We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Lodge Berlin

Save Saved
You added Riverside Lodge Berlin to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Lodge Berlin
Hobrechtstrasse 43, 12047 Berlin, Germany (Neukölln)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 316 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Little Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This trip to Berlin was a gift for 30th Birthday from my girlfriend who'd looked up Riverside Lodge on sites like this... Good choice I reckon.

On arrival we were greeted by the incredibly friendly and helpful owner. He sat us down with a map and talked through some of the stuff we might like to see while we were in Berlin. He suggested a bunch of great places to eat (including the restaurant next door, where I got an AMAZING steak), less-touristy places to go out drinking and loads of other curious and interesting places dotted around Berlin. He was also pretty clued up on events happening in the area, urging us to go to a local live music event which I would have loved to go to had I not underestimated the strength of German beer and been embarrassingly pissed by 10pm that night.

As we were staying as a couple we opted to stay in a private twin room which was in a 2 bedroom apartment next door to the hostel... As it was off-season we got the whole apartment to ourselves. The bedroom was nice and clean and the bed huuuge. The bathroom was really clean and everything worked and there was also the kitchen which had everything you would hope to find in a kitchen... again, it was really clean and tidy. The owner pointed out that the table was missing from the bedroom when we were first shown in to the apartment, he said he'd nip to Ikea and get a replacement as soon as possible, sure enough, when we got home that night there was a brand new table in the room. Really amazing service.

The area in which the lodge is located is really nice and leafy, located just next to a canal, there is a really good market selling all manner of stuff really cheap most days of the week, the quality of the fresh produce puts fruit and veg markets to shame here in England. There are a bunch of small bars, cafes and bakers all within 2 minutes walk. There are a couple of U-Bahn stations within a few minutes walk too.

Overall, the service and quality of this place was so good I could've easily just stayed there... I really felt like not coming back. Berlin as a city is amazing too, so when I go back i know where i'll be staying. The hostel really added to the trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartment next door... it was nice and quiet and the bed was massive and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

There is not one negative thing I can say about my stay at Riverside. After travelling around Europe and staying in party hostels, Riverside was a breath of fresh air. It was a home-away-from-home in the middle of trendy Kreutzberg. Perfect position. The beds were comfy and the room spacious. I loved only having 10 or so other visitors, we all went out for dinners (on Enrico's amazing advice) and I have made friends for life having stayed there for just 4 days. Enrico, the owner, is helpful beyond belief and an all ground awesome guy!
Would recommend this a thousand times and will definitely be back!
Thanks again Enrico!
Bonnie.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The owner was very helpful, lots of tips and local knowledge. The private room was large, access to a kitchen and bathroom (shared with only one other room). GREAT restaurant on the corner!! The markets next door are also worth looking around.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

What can I say about this place? Never have I been to a less "hostely" hostel than this one. It is basically a small apartment run by one of the nicest and funniest guys you will ever meet, which accomodates less than 15 people.

No reception desk to check in or out (you simply collect your key in a storage box and drop it off when you leave), a little audio cable hanging near the refrigerator so you can plug in your own music in the loungeroom speakers, free tea/coffee/internet, a small kitchen - small enough that mess never accumulates unlike other hostels I've been to (and worked in) where there are so many pots, pans and people that nothing gets cleaned properly - with a convection stovetop, though you will never need to use it with awesome cheap food surrounding you in every direction, including great markets by the river a few times a week.

The larger 6-bed dorm offers a lot of privacy with large curtains surrounding your bed and locker, while the smaller 4-bed is better suited to small groups of friends travelling together. The beds are comfy as hell, the two bathrooms with showers are always immaculately clean, and Enrico (the man in charge) will tell you everything you need to know to eat, drink and party your way through your visit to Berlin. If you're friendly, considerate and you don't snore so loud you wake people up, stay here, if you can book it!

Tom & Karo

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

it is the perfect place to stay in berlin. the area ia really cool to stay with cafes and shop. the room is very clean abd comfy. just like a home out of your country. the owner of the hostel is very helpful and will let you know the cool things happpening in berlin. especially for a solo traveller . its a very good place to meet people as well.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I've stayed at many hostels in Europe, and this is the best ever! It's in perfect location, near the river and the food market and weekend market is just around the corner! You can rent a bike and get around very easily. The place itself is tiny, but I very much like its size, because you get to know everyone who stays there! I stayed in the room with six beds, and the upper beds are king-sized! They are not like the normal two-level bed bunks, the upper bed actually is placed on a "roof" that allows you more room to place stuff and move around, and it's so cool! The owner is friendly, helpful and interesting too, who opens this hostel for 7 months during a year and the rest 5 years he goes on vacation in Thailand. I'm very happy to see the different lifestyles of other people during travelling, maybe I can try that in the future too! :-) Berlin is a very special city, mixing all types of culture and living styles. I would definitely come back, and stay at riverside lodge too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Possibly the world's smallest hostel, but that's what makes it so special. I've stayed there twice now, and loved it both times! Enrico, who runs it, could not be more helpful! It has a really friendly atmosphere, and is exceptionally clean! The facilites are great, the rooms are great, everything about this hostel is fantastic, including it's location! Even if I had the money for a hotel, I would probably stay here! Definitely stay here if you are visiting Berlin (so long as there are 12 or less of you!).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Lodge Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Lodge Berlin

Address: Hobrechtstrasse 43, 12047 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Neukölln
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 316 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Riverside Lodge Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Lodge Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;