We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Lodge Berlin

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berlin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Lodge Berlin
Save
You added Riverside Lodge Berlin to your Saves list
Hobrechtstrasse 43, 12047 Berlin, Germany (Neukölln)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“My favorite hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

There is not one negative thing I can say about my stay at Riverside. After travelling around Europe and staying in party hostels, Riverside was a breath of fresh air. It was a home-away-from-home in the middle of trendy Kreutzberg. Perfect position. The beds were comfy and the room spacious. I loved only having 10 or so other visitors, we all went out for dinners (on Enrico's amazing advice) and I have made friends for life having stayed there for just 4 days. Enrico, the owner, is helpful beyond belief and an all ground awesome guy!
Would recommend this a thousand times and will definitely be back!
Thanks again Enrico!
Bonnie.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The owner was very helpful, lots of tips and local knowledge. The private room was large, access to a kitchen and bathroom (shared with only one other room). GREAT restaurant on the corner!! The markets next door are also worth looking around.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

What can I say about this place? Never have I been to a less "hostely" hostel than this one. It is basically a small apartment run by one of the nicest and funniest guys you will ever meet, which accomodates less than 15 people.

No reception desk to check in or out (you simply collect your key in a storage box and drop it off when you leave), a little audio cable hanging near the refrigerator so you can plug in your own music in the loungeroom speakers, free tea/coffee/internet, a small kitchen - small enough that mess never accumulates unlike other hostels I've been to (and worked in) where there are so many pots, pans and people that nothing gets cleaned properly - with a convection stovetop, though you will never need to use it with awesome cheap food surrounding you in every direction, including great markets by the river a few times a week.

The larger 6-bed dorm offers a lot of privacy with large curtains surrounding your bed and locker, while the smaller 4-bed is better suited to small groups of friends travelling together. The beds are comfy as hell, the two bathrooms with showers are always immaculately clean, and Enrico (the man in charge) will tell you everything you need to know to eat, drink and party your way through your visit to Berlin. If you're friendly, considerate and you don't snore so loud you wake people up, stay here, if you can book it!

Tom & Karo

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

it is the perfect place to stay in berlin. the area ia really cool to stay with cafes and shop. the room is very clean abd comfy. just like a home out of your country. the owner of the hostel is very helpful and will let you know the cool things happpening in berlin. especially for a solo traveller . its a very good place to meet people as well.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I've stayed at many hostels in Europe, and this is the best ever! It's in perfect location, near the river and the food market and weekend market is just around the corner! You can rent a bike and get around very easily. The place itself is tiny, but I very much like its size, because you get to know everyone who stays there! I stayed in the room with six beds, and the upper beds are king-sized! They are not like the normal two-level bed bunks, the upper bed actually is placed on a "roof" that allows you more room to place stuff and move around, and it's so cool! The owner is friendly, helpful and interesting too, who opens this hostel for 7 months during a year and the rest 5 years he goes on vacation in Thailand. I'm very happy to see the different lifestyles of other people during travelling, maybe I can try that in the future too! :-) Berlin is a very special city, mixing all types of culture and living styles. I would definitely come back, and stay at riverside lodge too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Possibly the world's smallest hostel, but that's what makes it so special. I've stayed there twice now, and loved it both times! Enrico, who runs it, could not be more helpful! It has a really friendly atmosphere, and is exceptionally clean! The facilites are great, the rooms are great, everything about this hostel is fantastic, including it's location! Even if I had the money for a hotel, I would probably stay here! Definitely stay here if you are visiting Berlin (so long as there are 12 or less of you!).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Tiny hostel, only 12 beds but so cute and the space that each person gets is massive! Large lockers, privacy curtain if you get the bottom bunk/room. The owner Enriquo was so helpfull, and gave us a ten minute chat and free map about all the awesome places in Berlin and where to get cheap eats! First impression was not the best, but stick it out and you will be rewarded with a great stay!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Lodge Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Lodge Berlin

Address: Hobrechtstrasse 43, 12047 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Neukölln
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Lodge Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.