We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and Quaint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern Comfort Hostelboat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Eastern Comfort Hostelboat to your Saves list
Eastern Comfort Hostelboat
Muhlen Str 73-77, 10243 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Houston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cute and Quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

The location seemed only slightly dodgy...located just feet from "The East Side Gallery" of the Berlin Wall. Location to the U Bahn and S Bahn train lines was also very convenient from the location. The hostel did not sit in the mecca of the city by any means, but as I mentioned was close to the rail lines so we could get to the city's hot spots pretty easily. That being said, I feel like the room rates may have been a little over priced considering the hostels location.

The staff on board were kind and courteous. The Wi-Fi only worked in the common areas of the boat and not our room below deck as I had hoped. Overall, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    43
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
40
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

Although we had a reservation for 3 cabins for 3 nights, we did not end up staying on the Eastern Comfort. We arrived by car and drove along a long stretch adjacent to the river (and the remains of the Wall), across from which was block after block of vacant lots where buildings had been torn down - quite an industrial looking area. The entrance to the boat was also through a rocky dirt construction lot, which had been mentioned on the website, I must admit. We arrived one hour before check in time but our rooms were not yet ready, although there didn't seem to be any other guests around. Although a bit put off by the location, we waited until the rooms below deck were ready and we were allowed to see them. There was a very strong smell of disinfectant cleaner masking what would otherwise have been a musty smell. It was raining very hard out, so perhaps this had something to do with it.

No one in our party of 6 felt very good about staying in the musty rooms in a location that didn't feel very safe. Perhaps the neighborhood has been developed since we were there in 2007 and is better now. The boat is located, if you continue further up the river) just 2 blocks or so from a busy area of Kreutzberg, which seems to have much ethnic (Turkish) flavor and decent U and S Bahn service. It was just the immediate area around the boat that was undesirable.

I must say that the girl who greeted us on the boat was very, very pleasant and, although we had to pay for 1 night of rooms due to the late cancellation, she offered that if we had problems finding rooms elsewhere (which we did - there was a tourism conference in the city that week and nary a room to be had for miles, which was how we ended up booking the Hostel Boat in the first place), we could call her and the rooms would be available for us.

If the neighborhood has improved since March of 2007 and the boat has had steady enough traffic to keep it a bit fresher, it could be an interesting and fun place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

Situated on River Spree and literally next to the East Side Gallery, Eastern Comfort was actually rather easy to find. The boat was directly opposite from the East Side Gallery souvenir shop, in between Warchauer Str. and Ostbahnhof.
I had booked a first class cabin with our own en suite bathroom. The room was roomier than I thought and could easily accommodate our 2 luggages. Our room had a view of the river and the windows could be opened to allow fresh air into the room. Wi-fi worked fine in the cabin. Otherwise, internet access was available via the boat's computers. Everything worked in the room. Hair dryer could be borrowed from the reception. I also saw people camping out on the deck. Reservations still needed for camping.
All-you-can-eat breakfast cost 4 euros per person. It was a good deal especially when we were in a hurry. Orange juice, coffee, tea, cold cuts, breads and cereals were served. It was a good time to meet people from all over the world too. The floating lounge upstairs open every night for social gatherings or just plain hanging out.
Staff were all very friendly and answered all our questions.
Western Comfort is a sister boat with similar configuration but internet access is only available on Eastern Comfort.

  • Liked — Price performance
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

A great find! - a good location and well placed to explore Berlin, especially areas like Kreuzberg and Fredrichshain which have great places to eat and drink. Kreuzberg starts just over the water and is packed with awesome independent bars and restaurants. The hostel is right next to the longest stretch of remaining wall in Berlin and has a view of the most beautiful bridge in the city. (make sure you ask for a cabin on the river side of the boat {even numbers if you are having a first class cabin}). The staff are helpful and it is close to all transport links, especially the train from Berlin Schonefeld. (easyjet travellers). The first class cabins are of a good size and have loads of storage, comfy bed etc. Bathroom a little smelly sometimes - but that is normal of any boat. Stasi Museum & Prison are well worth a visit as is the Jewish museum and memorial. Great city for modern art and exploring. Overall a great place to stay - highly recommended.

  • Liked — It's a boat
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

Although first impressions aren't great and the immediate surrounding area leaves a little to be desired, the Eastern Comfort is fabulous! We had a first class cabin which was spacious and spotlessly clean, with a sufficient shower and great river views. The four Euros each all you can eat breakfast was more than enough and we especially loved the bar upstairs, which also served great snacks.
We found all the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, and the boat is just down the road from railway station Warschauer Strasse, which is an S and U Bahn station, and therefore has good connections to wherever you want to go. Minka, the ship's cat, was very cool.

  • Liked — We love staying on boats! And we loved Minka!
  • Disliked — The surrounding area was a bit of a dump.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2008

Although the check-in was not until 4pm, we were allowed to leave our luggage at the desk until then. Our room was a bit spartan, but we rented bedclothes from the front desk for 5 Euro per person, including towels. There is, of course, the option to bring your own. Breakfast was 4 Euro per person, but was worth it. Plenty to eat and drink, and it was all delicious. The bed was not quite a double bed, but the bedclothes were clean and the sound of water lapping at the boat was very peaceful. Bathroom was clean. Front desk were very helpful with maps and information. Internet was readily available for a reasonable price. Minka, the resident cat, is very cute and at ease with strangers.

  • Liked — Minka
  • Disliked — Double bed that wasn't quite a double bed
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

The boat is located in de river Spree, directly next to the 1,3 km section of the Berlin Wall (Mühlenstraße). The S-bahn is just a five minutes walk (Warschauer Straße).

I booked a first class cabin and was surprised by the space (for a cabin). The room was simple but clean, the bed was nice and the advantage of staying here is, that the temperature in the room is not as high as normally in a hotel.

Wifi (for free) and breakfast available (not for early birds; from 08:30-11:00 am).

Nice crew, cool boat cat and relaxing lounge upstairs. My kind of place.

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere, special location and price
  • Disliked — Small breakfast area
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastern Comfort Hostelboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern Comfort Hostelboat

Address: Muhlen Str 73-77, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Eastern Comfort Hostelboat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern Comfort Hostelboat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.