We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location close to Alexanderplatz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee

Save Saved
You added Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Schoenhauser Allee 5, 10119 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 307 Specialty lodging in Berlin
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    43
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
15
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived at the OTA offices we were met by a very friendly and helpful Nico. She walked us to our apartment and gave us tips of where to go to eat and drink near by.
It was quite an effort to walk up to the third floor but worth it when we got to our clean, well decorated and well equipped apartment. The bathroom was large with a decent shower and the kitchen had all we needed, even coffee and teabags which I wasn't expecting for a self-catered apartment. Only downfall was the beds although incredibly comfortable I was expecting a double but got twin beds. We pushed them together but I quite often fell through the gap!
Great location, 1 min walk to the U-bahn and only one stop to the main area of Alexanderplatz and the apartment is situated 2 doors down from the higly recommended White Trash bar and restaurant which also has live music - book before you go as always packed. Food is more american than German but delicious! Strong cocktails too...
Overall a great little apartment which suited us down to the ground in a great location and excellent value for money. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This was truly an awesome place to stay. We were a group of four friends, ending up paying a total of about €100 a night. That's not far from a hostel price, only we had complete privacy and our own kitchen, bathroom, etc! It was all modern and clean, too. Beds were big and comfortable, kitchen well-equipped and shower facilities more than adequate.

The location was excellent too, very centrally located, within walking distance of several attractions and just a paper airplane's throw from the U-bahn and trams. Also look out for the crazy restaurant next door, White Trash Fast Food, whose menu is vast and full of abusive language.

Service was top notch; just remember to call them 30 minutes ahead of your arrival, as their office is a bit up the street from the actual apartment building. You get a very decent folder with tips of what to do, both locally and around town, and the OTA office can provide you with vouchers and discounts to various sights around Berlin.

Room Tip: If you for some reason are not fully mobile, remember to ask for an apartment not too many floors up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Thank you thank you!

Our stay in Berlin was epic! and made all the better by the outstanding flat we let from yourselves.

Everything you sell on website is an understatement to the professional dealings and all round welcoming we received - also the seamless transactions with keys and cleanliness was fit for a hotel.

Jamie

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I have stayed with OTA twice now - both times in 'Victoria de LOS ANGELES' apartment, I liked it so much first time around in May 2011, that I decided to go back! The first stay was with my parents and sister visiting from New Zealand, and my partner, whilst the second trip in September was with friends. On both occasions, the accommodation was excellent, with family and friends very happy with my choice! The apartment itself was a great size, with two bedrooms and a lounge area that served as a third bedroom. There is a separate kitchen, with all mod cons. The apartment is very bright, with lots of natural light, especially in the lounge and main bedroom. Beds very comfortable, and bathroom clean. It is one of those places I could actually imagine living in permanently! One nice touch was basis being available, such as coffee grinds (for the filter machine), salt, pepper etc. The apartment is conveniently located about 5 mins walk from the metro (u-bahn), and also has supermarkets nearby for the necessities - an organic supermarket next to the metro station, and a regular one another couple of minutes away. This particular apartment was located in the same building as the OTA office - staff on both visits very friendly and helpful, including getting taxis sorted for early morning flights etc. Staff also great at responding quickly to emails with queries etc. The only downside (first visit) was the noise from the above apartment at night/early in the morning, but not so bad as to put me off!

Not discovered during the first visit but most certainly during the recent visit was the local area - Kollwitzplatz
http://www.360berlin.net/en/prenzlauer-berg-2/kollwitzplatz
Fantastic cafes, restaurants and bars to be found!

Berlin generally is a great city, I have enjoyed both visits this year, doing the usual (but interesting) tourist things, including Holocaust Memorial (near Brandenburg Gate, with museum underneath), Checkpoint Charlie museum etc. Really enjoyed the open-top city bus tour, was a great way to see the city, and got to see more than just the central city - including Berlin Wall Memorial, which I loved the most.
http://www.berliner-mauer-gedenkstaette.de/en/

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Our family stayed here 4 nights and found the apartment large, clean and super convenient to Berlin city centre. A U-Bahn station is 100 metres down the road which connects you to key locations in the city. It is also a short walk to Alexander Platz. There are some good, cheap restaurants close by and a few playgrounds if so inclined.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee

Also Known As:
Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee Hotel Berlin
Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee Hotel
Address: Schoenhauser Allee 5, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 307 Specialty lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most popular Berlin district, Mitte, our apartment house boasts the old Berlin-style flair. Built in 1900, the entire building was completely renovated in 2000. Beautiful paintings in the staircase emphasize the individual style of the building. The apartments themselves are characterized in particular by their size. Families or groups of friends can especially benefit from the spacious layouts. All apartments are arranged around a landscaped courtyard. The apartments in the front building feature a street-side balcony. All apartments have fully equipped kitchens, bathrooms with tubs or showers and a free wireless-internet connection. Towels and bed linen are provided.Within walking distance of our apartment house are the Hackescher Markt area and Alexanderplatz, with the TV Tower and Museum Island. Our apartments offer the ideal base for exploring Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, EasyToBook, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.