We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ackselhaus

Save Saved
You added Ackselhaus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ackselhaus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belforter Str. 21, 10405 Berlin, Germany (Prenzlauer Berg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 665 hotels in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I've travelled a great deal and never had a breakfast as good as this hotel: as varied, high quality or luxurious. Or one that goes on so late: 11.30am on weekdays and 12.30 at weekends.
The hotel itself is magical and totally delightful. The communal gardens and conservatory are gorgeous. The staff are friendly and efficient. Prenzlauer Berg itself is wonderful: chic, idiosyncratic and artistic. A fantastic atmosphere. Exactly like the hotel itself. We were very, very happy here and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    25
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
70
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ackselhaus for three nights in August. I discovered this hotel after reading a few forums online and it was recommended by someone who said they wouldn't stay anywhere else in Berlin. I visited the website and decided this was exactly where I wanted to be. The Prenzlauer Berg neighborhood that it's located in is an absolute gem and my husband and I both agreed that it was the best area of all of Berlin. It was close to the train, tons of cute bars and restaurants, and the immediate neighborhood is just all-around fabulous. The staff was so helpful and really went above and beyond for us. For example, we had an early flight when we checked out and so we were unable to get to the breakfast room in time before it opened. The girl at the front desk arranged for the restaurant (which always provided an excellent and filling breakfast) to pack us a to-go box for us to take on our cab ride over. We stayed in the Maritime room, which was the only room available at the time of our booking, but it was probably the one I would have chosen anyway. It was incredibly comfortable (air conditioning included!) and the decorations were perfect - it felt like we were in a cottage in Nantucket. The outdoor area was a comfortable and relaxing place to spend time. It even included an outdoor bed! So cool. I cannot say enough about how wonderful it was to stay here. I definitely would recommend it - amazing, amazing hotel!!

Room Tip: Either building is fabulous is in its own right - you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spend a week-end in the Ackselhaus and would rate it among the most pleasant hotels we've ever stayed in. Don't miss it if you want to enjoy Berlin at its best!

The things that we enjoyed the most: the interior/exterior design; the trustful atmosphere; and the location.

Re: design
The hotel consists of two buildings in the close proximity. They were clearly designed by a very talented interior architect. The attention to detail is impressive and yet effortless, very much in tune with the artsy and alternative neighborhood. We asked for a quiet room with lots of daylight, an almost impossible combination for a downtown hotel. We got the room called Burton Holmes, that was exactly what we asked for, plus full of quirky and playful design details.

Re: trustful atmosphere
We liked that the hotel treats its guests with a lot of trust - the are no mini bars in the rooms, but in the lobby there is a place, where one can get any drinks or snacs off the shelf and simply sign up for it on a piece of paper. Another example was the parking. We arrived by car and parked it on the street in front of the hotel. The receptionist gave us a resident parking card that reduced the daily parking fee from about 30 Euro per day to 5 and did not charge it for the first night. The charming explanation was that it was too complicated to bother about ...

Re: location
A lot had been said in the other reviews. We would recommend the Italian resturant on the nearby corner (Sapori e...) . Their Linguine with truffles were superb! Also the Saturday open-air food market is great. One more thing - lots of car parking everywhere, in case you decide to come by car.

Things to improve (nothing is ever perfect...): reading lights. We would ask for better reading lights in the bed.

Room Tip: Burton Holmes is quiet and with lots of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Super room...really big and fun decor,busts of Napoleon and Ceasar! I loved the tub next to the big, comfortable bed! There was also a shower if you didn't want to take a bath. Everything was super except no air conditioning and it was HOT. They put a fan in the room which helped and the garden downstairs was fantastic.. we could cool off under the awnings with a breeze and the small pool was charming. The hotel is close to some super restaurants and a weekend market! We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

What a nice place, who would not want to live here? The building, the entrance, the inner garden, the orangerie, the well kept ornamented ceilings, it is a feast for your eyes. Everything a business or spoiled leisure traveller needs, is available.

My friend and I shared an apartment, with one bed in the bedroom and one in the livingroom. This way we both had our own area, but at the same time enjoyed each others company.

Room Tip: When your room faces the inner garde of the blue house, at night you can enjoy the pleasant sound of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed in the Blue House, the sister accomodation 2 doors down from the Ackselhaus. A short walk to the tram and then to the subway for easy commute to wherever we wanted to go. A local neighborhood with many restaurants, though not many German. Room with entry hall and large bedroom by European standards. It would have been better if 2 chairs were provided with the table. Breakfast buffet was extensive and i wish the weather was nicer so we could have sat outside for breakfast. Our 3 night stay would have ended on a high note, except for the "out of order" sign on the elevator the morning we were leaving. An advance warning of this scheduled maintenance would have been nice. Did I mention we were on the 5th floor. Thump, thump, thump down the stairs we came with our luggage.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel outdid our expectations. Our room was beautifully furnished with one of a kind pieces, the complimentary breakfast was incredible, they rent apple i-pads for $6/day, the patio is inviting and there were drinks and snacks awaiting our return. Everything was impeccable. The price was startlingly reasonable! Ackselhaus is in a pleasant neighborhood, three blocks from the subway station, three stops to museum island.

Room Tip: Our room had an over-size bathroom with a cot, so one person could comfortable read or email without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ackselhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ackselhaus

Address: Belforter Str. 21, 10405 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#35 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#56 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ackselhaus 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ackselhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ackselhaus Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ackselhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.