We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent urban spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liquidrom

Liquidrom
Mockernstrasse 10 | Berlin, Germany, 10963 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)
30 258007820
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 334 Activities in Berlin
Attraction details
sicily
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent urban spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I really liked this place, its a urban spa inside the hearth of Berlin, in Möckernstraße, in Kreuzberg area. its very crowded, so just be patient to be let in. But its worthy after queuing for half a hour more or less. Inside its a urban paradise with the dark pool with the sound of classical or electronic music, and 4 different sauna and a steam room, and a small war pool outside in the terrace. Just make sure to be naked in the sauna and the steam rrom, without any embarassment. Erything is just so natural in Berlin, unlike Italy! And the bar is nice too, you can drink natural juices or eating natural food and get some relax in a nice atmosphere!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    31
    20
    16
    31
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“fun and relaxing place, but come prepared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Liquidrom is a great way to spend a day in Berlin, but you do need to come prepared. The highlights of the spa are 1) the large floating pool, which is a uniquely relaxing experience and very nicely presented with the low lights and music piped through the water; 2) the Aufguss every hour in the sauna, where the attendant pours water on the coals and whips hot air towards you until it physically hurts: fantastic way to detox and great for body and skin. The outdoor courtyard and pool is also very nice in winter: sitting outside in the freezing cold after a hot sauna and watching the steam rising off your body is wonderful, as is sitting in a warm pool in the open air.

The major caveat I'd say is that you MUST bring a big bottle of water or you'll be really unhappy after a couple of goes in the sauna. I do find it outrageous that they don't supply drinking fountains (and I'm surprised it's legal, given the likelihood of people fainting after heat treatments). However, they are perfectly happy to let you in with your own water, so make sure you bring a bottle with you. Also bring a couple of towels, if you can, so that you have a dry one. The changing rooms are ridiculously badly designed: virtually nowhere to sit down or put your stuff, and it's not a super-luxury place, so don't expect fancy shampoo or body lotion. It's the sort of place that isn't much fun as it gets crowded, because of the poor design (too few toilets, showers), and so if you can go a time that's likely to be less busy (e.g. weekday daytime), you will probably have a better experience. It's better value if you can spend at least 4 hours there, and if you compare it to day-spas in other European capitals, it's pretty reasonable. Personally I found the staff helpful and professional, and the food at the cafe is reasonably priced and good quality.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“BARF”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Something you'd see featured in Wallpaper, Liquidrom looks nice and hip and modern on paper. But it's awful in person. My visit on a Tuesday evening in early December 2012 started with a snarky woman at the front desk. I walk into the dressing room after paying nearly 20 Euros for 2 hours and see lockers missing doors. (We brought our own towels and flipflops knowing they're extra.) I enter with a buddy into the actual sauna and realize it's small and full of people. Still not yet of one mind, we enter into the salt pool and float a bit on a noodle. Nice enough. And then we realize that floating is more like playing bumper cars. We sought out another venue--the steam sauna--at which point I start to look at the crud on the floor and which point in time I'm reluctant to touch anything. We head out to the outdoor soaking pool, where couples are sucking face (TMI). We move back inside and order softdrinks ($4.80 for a small coke!) and then head to the locker. Our two hours were about up. And then when we check out we learn that we were over time by a few minutes, were charged an additional 4 Euros on top of our beverages. What little relaxation and wellness we might have found in this run-down and dirty spa were suddenly gone. "Did you have a nice time with us" the snarky woman asked. No, and we're never coming back. If you're gay, go to the Boiler instead. If you're straight, go to any one of Berlin's 5 star hotels or get a day pass at Home's Place at Potsdamer Platz. What a pretentious waste. Barf.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Designer Sauna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Cool and modern design of a Spa.

Great sauna options,make sure to go on the hour for the saune Aufguss. every hour a different version. I loved the Salt Rub! very good for the skin

Could add some more options for food especially healthy food, missing for example a fruit bowl.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“wonderful place but bring cash”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

On arrival we booked massages, and paid what we thought would be the fee for our visit but on leaving we were then charged for the robes, slippers and the extra hours we had to wait for the massage.
They do not except foreign bank cards, only German credit cards and cash, so fill your pockets before you go

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liquidrom also viewed

 

Been to Liquidrom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liquidrom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.