We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Tour around the world - step 22 and return home”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Augsburger Strasse 41, 10789 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Concorde Berlin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #17 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
““Tour around the world - step 22 and return home””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I spent three nights in Berlin’s Concorde in April 2011. It’s a very nice hotel, very comfortable. It’s located at 5 minutes walk from the Zoological Garden, where the bus from airport arrives. Even though it’s not close to Alexander Platz, where most of the tourists go, the area where the hotel is situated is really nice.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear bimbo_swiss,

Thanks very much for your positive review.
I am happy to hear that you liked the hotel and
the location.

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best Wishes

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager

ccolmorgen@concorde-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    906
    298
    56
    19
    13
See reviews for
140
573
110
272
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great service provided. Location is quite good. Rooms are generous, my room had lots of space. To get to the ICC (convention center) you need to take a taxi, it takes about 15 min (morning traffic). Breakfast was standard for the hotel level. Wifi free worked fine. Kitchen was open until late and able to provide a meal after 22h30.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear travelfromportugal,

Thank you for sharing your impressions with us.
I am pleased to read that you had a good time.

Hope to see you soon again in Berlin City!

Kindest regards

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager

ccolmorgen@concorde-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The service in this hotel is trully world class! The staff from checkin to concierge were brilliant.

I would definately recommend the lounge.

Great location and nice rooms. It is however a taxi ride from the ICC so not in walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Lancellot,

Wow - thanks for the great compliments to the staff and the service,
Already passed it to my colleagues!

We really looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Wishes

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager

ccolmorgen@concorde-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Good staff and a great location make up for an otherwise uninspiring hotel. The building is new and clean but has little charm and doesn't cut it as either trendy/modern nor as antique/boutique. Afraid the room are

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear riiicola,

I am happy about you complimnents to the staff.
The building itself as well as all the furniture inside is designed from
the famous architect Jan Kleihues. I am very sorry that we did not
meet your taste.

Kindest regards,

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager

ccolmorgen@concorde-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very nice hotel, clean, large rooms. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Free W-lan which is a plus (even though it should be standard in this kind of hotel). Breakfast is very expensive if you are not travelling on business. Overall very good experience, would definitively stay again here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Hieschen,

I am happy to read your positive review. Thank you so much for your
compliments about the friendly and helpful staff.

Hope to see you soon again here in Berlin City!

Best Wishes

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager

ccolmorgen@concorde-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel very nice with very competitive prices. Clean and cozy rooms.

Staff in Lobby however extremely unfriendly and were not prepared to listen to customer complaints to ease the stay of their guests. I was not well feeling well the last day and asked for a late check out which was refused under the "fully booked" answer.. I suggested to pay for the rest of the day as my p[lane was at 22:00 and needed to rest in a room. This was also refused.. I therefore had no option but to wait in the lobby and order a few with my wife. I was feeling unwell so decided to close my eyes to rest and fell somehow asleep.. The staff came and woke me up and asked me not to close my eyes if I want to rest as this is considered sleeping and this is not allowed in the lobby.... Although I told them I am feeling unwell and to otherwise book me a room until the time of the deparure to airport, they said the hotel is fully booked and there is no rooms.. I am also not allowed to rest in the lobby... I call this inhumane treatment of someone who is sick and needs to rest!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear grbeiz,

Thank you for your detailed feedback

I am very sorry that there was a misunderstanding at your departure day. We have investigated and reviewed that from our records you have already been given a late check out until 1 pm. Indeed we were fully booked on that day. My colleague remembered that she offered you assistance to find a day use room in another hotel. She did not recognize that you were ill.
The bar and lounge area is an outlet were we serve food and drinks and I am sure you agree that this should not be considered as an alternative for a sleeping area. I agree that we should have shown more flexibility for you to find a solution for your needs. But as already explained it did not come across that you were sick.

I hope that the good experiences still dominating your Berlin stay. I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.


Kindest regards


Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager

ccolmorgen@concorde-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just came back from a 4 night business trip - the Concorde is on prime location in the middle of Berlin, and on the outskirts of Charlottenburg. This hotel gives you what you need to relax and enjoy the city, either on a city break or on a business trip. Amazing building, nice staff, excellent breakfast (although somewhat expensive if you do not get a special package deal over the net) and modern, minimal, functionalist rooms with clean lines and neat and large bathroom solutions. Very high pressure on the water in the shower (seldom experienced even in very good hotels, I find). Very convenient and close to major shopping on the major Kurfürstendam street and surrounding area. Also close to major attractions and sights. Some details for improving: A tad pricy for the nicer duble rooms (de luxe), and price policy was confusing when checking out the net - the hotel´s home page and other offers had mixed pricing policy, hard to understand. The minbar was not kept up and refilled every day. And the bed was too hard for my taste. But overall a great and trouble free stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, Generell Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Morty50,

I am very pleased to read your very positive review - Thank you so much.

Thank your for the compliments about the rooms and the service.
For the bed we have special supplements making it even softer.
Just let us know on your next visit.

I am sorry that the minibar was not refilled every day and I already discussed
this with the responsible department head. Please accept my apologies.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest regards,

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager

ccolmorgen@concorde-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm

Address: Augsburger Strasse 41, 10789 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Concorde Berlin)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Splendia, ACCOR, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.