We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money, would recommend this hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stresemannstrasse 49, 10963 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #181 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for money, would recommend this hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Just back from berlin, had 4 superb nights at this hotel. Friendly staff excellent breakfast
great location u bhan just round the corner. Quiet area but still very central to the city. Would stay again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear james3371,
thank you very much for choosing our hotel and your review.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at your next stay in Berlin.
Sincerely
Jens Meissner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    417
    158
    32
    16
See reviews for
229
261
62
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oradea
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel is more than average, but not very good which is a next step.
The location is very good, the room was fine, but the bathroom so small (but every inch is used as much as possible, German minds confirm technical ingenuity). We had a view to Postamer Platz and Sony Center which colors in the night were very beautiful. The breakfast was a little disappointing for a german breakfast. We had a better and richer breakfast in Paris where is known is usually a poorer breakfast.
Finely, if we go again in Berlin, maybe we'll choose it again, because from there you can walk to Postdamer Platz in 10 minutes, to Brandenburg Gate in 15 minutes, to Friedrichstraße, Unter Den Linden boulevard, and the old Anhalter Bahnhof ruins are just next to hotel (this being one of not so many original old historical buildings which remained in Berlin)
The taxi is easy of access, from Tegel airport to hotel was just 20 euro, so you can use the cab (all Mercedes or Toyota).
We were there in the day of Berlin Marathon and it was a fantastic atmosphere, go there if you can, you will feel that energy with all your body and your mind. Next days you can visit the city with its history, Museums and traditional brewers. In the evening you'll enjoy to come back in your quiet, warm and clean hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Dianamd07,

Thank you for taking your time to write such a nice review about our hotel. I am sorry that we could not meet all your expectations with our extended continental buffet breakfast with different kinds of sausage, cheese, yogurt,a choice of bread, jam, fresh fruits , boiled eggs, croissants, cakes and a variety of juices and tea and coffee specialities.

We look forward to welcome you back at your next stay in Berlin
Kind regards
Jens Meissner
Genearl Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I booked this hotel on a last minute trip, knowing that it was in a very central, well positioned location for the tourist activities that I wanted to complete. For that task, it performed as a mostly-clean room, quiet, mostly comfortable place to call home base while spending most time on foot and in trains in the city.

My first night there I wanted to change hotels. While the staff was excellent and attentive (though without showing much personality) the decor of the hotel felt cold and lifeless. The lobby was clean, the breakfast area was excellent (though over populated around 10 a.m. each day, to the point that I wanted to turn around and pay for breakfast somewhere) and the elevators were well maintained.

I also learned that the stairwells are well maintained because at times the elevators can be over-populated as well.

The hallways were clean and nice. The room itself where the bed is was modernized acceptably, though the carpets showed the past life of stains around the edges, and the walls had some splats and scuffs that makes me feel unhappy with mid-term cleaning routines.

The bathroom was certainly clean to my expectations, though it showed some age compared to the rest of the room. It featured an interesting swing door that can either close to the shower & toilet, or it can close the toilet in its own little box. Quaint.

I would not choose to stay here again because a vacation for me also usually entails an interesting little hotel with some uniqueness to it, or having been maintained almost to perfection. This hotel was not that. But if you are looking for a clean room, a value on price and a good central location this hotel may meet your needs.

The hotel is about a 2 block walk from the S or U trains, and is in a sort of sleepy part of the city. Not a lot of sidewalk life or shops, but quite near to some art halls/museums. If you want to be central, but sleep in a quieter area, this could also be an area for you.

If I could provide some suggestion to the hotel, provide incentive for groups to use breakfast at different times, because the overcrowdedness of breakfast was unacceptable. Additionally, mid level cleaning needs brought up a notch, so things like splats of unknown stuff under the window and luggage marks on the walls are taken care of. Room 411.

Room Tip: Choose a low floor if you don't want to wait a long time for elevators. They seem to be quite ja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear thatchman1,
Thank you for taking time to write a review.
I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay.
On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Center.

Kind regards
Jens Meissner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs,Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October. The rooms were very clean and well equipped with everything you would need for a short break. The TV even had a choice of UK channels that although not essential was nice to see. Breakfast was a full on continental, with all things you would not normally eat in the morning i.e. cooked meats and salami's,cheese and cakes! Although pastries, toast yoghurt and fruit were also available the choice was very good.
As my daughter reminded me where else in Europe would you have what most people would consider a dinner for breakfast (egg,bacon sausage, black pudding,hash browns, beans etc) Only in England!! Would defiantly stay here again, the location is excellent for museums and a short 20 minute walk to the Brandenburg Gate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear rebelwaltz,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel.
I´m happy that you like our rooms, our breakfast, our free wifi and our central location.

