We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, not quite what I expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ackselhaus

Save Saved
You added Ackselhaus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ackselhaus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belforter Str. 21, 10405 Berlin, Germany (Prenzlauer Berg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 665 hotels in Berlin
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Excellent location, not quite what I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I ended 10 days in Germany with two nights in Ackselhaus. I had spent another 5 nights in former West Berlin, and two nights in Dresden, and wanted some contrast so I chose to stay in Prenzlauer Berg to experience a different neighborhood. For location, it's excellent. There are more incredible restaurants so nearby that I'd need to stay a month to try them all. And it was so easy to get to Museum Island and other sights in that part of the city.

My room was on the 5th floor, so that required the elevator to the 4th floor, then walking up a flight of stairs with luggage to the room. I had the golf-themed room, which was more masculine than my tastes but it was tastefully decorated. I wish now I had requested a particular room as they were portrayed on the website. The room was spacious, the bed was large and the bathroom good sized. Everything was very clean. The room had hardwood floors, so it made it a bit creaky. I also heard a good deal of comings and goings from other guests, as the outdoors doors and floors are creaky too. I loved having sofas and a table to use though. Free wifi was great as well.

There was some street noise as there was a pub or something nearby that lent itself to rowdy passersby, so closed the window both nights to sleep.

I am not a fan of having to go outside and down the street for breakfast, that was just a minor inconvenience. The offerings were excellent though and the staff was very friendly.

There seems to be some confusion about whether credit cards are accepted or not both here on TA and at the hotel itself. I initially declined the reservation when told it was cash-only, but the manager reversed that decision via email to me, so I accepted. On check-out, the desk staff needed to be told that the manager said credit card was ok, and after some difficulty, the credit card charge was processed (not Visa though, only MC). I would suggest ironing out that policy one way or the other.

Ultimately, I'm not sure whether this was good value for the price for me. While I loved the location and the restaurants nearby, I stayed in two other hotels with lower rates and better over value that same week.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    25
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
70
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
madison, wi
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed for three nights in the Blue House and everything was top notch. The staff was friendly and always willing to help. The rooms were clean, spacious and eclectically decorated. The location is great with many shops, restaurants, transportation w/in easy walking distance. The garden in the middle is a cozy place to relax and breakfast, (included with the room is served in the cafe on the property itself) was well done with a variety of foods on the buffet to choose from. The only thing to watch for: we were given the impression that credit cards were not permitted and that we would have to pay cash for our room...this is not true, they do accept major credit cards. We would highly recommend this boutique hotel and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and totally enjoyed this hotel. It's very cosy and nicely maintained with a lovely garden in the centre for guests to relax after a long day out in Berlin. Rooms are beautifully decorated and spacious - we booked late and got one of the smallest but were very happy with it. Value was great and breakfast (included) was delicious and nicely laid out (though mainly continental with some warm boiled eggs). The service was great (although more like serviced appt. than hotel style) and there were thoughtful touches like a covered plate of small pastries in the garden in
the afternoons and little blankets. I spent a nice afternoon on the terrace daybed after a long day out. We will be back - hopefully for longer and maybe this time the African room...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I had been to Ackselhaus before and I have always longed to come back. It cannot be defined as a Hotel, since the rooms are apartments in a block of building in Prenzlauer Berg, which is one of my favourite areas in Berlin.
You really feel at home and the furniture is creative and not standard. Every room is different.
The breakfast is one of the best and most pleasant I have ever had anywhere.
Rooms are clean and well equipped and most rooms have a small kitchen if you wish to dine in the apartment.
When you exit in the street you can hear your footsteps and Ackselhaus is just a few meters from a tramway to Alexanderplats, that is easy to reach on foot anyway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed there the last few days of our 16 day vacation and it was like a home away from home...a really fabulous, chic home.
Its like being in a photo shoot for Elle decor magazine! Amazing, comfortable luxury. Must go...we had the Afrika suite. Lovely and amazing giant tub with chromotherapy and a huge flat screen TV...try the bubble baths.
Great location too! lots of wonderful trendy bars and restaurants in walking distance.
Right on the tram line, so easy...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

What a wonderful hotel. If you are staying in Berlin and want a modern, cloned, character-free hotel owned by a multinational soulless corporation, then this really isn’t the place for you. It’s an old building that has been refurbished (not converted) that still retains a lot of the characteristics built into it’s 100+ year existence so expect an old house – because it is.

The reception on arrival was quick, efficient and very cheerful and it was explained that the Reception was not manned 24 hours but we would still be able to obtain assistance if we needed it and a telephone number was provided to us. During the 3 nights we stayed here, we only saw a minimal number of staff.

We stayed in the main Ackselhaus building in the ‘Kairo’ room which we specifically requested by sending an email (in my poor-ish German) to the hotel about 7 weeks in advance and about a month after we had made the booking. An almost immediate return email (in immaculate English) confirmed that we could stay in the room of my wife’s choice. What a wonderful, wonderful room. The photographs on the website are really good but don’t give you the overall feel of the room as a whole. The room is better than they illustrate. Much better.

The bathroom is on the small side but the shower is quite large and the bathtub in the main part of the room is huge and plenty big enough for (ahem) two people. We loved the bath so much, we are looking to buy a similar one for our own house.

A really nice feature of the room is movement-sensor floor lighting. The bed area is raised on a low-level platform with integrated lighting fixed on the vertical edge. There is also a movement sensor that turn on the lighting when movement is detected and all the other lighting is off – so when going to the bathroom in the middle of the night, the low-level lighting precludes the need to scrabble around for a light in unfamiliar surroundings.

There is a small fridge located in the wardrobe, although it is not a stocked mini-bar. There is a mini bar available in the foyer that looks like it works on an honesty principle, although we didn’t make use of it. If you wanted to stock the fridge with your own drinks, then there is a medium-sized supermarket just two minutes from the hotel on the corner of Prenzlauer Allee.

Although it’s an old house there is access via lift at the rear of the house, tucked away in a corner of the delightful, secluded and relaxing courtyard that complements the house beautifully.
Breakfast is optional (at an extra cost of 15 Euros per person) and available in the Blue House about 20 feet from the entrance to the Ackselhaus entrance. We had breakfast on just one morning and it was extremely pleasant to sit out in a pavement café setting with a continental-style breakfast to start our day. There is also a restaurant between the Ackselhaus and the Blue House which was also very good and well worth a visit even if it is only for a quiet drink at the end of the day.

The location of the hotel is really handy if you want to base yourself in the Mitte / Prenzlauer Berg area of the city. We bought a 72 hour BVG pass which covers trains, trams, U-bahn, S-bahn and buses in the city and the hotel is a mere 3 stops (5 minutes or so) on the tram from the hotel to Alexander Platz from where you can explore the entire city as this is a busy public transport hub. The area around the hotel has plenty of restaurants and bars, so you don’t have to go that far if you don’t want to.

Shall we go back to this hotel if we ever return to Berlin? You betcha!!

Room Tip: Get your wife or partner to choose it !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great place with nice rooms, garden and great breakfast. Fun decorating, and not at all like a typical hotel.
Also a nice area around the water tower park with lots of nice restaurant and bars.
Rent a bike nearby and see the city. An easy nice ride to the major sites.
Would happily return.

Room Tip: Website has lots of room pics, they are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ackselhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ackselhaus

Address: Belforter Str. 21, 10405 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#86 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ackselhaus 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ackselhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ackselhaus Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ackselhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.