We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm to your Saves list
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Augsburger Strasse 41, 10789 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Concorde Berlin) (Charlottenburg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We, stayed at the hotel early November for an extended weekend getaway. The hotel staff eased our way with a very smooth ez in / out process. Room is very big even in American standards. Bathroom has separation between the basin (two of them) shower, bath and stall area and has a lot of light. Extra towels and soap as a standard would have been nice. Room was very clean. Free WiFi worked well all around this big hotel. SPA area is nice and is open at extended hours. Be careful of what seems to be a Jacuzzi.....it is not, and the water there is very cold :-) the hotel is centrally located, but as Berlin is a large city, make sure that the location is good for you on the west side of town.

Here is a tip - if you book on-line, register and receive a free breakfast which is valued at 16 Euro / person / day ! The breakfast buffet is grand and on top of the huge selection you can ask for omelets, pancakes or crepes to me freshly made for you :-)

Berlin has a lot of great variety of hotels to offer, and the Concord in located high on the list, and rightfully so.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Nzakay,

Thank you very much for your great review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your time here in the
hotel and that you liked our rooms.
Thank your for your compliments.

Best Wishes

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager

ccolmorgen@concorde-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    393
    70
    25
    14
See reviews for
175
718
135
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I spent three nights in Berlin’s Concorde in April 2011. It’s a very nice hotel, very comfortable. It’s located at 5 minutes walk from the Zoological Garden, where the bus from airport arrives. Even though it’s not close to Alexander Platz, where most of the tourists go, the area where the hotel is situated is really nice.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear bimbo_swiss,

Thanks very much for your positive review.
I am happy to hear that you liked the hotel and
the location.

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best Wishes

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager

ccolmorgen@concorde-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great service provided. Location is quite good. Rooms are generous, my room had lots of space. To get to the ICC (convention center) you need to take a taxi, it takes about 15 min (morning traffic). Breakfast was standard for the hotel level. Wifi free worked fine. Kitchen was open until late and able to provide a meal after 22h30.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear travelfromportugal,

Thank you for sharing your impressions with us.
I am pleased to read that you had a good time.

Hope to see you soon again in Berlin City!

Kindest regards

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager

ccolmorgen@concorde-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The service in this hotel is trully world class! The staff from checkin to concierge were brilliant.

I would definately recommend the lounge.

Great location and nice rooms. It is however a taxi ride from the ICC so not in walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Lancellot,

Wow - thanks for the great compliments to the staff and the service,
Already passed it to my colleagues!

We really looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Wishes

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager

ccolmorgen@concorde-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Good staff and a great location make up for an otherwise uninspiring hotel. The building is new and clean but has little charm and doesn't cut it as either trendy/modern nor as antique/boutique. Afraid the room are

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear riiicola,

I am happy about you complimnents to the staff.
The building itself as well as all the furniture inside is designed from
the famous architect Jan Kleihues. I am very sorry that we did not
meet your taste.

Kindest regards,

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager

ccolmorgen@concorde-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very nice hotel, clean, large rooms. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Free W-lan which is a plus (even though it should be standard in this kind of hotel). Breakfast is very expensive if you are not travelling on business. Overall very good experience, would definitively stay again here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Hieschen,

I am happy to read your positive review. Thank you so much for your
compliments about the friendly and helpful staff.

Hope to see you soon again here in Berlin City!

Best Wishes

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager

ccolmorgen@concorde-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel very nice with very competitive prices. Clean and cozy rooms.

Staff in Lobby however extremely unfriendly and were not prepared to listen to customer complaints to ease the stay of their guests. I was not well feeling well the last day and asked for a late check out which was refused under the "fully booked" answer.. I suggested to pay for the rest of the day as my p[lane was at 22:00 and needed to rest in a room. This was also refused.. I therefore had no option but to wait in the lobby and order a few with my wife. I was feeling unwell so decided to close my eyes to rest and fell somehow asleep.. The staff came and woke me up and asked me not to close my eyes if I want to rest as this is considered sleeping and this is not allowed in the lobby.... Although I told them I am feeling unwell and to otherwise book me a room until the time of the deparure to airport, they said the hotel is fully booked and there is no rooms.. I am also not allowed to rest in the lobby... I call this inhumane treatment of someone who is sick and needs to rest!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear grbeiz,

Thank you for your detailed feedback

I am very sorry that there was a misunderstanding at your departure day. We have investigated and reviewed that from our records you have already been given a late check out until 1 pm. Indeed we were fully booked on that day. My colleague remembered that she offered you assistance to find a day use room in another hotel. She did not recognize that you were ill.
The bar and lounge area is an outlet were we serve food and drinks and I am sure you agree that this should not be considered as an alternative for a sleeping area. I agree that we should have shown more flexibility for you to find a solution for your needs. But as already explained it did not come across that you were sick.

I hope that the good experiences still dominating your Berlin stay. I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.


Kindest regards


Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager

ccolmorgen@concorde-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm

Address: Augsburger Strasse 41, 10789 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Concorde Berlin)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm 5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Sofitel Berlin Kurfurstendamm is situated right in the heart of the City West area, within striking distance of the renowned Kurfurstendamm shopping quarter. A showcase for a unique fusion of art, architecture and design. The impressive 17-storey stone facade constructed from Kirchheim shell limestone is a real eyecatcher. Breathtaking views can be enjoyed from the Sofitel Berlin Kurfurstendamm right across the vibrant city of Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.