On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Center.

Kind regards
Jens Meissner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel probably 6 times now. It is near the historic center of the city and relatively inexpensive. Tour groups use this hotel because of the value it provides so the breakfast and the lobby can be crowded at times. It is within walking distance of many historical sites and a block or 2 away for the U-bahn and S-bahn systems to take you all over the city. Several reasonable restaurants nearby as well as a grocery across the street. I usually visit in September after the summer rush and have never had a problem here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear IndyTrav9,

Thank you for taking time to create a review about our hotel.
It is always a pleasure to have feedback from our guest.
On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Center.

Kind regards
Jens Meissner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Good location only about 400 yds from Potsdamer. Rooms were clean and functional - no frills but it is an Express version of the holiday Inn so as expected. Room was warm at night with great pillows! Only critiscm was the wardrobe was an open design with little space for shelving (we were a 3 night stay, but would be fine for a 1 or 2 nightwear).

Lounge area sits next to the open bar which has fast free WiFi (pay for it in the rooms). Breakfast area is large and selection and quality were good - coffee and tea selection is very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear johnxhamilton,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel.
I´m happy that you like our rooms, our breakfast, our free wifi and our central location.

On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Center.

Kind regards
Jens Meissner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express is so busy with both tourists and business people, it felt more like being in a train station, with all the going and the coming. Nevertheless our room on the 6th floor was very quiet. The 6th floor is for IHG club members. Wonder what the difference is with the other floors, because it didn't feel any different - and I have stayed at the HIE on Kurfürstenstrasse in a regular twin room which was exactly the same : room is small with twin beds, small bathroom, writing desk with 1 chair (why always 1 chair in a double/twin room ???) a water boiler with tea and coffee and a TV. Unfortunately you cannot put the beds together since there's a small table in between which holds a telephone. No wifi in the room; only in the lobby which at times can be crowded with people and their tablets in the sofas.
The first evening we found out the shower wasn't working. But that was fixed immediately the next morning.
Breakfast is included in the room rate. Not bad, but not really quality food items. I remember the breakfast we had in HIE Kurfürstenstrasse being better.
I suggest coming for breakfast before 8 am, because afterwards it gets really very, very busy.
The location is OK, but at least 15 minutes fast walk to Potsdamer Platz and a few minutes from Anhalter Bahnhof S-Bahn station.
Across from the hotel there's a small Netto supermarket (kind of Lidl) if you need something.
We paid 82 € and all in all it was relatively good value for the money, considering the moment.

Room Tip: Highest floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Dezdemona,
Thank you for taking time to create a review about our hotel.
It is always a pleasure to have feedback from our guest.
I´m sorry that we could not provide you fully satisfactory.
Our air-conditioned rooms are functional, with hairdryer, satellite TV, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities and a telephone and high speed internet access invite them for short stay in Berlin.

Kind regards

Jens Meissner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre

Address: Stresemannstrasse 49, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#142 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay smart! at the Express by Holiday Inn Hotel Berlin City Centre perfectly located at the Tempodrom and just 10 minutes walking distance from the new center of Berlin, the famous Potsdamer Platz and the Sony Center. The beautiful and grand Friedrichstrasse, Unter den Linden, Check Point Charlie and the storied Brandenburg Gate can easily be reached. Also the legendary boulevard Kurfuerstendamm, the well known department store KaDeWe and the Alexanderplatz are easily accessible. Great connections to both fair grounds and the airports Tegel (TXL) and Schoenefeld (SXF).After a good sleep in one of our 256 modern rooms, all with air condition, high speed internet and coffee and tea maker, start with our complimentary buffet breakfast, possibly enjoying our summer terrace. At our Business Corner in the lobby we offer Free WIFI.If on business, make a bargain with our BUSINESS PACKAGE or for leisure, buy tickets for Madame Tussauds, Legoland, Berlin Sightseeing or Concerts (Holiday on Ice, Lionel Richie, Robin Gibb) directly at the reception.Kids Stay Free Policy at the Express by Holiday Inn Hotel Berlin City Centre: Children under 18 years stay free in their parents' room using the sofa bed.Meet Smart! At Express by Holiday Inn Hotel Berlin City Centre meetings and trainings for up to 45 people will be a great success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre Hotel Berlin
Holiday Inn Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.