We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A winner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ackselhaus

Save Saved
You added Ackselhaus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ackselhaus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belforter Str. 21, 10405 Berlin, Germany (Prenzlauer Berg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel outdid our expectations. Our room was beautifully furnished with one of a kind pieces, the complimentary breakfast was incredible, they rent apple i-pads for $6/day, the patio is inviting and there were drinks and snacks awaiting our return. Everything was impeccable. The price was startlingly reasonable! Ackselhaus is in a pleasant neighborhood, three blocks from the subway station, three stops to museum island.

Room Tip: Our room had an over-size bathroom with a cot, so one person could comfortable read or email without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    25
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
74
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Fabulous 25th anniversary trip, room was spotless, hotel was filled with tiny details and quaint items. Bottle of Cava was waiting chilled in our room when we arrived from the staff.

Service at breakfast was lovely with attentive waitress. Nothing was too much trouble and the little conservatory area prefect for a drink when the weather was less than perfect.

The area nearby had lots to do from nice bars, beer gardens to flea market. I would love to travel there again and would stay at the same hotel for sure. Many thanks to the team there.
Linda

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

What an oasis in Berlin, nutrition for the soul! And probably the best service personel I have ever met. The rooms where well cleaned and the beds great to sleep in. I'm not exaggerating. The only thing missing that I can think about is a safety box in the room, but that is handled by the reception.

Room Tip: We had the rooms on the ground floor in the back garden (Blue home). Yet quiet and discrete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Home wish is the building next door to the Ackselhaus but it’s the same hotel.
The atmosphere is fantastic, the location is great and the breakfast is very nice!
Not far away from the hotel you have a road with different cafes, restaurants and bars.
This must be the nicest area in Berlin!
We hade a studio with one room and it was perfectly enough for 2 nights. They also have different suites wish I think we will try next time…
The only negative thing is that they only take maestro card and cash.
Anyway, I promise you, you will not be disappointed if you choose this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are not on a busy down town schedule this is the place to be. In prenzlauerberg with all the nice restaurants and cafe's nearby you have this charming hotel. Most of the rooms have a theme and, we have been in two this year, are very nice. A proper german breakfast is possible. The building and garden have lots of charm. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Tranquil and recharging.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Read the reviews and things looked promising. What a mistake we made in going here. Leaky ceilings,terrible service,unfriendly personnel...I actually dreaded going back to the cold dark room every night. The only plus would be good location and good breakfasts...but alot of hotels have that.Maybe if we had a room in the front of the building,but that faces a school.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

It's some time since my parents stayed at the Ackselhaus, but i must say neither the disappointment nor the insult have much subsided since. I've booked the hotel for them as we live very near-by and i've seen the hotel many times and it always looked very-very appetizing. My parents are elderly, my father walks very badly, and they came to Berlin for two weeks, so they needed some place that's more than a hotel -- i.e. kitchenette and "living space" in addition to bedroom and also wanted to stay as close as possible to us. I made an appointment and came to see the room they'd be offered in advance, just to make sure it'll meet their (admittedly, and unashamedly, very) high standards. It seemed lovely, although very small/compact, so i went ahead and booked. For two full weeks!
When i booked i asked whether there's a similar room with balcony and as there was one, i asked to book that, being assured it is the same "type" (that'll become critical subsequently).
My parents came and were very disappointed. i couldn't come over the first night but thought it was odd. My mother's descriptions also didn't seem to cohere with what i've seen and thought i booked. The next morning I came and was... well, appalled. It was NOT the room/studio i was shown -- not by a long shot. And it seemed also poorly maintained, with peeling wallpaper, etc. To my mother's complaints, and then mine, there was first a really angry response, then a bit more helpful, but still resentful. Finally, they could only move to the same kind of room, right above the one they received, but better maintained. it was an improvement, but not enough -- the kitchenette is not really useful. The living space is not really a space, the sofa is not really usable, everything is cramped and small and somehow inconvenient.
Finally, my parents got really desperate and as they were offered nothing that was viable (as distinguished from a seemingly lovely flat, third floor with no elevator -- after seeing my father... .that was a bit shocking, i must say. the very cheek of the offer!) they decided to leave three nights in advance and go out of Berlin. We announced this to hotel staff three days in advance[!!!] and they were not only surprised[?!] but appalled. just totally annoyed. they also clarified to my mother that they will be required to pay for the entire pre-booked period regardless of early notice, not to mention their evident, on-going and well-known dissatisfaction/unhappiness with/in hotel. There followed several talks, very bitter, very vindictive, with several very unhelpful staff members at the end of which we asked to talk to manager/owner and told they were not there, nor could be gotten hold of -- although it seemed pretty clear they were there, even present some of the time... Finally, we were told charge for three last nights would be waived if -- and only if -- the rooms would be "sold" to other guests. We were terribly, desperately angry and we said so, we also said how very disappointing the whole experience was, and finally, i wrote to complain to the site through which i booked the hotel. Ten days after my parents' departure, we received a courteous mail from the hotel with not one word of acknowledgement, let alone apology -- only to say the room was after all "sold" so charge was waived. That's it.
Other than this story, we found hotel to be very-very mediocre. somehow all posh and glitz, no substance: most of the day -- my father was there on/off most of the day, most days -- it felt rather deserted, staff was extremely impersonal and unhelpful, room/studio was extremely small and airless. A/C is nothing of the kind -- but rather some movable device which felt more like a ventilator, and maintenance is at best reasonable.
As my father did need the elevator to get to their second floor studio, we were also appalled to find it was used rather too frequently by cleaners and maintenance and so was unavailable far too frequently for guests use.
So finally, there remains the location, which really is excellent if you want Prenzlauerberg and nothing else (as my parents did). But that's SO not enough!! and there is so much, and so much of better value in area.

Room Tip: if you are taking the lower-tier rooms/studios, make sure you're given the one's to the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ackselhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ackselhaus

Address: Belforter Str. 21, 10405 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#62 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ackselhaus 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Ackselhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ackselhaus Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ackselhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.