We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ackselhaus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ackselhaus to your Saves list
Ackselhaus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belforter Str. 21, 10405 Berlin, Germany (Prenzlauer Berg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Highly recommended - I was very pleased with this hotel from the prompt correspondence and ease of planning our stay to all the wonderful details and amenities offered. I agree with the other reviews that this hotel is in a great location - walking distance to many tourist sites and just a 15 minute walk away from the subway system, and a block from a cab stand; it's in an eclectic/culturally diverse community with plentiful restaurant options and varying ethnic cuisine. The nightlife, well, we never really found that... There are many places to have wine in dim romantic settings or plush couches that give the presentation that you are sitting in someone's home but, if you enjoy bands/live music, that for some reason we never found.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    26
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
85
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011 via mobile

I could live here!!!! The rooms are massive (we were in Rom). Luxuries abound but not necessarily the material kind. The experience is so much more important than fluffy towels and moisturizer!! The staff are so friendly and helpful. Breakfast is gorgeous in the Cafe del Mar with fish tanks and gorgeous artwork. What's not to love! I will be back that's for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I read all the reviews here and was a bit skeptical about how everyone was raving of this place. I take that all back. Had a wonderful stay. What a great find and I wish I had discovered it earlier. I had room 503 and couldn't of been happier. I can imagine that were it warmer, the lack of air conditioning may have been an issue being on the top floor but otherwise, everything was great. I really like the mix of older architecture with modern design. Plenty of space and a very comfortable bed too. Finally, a rain shower head which I love in hotel bathrooms. Everything was top-notch clean, staff were courteous and helpful, the hotel was easy to find and was conveniently located. I highly recommend this place if you need a hotel in Berlin which is neither an Econo-box or a chain. Lots of nice little touches to make it a home-away-from-home if you are in town for a couple days.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Located in the Prenzlauer Berg section of Berlin this hotel was wonderful. Great service, excellent breakfast and the two bedroom apartment we had was perfect.

The hotel is only a two block walk from the U-Bahn. You can bicycle or walk to the Alexanderplatz. Additionally, it is easy to reach from Tegel (20 minutes or so). Simply put, this is my headquarters when I am in Berlin!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We loved everything about this gorgeous hotel and beautiful, romantic courtyard! We stayed in the Burton Holmes room-- loved the decor and luxurious bathtub (w/ optional colored underwater lights?) in the room. We were so amazed by the lush, uncrowded, courtyard, that my boyfriend took the opportunity to propose there, so we're thrilled to have an excuse to return!

Room Tip: Each room on website unique- I requested my fave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Ackselhaus is a real treat, a unique place to stay where every detail has been carefully considered and comfort and relaxation is of the highest priority. We stayed in the Beach House room for 5 days, and did not want to leave. The bed was wonderfully comfortable, the sound system (in both bedroom and bathroom - for CDs, radio, or ipod) a real treat, the ambiance and decor imaginative, unique, and high class, the tub ABSOLUTELY indulgent, and the breakfast delicious. I can't wait to go back and stay in one of the other rooms because I have no doubt each is as carefully composed as ours was. Coming in the door at the end of the day felt like returning to a sanctuary and retreat all our own. There's an honor bar with snacks, drinks, etc., and a fridge and coffee and tea in the room.

The neighborhood of Prenzlauerberg was a fantastic base from which to see Berlin, with unique shops and cafes throughout the area. Berlin is a large city and no matter where you stay you will likely need to use public transit to see what you want to see. We bought a week transit pass and used it each day to explore neighborhoods in east and west Berlin. The tram is right next to the hotel and the U2 subway, one of the main lines, is a few blocks away, and there is never more than a few minutes' wait for public transit.

Very well worth the money, even with the horrible USD-Euro exchange rate. Nicer than most 5-star hotels I've stayed in because of the unique design and ambiance. It's a real gem.

Room Tip: Each one is unique, so find one that suits you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Great, great, great hotel, and tremendous value for the money. The location is 30 mins walk from Brandenburg gate, but a tram stop is adjacent to the hotel, which will take you directly downtown. The hotel staff is extremely helpful. The rooms themselves are close to perfection -certainly a great value, and far superior to any of the five star places in the city. The breakfast in the morning set the standard. Overall, a fantastic stay. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Both the ackselhouse and the blue home are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ackselhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ackselhaus

Address: Belforter Str. 21, 10405 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#51 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ackselhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ackselhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ackselhaus Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ackselhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.