We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stresemannstrasse 49, 10963 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #177 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Schweinfurt, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My family and I enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was okay and included so no complaints there. Free wireless is only available in the lobby. If you want to be n the center of things this is not the hotel for you. It's a 5 min walk to Checkpoint Charlie. If you have a family of 5 or more prepare to pay for 2 rooms. It is best to park your car at the hotel for 4euro the entire stay. Transportation is available by train, bus, or taxi. The bus tours are okay too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Google Translation
Hallo Kitay,

vielen Dank dass Sie sich die Zeit für diese Bewertung genommen haben.
Es freut mich sehr dass Ihnen unser Hotel zugesagt hat.

Und ich hoffe ich darf Sie bald wieder bei uns Willkommen heißen.

Beste Grüße aus Berlin

Ferdinand Lechner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    417
    161
    33
    14
See reviews for
186
234
56
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've just returned from spending four nights here with my wife and son. As previous reviews have said this is your typical HIE. Clean and tidy and with an excellent free buffet breakfast. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and as an added bonus they all spoke English. Check in/out we're both easy and stress free. The hotel is perfectly situated for sightseeing. It's a comfortable 10 minute walk to Potsdamer Platz or the Topography of Terror and 15 mins to Checkpoint Charlie. The S Bahn at Anhalter Banhof is less than 5 minutes away. There's also a Netto directly across the street which is open until 22.00. Perfect for cheap beer, wine and chocolates to take back to your room. Would have no hesitation about staying here again the next time we visit Berlin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear SteveHammer,

thank you very much for this nice review.
I´m very happy that you enjoy your stay and that you will comeback on your next trip to Berlin.

I will share your comment about our staff with the rest of the team.

We would be very pleased if you would choose our hotel again for your next Berlin trip.

Kind regards

Ferdinand Lechner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Close to the U and S Bahn and nicely located south of Potsdamer Platz. Good neighborhood, slightly student oriented, but safe. Hotel was what you would expect for a HIX, no complaints since they met my expectations. Wish they had WIFI in the rooms, not just the lobby. Breakfast was all you would need to start the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you for your review.
I´ts nice to hear that you enjoy your stay and have a good time.
I´m happy that you like our hotel!
We would be very pleased if you would choose our hotel again for your next Berlin trip.

Kind regards

Ferdinand Lechner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a three star hotel with a perfect location and great staff. The rooms are very small and there are not many amenities.

When we arrived, they only had smoking rooms available. Both of these rooms reeked of cigarettes and really exacerbated my allergies. I had to leave this hotel immediately and find accommodation elsewhere.

The staff is very helpful. The hotel was completely full with so many visitors and there were only two people at the front desk. These poor young ladies were being overworked but still had smiles on their faces. They still went out of their way to help us to find accommodation elsewhere.

Antionette Wein provided five star service. She provided us the contact information for the Crowne Plaza and Intercontinental hotels not too far away in West Berlin where we were able to find suitable accommodations for our trip.

Overall, this is a three star hotel with an excellent central location. The hotel is not very expensive so you cannot really expect that much. If you have never stayed in a three star hotel before then this hotel is NOT for you. I certainly learned my lesson here and will never book a three star hotel ever again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Kikip 7,

thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
I´m very happy that you like our location and our price.
But the best on your review is the comment about my colleagues at the front office!
I will share your review with the two lady´s.

And i hope you give us a new chanche on your next trip to Berlin.

Best regards

Ferdinand Lechner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

A holiday Inn Express is what it is. A reasonable value hotel in a fairly good position, being only a short walk from Potsdamer Platz.

The rooms are basic but do include tae and coffee facilities which are a plus. The breakfast, continental cold cuts, fruit, bread, cakes and pastries is OK(ish), was hoping to get a some of the famous German Sausage, but not available. No one asks for your room number here so anyone could pop in for a free breakfast! Perhaps this was why it was so crowded!

There is also a bar next to the reception area with lounge chairs where you can relax.

