fresh egg dishes there.
Gym is tiny there but there is a fitness first in about 100 meters in which hotels guests can use free of charge just don't forget to take towel and water with yourself.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Morteza K,

Thank you very much for your positive review and you compliments
about the breakfast. and the attentive staff.

The Hôtel Concorde Berlin is classifiey as a five star superior hotel
by the German Hotel Association which has over 300 categories
to list and proof.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to the Hotel!

Best wishes

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has large rooms, and is very clean. Convenient to subway stations, as it is just off kurfurstendamm. Lots of stores and restaurants on k damm. Hotel staff was very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Darnell P,

Thanks for your review and your compliments to the staff!

Hope to see you soon again.

Kindest regards

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last year and are looking forward to revisit this hotel in september :-)
Excellent staff, perfect location. Huge rooms!! The concierge was very helpful and polite.
The restaurants are also very nice.
Morten :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Arden57,

Great review - Thanks a lot! Looking forward to see you soon
again here.

Best wishes

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm

Address: Augsburger Strasse 41, 10789 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Concorde Berlin)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Splendia, ACCOR, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.