We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and clean appartment with a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee to your Saves list
Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Schoenhauser Allee 5, 10119 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cosy and clean appartment with a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a 84sqm appartment in Schönhauser Allee 5. The appartment was spacious and clean. It had two bedroom, living room, a kitchen and bathroom. This appartment is good for families and a group of friends or couples. The location is great. It is near Aleksanderplatz, which has good shopping facilities. In addition, there are several delicious restaurants with reasonable prices near to the appartment. I would recommend this appartment. Everything went great. Staff was friendly and helpful. A great place to stay in Berlin!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    29
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
15
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

I’m giving it the lowest possible rating fairly or otherwise. I booked it specifically because in the photos it showed a shower. The apartment we were given had only a bath. As it was for a group I was embarrassed. When I called the Old Town Apartments company I was told ‘it must be broken’ and I said well no there is no shower. I was promised a call back. Funnily enough I got no call back, when I rang back his tone had changed to ‘no pictures on Expedia s show a shower, you’re wrong’ (which is false but where did facts ever get anyone in an argument). There wasn’t much point carrying on the conversation after he’d decided to blame me. Beyond that it’s a tired apartment with threadbare tiny towels. Very noisy street. Ok otherwise. Would like to go back to Berlin but will never use Old Town Apartments or Expedia.

Room Tip: Don't believe the pictures, it may not have a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at this apartment for four nights. Although it is located in a nice neighbourhood it is flanked by a "House of Horrors" Bar on one side and a Shisha Bar on the other side. The smell of the water pipes wafts through to your apartment whether you like it or not. Given its immediate neighbours, noisy nights are a given. To make matters worse during our stay a very noisy group was also staying there. They threw a "shrieking and doors banging" kind of party until the wee hours of the morning. We called management asking them to intervene but I am sure nothing was done because the party finally died down at ~ 4:00. Unfortunately the maintenance crew was at work, with a whipper-sniper at 8:00 am sharp, making it for a rather short night of sleep. Other nights were better, but the noise from the neighbours is inevitable.

The apartment is really clean and well appointed. It is important to call ahead of arrival, so they come and open the door for your. Overall the place has some problems that are difficult to control (immediate neighbours) but some that they could do something about (like shutting up loud parties). I would not stay at the place again and would not recommend to friends and especially those with young families.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Modern apartment Ideal for friends or family sharing with basic kitchen facilities. Our apartment was on the 4th floor but be aware there is no lift. Found fantastic restaurants and cafés locally and was perfect for exploring the city and environs.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This apartment is the perfect place to stay when visiting Berlin! Its close to attractions, shopping and great reastaurants. We stayed at schoenhauser alle 5 but check in was at meltzer str. 8 just 5 minutes away by walk, we asked People to get us there so it was really easy. We got our own kitchen so we had breakfast at home before hitting town, it was perfect! You also get bedlinen & towels and they clean when you leave. I would really recommend this apartment to others!! 4 persons, 4 nights for just ?500.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Me, my fiance and is friend were Driving around Europe from England. Berlin was our second stop. To be honest there wasn't much we wanted to do in Berlin so we only stayed for one night.


We got there quite late and the man actually waited for us which was nice & very friendly. Parking is limited? But we found a space about 5 minute walk away.

I was a bit disappointed really as I had a 20kg suitcase and there was no lifts!! We were only on the second floor I managed to drag my suitcase up the first floor but then gave up.

The room was OK. Very basic I don't know why I just wasn't looking forward to sleeping there, but it was absolutely fine. Quite a good sleep!

The room was open plan with 3 single beds.
With kitchen and dining room - Kitchen was all equipped but we didn't use any of it.

I have no complaints to be honest it was fine for one night.

We went out when we got there, it was dark it was quite hard to find our way around but ended up in a pizza place was very nice.

We seen the Berlin wall in the morning then went to Poland.

Theres not much to say as we were only here one night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed in the apartment for for a stag weekend. Apartment was basic 3 rooms , 3 beds to a room. Communal kitchen and bathroom between the 3 rooms. There was tea and coffee in the room. Also cutlery, pots and pans and an ironing hoard.

Apartment is a 10 minute walk from the market square which has lots of bars and restaurants. The square also has the Kilkenny Irish pub which shows live football. Next to our apartment was the Marrakesch shipshape lounge which was where I spent most of my time, it has an excellent atmosphere and is not to be missed. Check out my review on the Marrakech for more detail.

Tips/things to be aware off

Take towels with you, only small towels were supplied which were a nightmare.
If you want a proper cup of tea take some tea bags with you.
To save money on food there is a supermarket 2 minutes down the road.
Watch out for cyclists as they have lanes on the pavement.
Whene you arrive they will want a 35euro deposited from each person based on 8-9 people in an apartment. Any other questions message me.

Room Tip: If you are on the third of fourth floor there is a lot of stairs and no lifts so if you struggle the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee

Address: Schoenhauser Allee 5, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most popular Berlin district, Mitte, our apartment house boasts the old Berlin-style flair. Built in 1900, the entire building was completely renovated in 2000. Beautiful paintings in the staircase emphasize the individual style of the building. The apartments themselves are characterized in particular by their size. Families or groups of friends can especially benefit from the spacious layouts. All apartments are arranged around a landscaped courtyard. The apartments in the front building feature a street-side balcony. All apartments have fully equipped kitchens, bathrooms with tubs or showers and a free wireless-internet connection. Towels and bed linen are provided.Within walking distance of our apartment house are the Hackescher Markt area and Alexanderplatz, with the TV Tower and Museum Island. Our apartments offer the ideal base for exploring Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.