We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appartment @ Mitte, Berlin” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee to your Saves list
Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Schoenhauser Allee 5, 10119 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Appartment @ Mitte, Berlin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

As mentioned in earlier Tripadvisor reviews we called the office 10 min before arrival because we did not want to wait. The person told us very nicely we could call him again at arrival and so we did. Within 10 min he was there on his bike to show us around and we got the Mozart appt on the 3rd floor.

There were 2 reasonable large bedrooms (5 separate beds with very god matrasses and pillows), a large living room, kitchen and bathroom/toilet. The appt is scarcely decorated, a flat screen tv with not much channels, but who cares. The kitchen is well equiped with electric stove, small refrigerator and magnetron. You get a free wireless code per device, so make sure you know how many devices to connect (laptop, tablet, 2 phones, etc). You can park for €5/day near the appt if you have the emission sticker, if not you can park the car a little further for €20/day. Be aware not to drive around then, because the fine w/o this sticker is €40.
The bathroom had clean towels, but the bathfoam was empty.. If you cross the Tor strasse, you'll find lots of reasonable restaurants from which I can recommend Yam-yam (Korean). The location is on walking distance from Alexander platz.

We enjoyed our stay at this appt, value for money but don't expect the luxury of a hotel.

Room Tip: At 6u30 in the morning there was some wprk in the backyard, awakening us, but furher then this there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    29
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
15
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Four of us stayed in the Strauss Apartment in this building for a weekend last month. The apartment building is in an excellent location and we walked almost everywhere. It's about a 15 minute walk to Alexanderplatz, and about 20 minutes in the other direction to the flea market in Mauer Park. The street itself has some great bars and restaurants (try the Due Forni Pizzeria!) and some excellent supermarkets and coffee shops.

The apartment is large, bright and airy, spotless and well equipped. We received a nice welcome and checked in and out without any problems. The building itself is perfectly safe and again very clean. We paid by credit card in their Metzer Strasse office (just around the corner) and again the Staff there were very friendly with loads of good tourist information for us.

So why only 3 stars? Well, two of our party had a bedroom facing on to the street, and because of the bar on the ground floor didn't get one night's decent sleep. It is to be expected that bars are going to be noisy at weekends, but if there was a warning about the noise issue on the website when I booked, then I certainly didn't see it.

I would have no hesitation about booking with this agency again, but if I chose an apartment in this building I would be sure to stipulate that it would not be facing the street. A bad night's sleep definitely impairs your enjoyment of a holiday and three noisy nights in a row is a bit hard to take!

Room Tip: Don't even dream of booking a room facing the street, unless the noise of late night revellers i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Nice clean apartment in a great location in Berlin. Plenty of light and space, we equipped kitchen. There are plenty of places to eat close by, supermarkets and other shopping. Good bathroom and comfortable beds.. We plan to come back soon.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Stayed on the second floor. Apartment is great, everything here you'll need: towels, hair dryer, kettle, oven etc also free wifi. It's a good location which is close to a supermarket n not far to walk to most touristy things. The big let down of this apartment was the noise. I got woken up by a loud thumping bass coming from next door. Wouldn't want to stay anymore than 1 or 2 nights .

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

5 of us stayed at this apartment in June 2012 for 2 nights. we paid about £60 each for the 2 nights.

Check in was very straight forward. Our 2 bedroomed apartment was amazing. Very spacious and extremley clean. The kitchen and bathroom were huge. plenty of space for the 5 of us.

The location for transport links is really good. with an underground station not even 5 minutes walk away.

There are plenty of little bars and restaurants to eat at within 20 mins walk from these apartments.

A taxi from the airport to these apartments will cost about 20 euro.

Excellent location for getting the sites in to, the raido tower isnt far and we managed to visit the wall and holocaust museum etc which are only a few underground tube stops away.

Had a fantastic 2 night break. would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee

Address: Schoenhauser Allee 5, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most popular Berlin district, Mitte, our apartment house boasts the old Berlin-style flair. Built in 1900, the entire building was completely renovated in 2000. Beautiful paintings in the staircase emphasize the individual style of the building. The apartments themselves are characterized in particular by their size. Families or groups of friends can especially benefit from the spacious layouts. All apartments are arranged around a landscaped courtyard. The apartments in the front building feature a street-side balcony. All apartments have fully equipped kitchens, bathrooms with tubs or showers and a free wireless-internet connection. Towels and bed linen are provided.Within walking distance of our apartment house are the Hackescher Markt area and Alexanderplatz, with the TV Tower and Museum Island. Our apartments offer the ideal base for exploring Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.