The reception area have a couple of PCs free for use so you can print out your boarding passes, but the most pleasing thing was the helpful staff on reception. The 2 girls there when I booked in during the afternoon of 07 May where especially helpful with very good linguistic skills - note to the management - keep hold of them, they are a great asset to you.

Berlin is not a city that is really walkable. I did something I don't usually do, which is to take the tourist bus and note where the sights are. It is a hop-on, hop-off service running every 10 mins., and the ticket lasts for 48 hours. After that you can use the integrated bus and train service which is very good and very cheap - a trip or trips can be used on a single ticket for 2 hours for only 2.40 €.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear ianandpasturesnew,

thank you very much for your nice review.
I´m very happy that you enjoy your stay, our breakfast, the cental location and our service.

I will share this nice comment with the both lady´s of the reception.
And i hope that you come again to us on your next berlintrip.

Kind regards

Ferdinand Lechner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here 6 nights and have little to complain about. Room was compact but newly remodeled.
Didn't spend much time in the room as there is so much to see in Berlin.
The property's location is walking distance to Potsdamer Platz, Martin Groupis, Terror and Jewish museums. Bus service is a block away as well as the U Bahn. Easy to get to the Museum Island and the Culture Area. There's a grocery store across the street and a number of decent restaurants.
Free wi-fi in the lobby - not in the room. That's Ok with me as I paid 23.00 euros a day in Rome.
Good breakfast selections and a nice bar in the lobby.
Staff was very helpful and friendly. Would stay here again.
Con: No body lotion in the bathroom. Yes, there's a empty lot next to the property but it probably won't be there for long as Berlin is in a building boom.

Room Tip: Request a room that does overlook the empty lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear monreale1101,

thank you for taking time to write this review.
I´m happy that you enjoy your stay and like our remodeled rooms, the cental location of our hotel,our breakfast and our friendly staff.

I´m sorry for the empty lotion on our room, i will share your comment with our housekeeping.

On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back!

Kind regards

Ferdinand Lechner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We asked for a quiet, non smoking room on a low floor. What we got was a room above the bar that was noisy in the evenings til 01.30 and the smoke( which rises) filled our room while we were trying to sleep. It's supposed to be a non smoking hotel. However, location good, breakfast good and fresh (a little like a cattle market when hotel full) and the rooms are kept clean. Staff very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review.
I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay.
I´m happy that you enjoy your stay nevertheless.
And I´m happy that you like our staff, our central location and our breakfast.

On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back!

Kind regards

Ferdinand Lechner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre

Address: Stresemannstrasse 49, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Family Hotel in Berlin
#124 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay smart! at the Express by Holiday Inn Hotel Berlin City Centre perfectly located at the Tempodrom and just 10 minutes walking distance from the new center of Berlin, the famous Potsdamer Platz and the Sony Center. The beautiful and grand Friedrichstrasse, Unter den Linden, Check Point Charlie and the storied Brandenburg Gate can easily be reached. Also the legendary boulevard Kurfuerstendamm, the well known department store KaDeWe and the Alexanderplatz are easily accessible. Great connections to both fair grounds and the airports Tegel (TXL) and Schoenefeld (SXF).After a good sleep in one of our 256 modern rooms, all with air condition, high speed internet and coffee and tea maker, start with our complimentary buffet breakfast, possibly enjoying our summer terrace. At our Business Corner in the lobby we offer Free WIFI.If on business, make a bargain with our BUSINESS PACKAGE or for leisure, buy tickets for Madame Tussauds, Legoland, Berlin Sightseeing or Concerts (Holiday on Ice, Lionel Richie, Robin Gibb) directly at the reception.Kids Stay Free Policy at the Express by Holiday Inn Hotel Berlin City Centre: Children under 18 years stay free in their parents' room using the sofa bed.Meet Smart! At Express by Holiday Inn Hotel Berlin City Centre meetings and trainings for up to 45 people will be a great success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre Hotel Berlin
Holiday Inn Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.