We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Apartment in a great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee to your Saves list
Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Schoenhauser Allee 5, 10119 Berlin, Germany (Prenzlauer Berg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Apartment in a great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

The Schonhauser Allee finds itself in a great location in Berlin. With the tube station at your doorstep (U2) it is incredibly easy to move around in the city. Our apartment was located at the back of the building, through the front door you cross a courtyard to the back building, which made our stay a quiet one, unfortunately this gives you no view at all on the main street, which is a pity :-(.
The studio apartment was clean, more tiny than on the pictures, but had everything we needed. Must say that it gets cold during the night due to city heating, which means you can't control the on and off...
The service through OTA was sufficient, although I do not agree at all with a Eur 20 late check-in fee... (yes we were kindly informed before about this) Me being in the Hotel business myself find this just another modern way to make a quick euro instead of providing a service in a business that should be about HOSPITALITY! Something to think about OTA....

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    29
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
15
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

We were very happy with our apartment and delighted at the location, it was so handy for the underground, mauer markt, shops, cafes etc There were lots of hipster shops and cafes a short walk away.
The apartment was very clean, had all the necessary items, and was warm and quiet. I will certainly stay here again when visiting Berlin.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015 via mobile

3 friends 1 boy 2 girls book a 2 bed apartment in this hell hole!!! Absolutely shocking. We admitedly booked late check in. To which we were advised we must pay €20 for the inconvenience. The man kept us waiting 15 mins outside the front door whilst he made his way to the apartments from the bar.

All 3 of us had a long day at work and now stood in the freezing cold and waited. When he finally arived was told we are located on the 4th floor. He takes the €20 euros and completes the check in. We make our way to the apartment... it was 4 floors up and NO LIFTS with our cases. We get into the apartment only to find its not as puctured. We booked a 2 bed apartment. We got 1 through room with 3 beds. 2 beds in the kitchen the other in where should have been a sofa. Bathroom had plenty of towels (clean) but the rest of the place didnt look overly clean especially the floor. We really regretted not taking slippers or flip flops. Bathroom shower curtain doesnt stop the water going all over the floor... there was no bath mat provided. Considering we were not all of the same sex and he could clearly see that it made our stay very uncomfortable.

Having to change shower and usen the bathroom with no lock. Not being able to sleep without being fully dressed. No privacy what so ever.

Every time we went out we faced 4 floors of stairs and having to jimmy the door to get it to open.

The heating goes off at night so if you get cold ask for extra duvets and pillows before the rep goes home or you will freeze!!! There are no controls in the room to switch it back on. Silly considering most people go out in the day to see the city.

Kitchen has all the crockery etc. We only used the glasses. But was sufficient.

Our SERVICED apartment didn't get cleaned throughout our 3 night stay. We didnt get any fresh towels and had nowhere to dry them. We ended up hanging them on chairs and where possible the radiator to get them to dry.

There is no security present on site at night.

The plus side is... this is a great location.... Berlin is lovely and steeped in history... but staying at this apartment was enough to start my day on the wrong foot everyday!!! Definately do not recommend and will not stay there again...

Ps. If you want a late check out they charge €35 even if there is no booking after you leave.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romana_Wolfram, General Manager at Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee, responded to this review, January 29, 2015
Dear KayKhanom,

Thank you for taking the time to leave an honest review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the accommodation. We encourage our guests to let us know how we can help improve their comfort during their stay and any issues or need for clean towels, extra blankets, electric heaters, etc. can be brought to our attention right away. That you had to wait at the building to check-in after hours, indicates our check-in procedure was not clearly understood before the arrival. We will double our efforts to improve this. The apartment itself does not seem to have met your expectations and we apologize. We offer a variety of apartments in different locations. Some apartments have multiple bedrooms, lounges and bathrooms and others are more economical. Some buildings have an elevator, but unfortunately not all do. We strive to provide accurate descriptions and pictures for all of our properties. The included services and amenities are likewise outlined to avoid misunderstandings. Although arrangements can be made for late check-in, daily cleaning and late check-out, these are not standard or advertised as included in the booked rate.
We regret the fact that you would not consider returning in the future to give us a second chance at making a good impression. Hopefully you were able to enjoy your stay in Berlin despite your dissatisfaction.

Kind regards,
Denis Freyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

I read many reviews for different hotels in Berlin and this one stood out. I'm glad I noticed others mentioned picking the keys up at a different location, but it was also in the confirmation email I received. The location to pick the keys up was close to the apartments and easy to find. The office area has many different cards with discounts and the staff is friendly and helpful.

Walk around the block to the apartment.. And walk up 4 flights of stairs. Not bad for a group of soldiers but others might want to make sure they stay on the first or second floor. 4th floor was a bit of a workout. Enter the apartment, immediately our entire party was taken with how large, clean and bright the place was. Especially that there was a bathtub (a luxury we go without) and plenty of towels. We did get a nice surprise, too... There were actually 3 beds in the back bedroom (there were 3 females on this trip) so we were able to all stay in that room while the male with us had the front bedroom to himself. Another nice little surprise... a balcony! I enjoyed having my morning coffee while watching the sun rise over Berlin.

We were happy to realize just how great the location really is, with easy access to the subway system and even within walking distance of the downtown district and TV Tower. Another plus was that we were able to leave our bags there on Sunday while we explored some more, saving us the hassle of carrying everything while we walked around killing time before dinner.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in Berlin, and would definitely stay here again. The price was decent split between 4 people and OTA was willing to let us extend our stay another night if we had needed it.

Room Tip: Try to make sure there are beds in a back bedroom, as that is the quietest area at night. We couldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

We had a 84sqm appartment in Schönhauser Allee 5. The appartment was spacious and clean. It had two bedroom, living room, a kitchen and bathroom. This appartment is good for families and a group of friends or couples. The location is great. It is near Aleksanderplatz, which has good shopping facilities. In addition, there are several delicious restaurants with reasonable prices near to the appartment. I would recommend this appartment. Everything went great. Staff was friendly and helpful. A great place to stay in Berlin!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

I’m giving it the lowest possible rating fairly or otherwise. I booked it specifically because in the photos it showed a shower. The apartment we were given had only a bath. As it was for a group I was embarrassed. When I called the Old Town Apartments company I was told ‘it must be broken’ and I said well no there is no shower. I was promised a call back. Funnily enough I got no call back, when I rang back his tone had changed to ‘no pictures on Expedia s show a shower, you’re wrong’ (which is false but where did facts ever get anyone in an argument). There wasn’t much point carrying on the conversation after he’d decided to blame me. Beyond that it’s a tired apartment with threadbare tiny towels. Very noisy street. Ok otherwise. Would like to go back to Berlin but will never use Old Town Apartments or Expedia.

Room Tip: Don't believe the pictures, it may not have a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at this apartment for four nights. Although it is located in a nice neighbourhood it is flanked by a "House of Horrors" Bar on one side and a Shisha Bar on the other side. The smell of the water pipes wafts through to your apartment whether you like it or not. Given its immediate neighbours, noisy nights are a given. To make matters worse during our stay a very noisy group was also staying there. They threw a "shrieking and doors banging" kind of party until the wee hours of the morning. We called management asking them to intervene but I am sure nothing was done because the party finally died down at ~ 4:00. Unfortunately the maintenance crew was at work, with a whipper-sniper at 8:00 am sharp, making it for a rather short night of sleep. Other nights were better, but the noise from the neighbours is inevitable.

The apartment is really clean and well appointed. It is important to call ahead of arrival, so they come and open the door for your. Overall the place has some problems that are difficult to control (immediate neighbours) but some that they could do something about (like shutting up loud parties). I would not stay at the place again and would not recommend to friends and especially those with young families.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee

Address: Schoenhauser Allee 5, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most popular Berlin district, Mitte, our apartment house boasts the old Berlin-style flair. Built in 1900, the entire building was completely renovated in 2000. Beautiful paintings in the staircase emphasize the individual style of the building. The apartments themselves are characterized in particular by their size. Families or groups of friends can especially benefit from the spacious layouts. All apartments are arranged around a landscaped courtyard. The apartments in the front building feature a street-side balcony. All apartments have fully equipped kitchens, bathrooms with tubs or showers and a free wireless-internet connection. Towels and bed linen are provided.Within walking distance of our apartment house are the Hackescher Markt area and Alexanderplatz, with the TV Tower and Museum Island. Our apartments offer the ideal base for exploring Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.